My Concentration Has Decreased – What Should I Do?

0 56
Avatar for maisiellis
2 years ago

The first step is to manage to eliminate alternatives that distract your concentration. The other is to manage to increase your concentration again over time, even though you have directed your concentration to a particular task. In this article I will try to manage declining concentration and learn about “My Concentration Has Dipped – What Should I Do?” We will focus on the answer to the question. If you manage to eliminate distractions and other alternatives, no matter what method you use and how determined you are, at some point your concentration and focus may begin to fade. So, how can you increase your attention span and focus?

There are two simple steps you can take.

1-) Measure Results!

My Concentration Has Decreased – What Should I Do? The first thing you can do is measure your progress.

Focus is often lost due to a lack of feedback. Your brain has a natural desire to know if you're making progress towards your goals, and it's impossible to know without feedback. From a practical point of view, it means we need to measure our results.

We all have areas of life that we say are important to us but that we do not measure. Measuring maintains focus and concentration. You can improve what we measure. Just with numbers and clear tracking we'll have any idea if we're getting better or worse.

  • When I measured (counted) how many push-ups I did, these push-ups made me stronger.

  • When I followed my habit of reading 20 pages a day, I started reading more books.

  • When I recorded my values, I started living more honestly.

The tasks I measured were the ones I focused on.

Unfortunately, we often avoid measuring because we are afraid of what the numbers will say about ourselves. The trick is to understand that measurement is not a judgment of who you are, it's just a feedback about where you are.

Measure to discover, learn, understand.

Measure to know yourself better.

Measure whether you really spend time on the things that are important to you.

Measure because it will help you focus on the important things and ignore the unimportant.

2-) Focus on the Process, Not the Event!

My Concentration Has Decreased – What Should I Do? Focus and concentration – The second thing you can do to maintain long-term focus is to focus on processes, not events. We often see success as an event that can be accomplished and completed.

Here are some common examples:

Many people view health as an event: "If I only lose 20 pounds, I'll be in shape."

Many people see entrepreneurship as an activity: “If we got our business featured in the New York Times, then we would be established.”

Many people see art as an activity: “If I could show my work in a larger gallery, I would have the credibility I need.”

These are just a few of the many ways to categorize success as a single event. But if you look at people who are focused on their goals, you begin to realize that there are no events or outcomes that make them different. Commitment to the process. They fall in love with daily practices, not individual events.

The funny thing, of course, is that focusing on the process is what will make you enjoy the results.

  • If you want to be a great bestselling author—that's great—the only way to achieve that result is to fall in love with the writing process.

  • If you want the world to know about your business by being featured in Forbes magazine, the only way to achieve that result is to fall in love with the marketing process.

  • If you want to lose 20 pounds and be in the best shape of your life, the only way to achieve this result is to fall in love with healthy eating and constant exercise.

  • If you want to get significantly better at anything, you have to fall in love with the process of doing it. Instead of just imagining the results you want, you should fall in love with establishing the identity of someone who does the work.

It is our natural inclination to focus on results and goals, but focusing on processes leads to more results in the long run.

9
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @ewyr
Avatar for maisiellis
2 years ago

Comments