Exploring Myeongdong | Getting Yourself Lost in Street Food, the Streets, and Clothings on Sale!

0 12
Avatar for maimaiiiii
3 years ago

"One day, I'll step in Seoul and go to Myeongdong!"

-- I've been telling myself the same line over and over for 9 years.

I was 15 when I became crazily dwelled upon Korean entertainment. I would watch Korean dramas until midnight and doze off in class the next morning. It was fine since I managed to pass anyway but it wasn't easy, I tell ya. I have grown more fond with reality shows best known as Variety Shows. I would repeat the episodes because Korean humor is epic. Totally!

I was 18 when I started teaching basic English to Koreans. I would travel an hour and a half to Mactan (because I live in the city) to earn an extra but part of that was because I wanted to learn more about how they are. I'm pretty curious about their culture, too. My first Korean student always offers me dinner before we begin our 2-hour class. I grew more interested with everything especially Korean food!! Mostly, my students ask me to have dinner with them probably because they have no one to eat with. I gotta say that Korean restaurants in Mactan has the best authentic taste there is!

Late January 2017, winter season, when I step foot in Seoul. I was in awe the moment I got out from the airport and realized I was actually there! The view I have always dreamed to visit was finally before my eyes. Imagine how a fangirl would react. Daebak!

Now, I'm going to share one of the most significant places I was dying to get to. I'm gonna take you to Myeongdong in hana..tu..se! (1..2..3!) Seems fun, huh? :D

Myeongdong is one of the busiest streets in Seoul. It operates as late as 12 midnight to 1 am as what I have observed. Tourists shop until late night because there are a lot of promos going on. The shop owners and staff never run out of freebies to hand to passers-by. The most common ones are facial masks. They're going to ask you to come in their cosmetic shop and you could get a freebie for showing interest. I did stall them for almost 10 pieces. Gotta act like a very interested customer though HAHAH

We roamed around Myeongdong before we decided a place to eat. As you can see, most of the shops are cosmetic vendors. Well, Koreans are well-known for being beauty inclined. In terms of doing a shopping spree, a little tip for everybody: Keep on looking around until you get tired because there are a huge number of cosmetic shops that you can have discounts if you buy much. Getting it by bundles is a plus. And if you're a foreigner, they give you a lot of freebies. Most of the staff are very friendly. I even made friend with one of them who I agreed to have a drink with after her shift was over. Omo! I've seen countless food trucks during the time we were looking for stalls to eat. I find it very convenient since vendors stay until the middle of the night, might as well make a dual purpose which can be a store that transports goodies from a place to another.

P.S. PHOTO IS MINE.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for maimaiiiii
3 years ago

Comments