Stronger Together

0 41
Avatar for lordneroo
3 years ago

United we stand

I was having a conversation with a friend of mine the other day regarding our government's shady tactics. Apparently they have been using the ongoing hygiene crisis in order to pass very unpopular bills in regard to a series of issues totally unrelated to the pandemic and the restrictions imposed to fight it. It is now more than obvious that they are trying to take advantage of the situation at a time when they shouldn't be provoking the people to hit the streets and protest for any reason at all. Ironically enough, this seems to be a risk they are willing to take, and that makes me doubt their intentions about the way they are handling the hygiene crisis itself, but this is material for another blog post.

The funny folks we have placed in these positions of power in my country are getting extremely arrogant lately, mistaking the people's maturity and willingless to obey and respect the restrictions put in place to fight the virus for weakness, and thinking they can now just decide on their own and do whatever they want without caring at all about what the people have to say. As a result, more and more people are resorting to protests and hitting the streets in the pursuit of justice and real democracy, and it's infuriating to think that all this mess is caused for no reason at all, and also ruins any progress we have made in regard to containing the spread of the virus so far. And trust me when I say there is no reason for this mess right now.

Their stance doesn't make sense

That's because the bills they are pushing are related to issues we don't even have to face at the moment. For instance, they are trying to radically change everything about our universities, and doing so at a time when all universities are shut down due to the ongoing hygiene crisis. I'm not going to judge whether they are right or wrong about their decisions, but it certainly infuriates me to see that they are not willing to back down; they actually risk fueling all these protests. They could wait for another year until all this mess is over, but no, they want to change our lives completely right now, and they have no patience at all. It's sad but they seem to care a lot more about their agenda than the spread of the virus and the protection of our citizens.

My friend is not willing to see the truth for what it really is and keeps being fed the mainstream media propaganda on a daily basis, which is his main source of information. Even though I completely disagree with his stance and think that this is all that's wrong with the world nowadays, I do respect his views and never insult him for being... ehm, let's say easy to manipulate. However, I do try to reason with him and make him realize that it's a big mistake to just blindly trust the mainstream media, because after all they are nothing but private corporations, and thus have their own interests in mind. Whenever I get my hands on credible information or evidence that they are lying to the people, I try to make him look at it and change his mind about not being independent when it comes to the acquisition of information regarding the government and the laws they make.

You can't trust them

I've caught mainstream media news presenters lying several times, and that's because I am a nerd who reads every official government paper published by the national printing office, so I know everything about the laws they have been making. I know a lot more about it than the people working at news stations, because they never ever take the time to do research, mainly because they are not even trying to keep the people informed. Unfortunately, they are following orders and do not enjoy the freedom of reporting whatever they feel like. They have supervisors who decide for them, and you can call this thing whatever you like, but it sure is not journalism. Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed, however the vast majority of our journalists are only looking to increase their public relations opportunities through their job. Pathetic, but it's the truth where I live.

Unfortunately most people can't see the truth, and that's because they never take the time to dig deeper and read between the lines. They never have time to research things, and always look to get informed about what's going on in the world by watching short clips on facebook, reading headlines or paying attention to newscasters, which is a recipe for disaster. That's not me though, so as we were discussing a specific bill, I told him that I would have to read the official government paper first, because it was something I hadn't done by then, and so I wasn't in a position to discuss this particular piece of legislation. As soon as I said that, he started laughing hysterically and calling me a conspiracy theorist. That's right, I got called a conspiracy theorist for seeking credible information, by a mindless sheep who believes whatever it's told by the mainstream media and corrupt politicians without ever questioning or researching anything.

Deal with it

It can be very hard to remain calm and composed when confronted with such profound stupidity, but I have learned my lesson and realized that this is exactly what the powers that be would want me to do. Fight, insult, be divided and lose power. I never do that anymore. No matter how unreasonable they may sound, I always try to explain why they are wrong in a polite manner, and I know that it can be very difficult to do so, but this is the only way. We have to lead by example when our fellow human beings are being misguided, and we will never be able to effectively communicate our message unless we are in total control of our temper. After all, nobody s perfect; people make mistakes, and it pays to take the time to help them realize it.

They say always do unto others what you would have them do unto you, and this is exactly what I would want anyone to do for me if they ever saw me making a mistake or unknowingly spreading a lie. I would totally appreciate being corrected even by complete strangers, but I do realize that this is not the norm in this world we live in, so I'm very discreet with my own preaching and pick the right time and individuals to do it. It is very important to always remember that no matter our differences, we must always stay united and care for each other, because we need each other to make it and ensure the survival of our species. It is never a good option to hate your neighbour and blame it all on them just because they have a different opinion, even if it's totally dumb and they're being proud and vocal about it.

Trying my best

Personally, I perceive such instances as challenges. Staying calm and maintaining a positive attitude while dealing with irrationality is a fun game, and we need more people following this example and being extra patient with people who act like they are trying to test their patience. It pays to always remember that fighting each other is the trap the elites would want us to fall in, and makes it much easier to refuse to participate in it. We are all unique and our differences make the world beautiful, so let's just respect each other's views and be united at all times. For every single thing that divides us, there are a million other things that unite us, so let's all do our part by focusing on the right things. To make the world a better place we need teamwork, but it takes a lot of solitary mental work to adopt the appropriate mindset necessary for that.

I appreciate your attention,

@lordneroo

Image Source

6
$ 13.76
$ 13.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of lordneroo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lordneroo
3 years ago

Comments