Happiness Comes From Within

10 53
Avatar for lordneroo
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Society, Thoughts, Humanity, Reality, ...

What you make of it

Living in a world where constant change is the norm, it is never too late to change your mind regarding anything and everything. The availability of newly acquired information depending on fresh experiences can be a catalyst for change, and therefore, it is only reasonable to have a different view of reality down the road. Nothing in this realm was meant to be eternal, and nothing can beat father time, so it is the best approach to just enjoy your time and live your life to the fullest without worrying about a future that was never given.

People tend to focus on their everyday problems which may seem unbearable but in reality are petty most of the time. We only realize this as soon as we get slapped in the face and lose something we always took for granted, just to realize how arrogant we are to never truly appreciate what we have till it's gone. You have probably been there, and I am no better at all, as I am actually guilty of that. My goals are just too important for me sometimes, and I act like my entire life depends on my ability to succeed and get things done. This makes me forget about the truly important things in life, and thus I spend a lot of time worrying about the small stuff.

Point of view

I had a conversation with a friend of mine the other day, who has always had a very good life and never really had to overcome serious obstacles this far. I've known the guy ever since we were in kindergarten, and we have been very close friends for more than 20 years, so it's safe to say that I know every little detail about him and his life. I know him better than he knows himself, and he can probably say the same about me. Even though we have been very good friends for all these years, he still gets on my nerves on a regular basis, because he has always been a drama queen, and the worst part is that he never really had a reason.

No matter how hard I try to explain to him that he is privileged to be in a good financial position ever since he was born without having to put any effort into it, he still tends to focus on the silly stuff that he may be faced with, and acts as if the world is over and the skies are falling for minor issues that can be dealt with quite easily. The funniest part is that he is the only friend of mine who demonstrates this sort of behaviour, and at the same time the only one who was born rich. On the contrary, I come from humble beginnings and have had to deal with extreme situations, but still I have always been a lot more optimistic and cheerful than him.

Of course life is not just about money, but I think we can all agree that money is a vehicle that if combined with a good health and a loving family environment can take you to great places, and allows you to fulfill your dreams and enjoy your time on Earth. And as far as I know, he has always had all of it. But still, he can't just stop being this negative dude he is. I truly love the dude as we have been brothers for more than two decades, but even to this day, I still feel like walking away due to this unbearable negativity he carries around with him all the time. I've tried to explain this to him, and he seems to understand when we discuss things, but then a few hours later he forgets everything and goes back to his fussy self.

Can't take the pressure

It is really hard to deal with this sort of negativity in my life, and the fact that all of it comes from a person who has never had to face real difficulties in life is infuriating. We have got common friends who have been through extreme hardships in life, yet never complain about a thing. You may think I am exaggerating, but I am not. Another friend of ours had to work to provide for his mother and 4 siblings since the age of 16, thus never had the chance to graduate from high school to this day. He is now the father of two wonderful kids and enjoying a happy married life, and no, he never whines about anything at all.

He is a person who has worked really hard to make ends meet and been through severe financial and personal difficulties, yet he is one of the most positive, optimistic and happy dudes you will ever get to meet. Having these two absolutely different examples in my life, and based on my personal experience with them, I now refuse to believe that this is a coincidence, and think that life itself shapes who we truly are. We are a product of our life experiences, and I am starting to think that the ones who have been through some tough times are the ones who truly appreciate the good times. It's like hardships make it easier to just be happy with less.

Understanding

This of course is human nature, and has nothing to do with an individual's personality. On the contrary, my point is that the hand we are dealt will eventually shape our personality, and thus we are tied to our destiny and unable to escape it. Whatever the case, I think we can all agree that life is too short and beautiful to waste it stressing over the silly stuff, so it doesn't really matter whether you have a lot of money or not. You can still live a happy life if you decide to focus on everything you have instead of only thinking about what you don't have.

Because this is the easiest way to live a miserable life; nobody has it all. There are things that no amounts of money can buy, so it's safe to say that you can never have it all guaranteed no matter who you are or what you have achieved. Happiness is a state of mind and starts from within, and if you don't make the decision to be happy, carefree and appreciative of all the good things you do have in your life at the moment, you will never be able to truly appreciate the blessings you have been craving for when you eventually get to taste them.

I do realize that my buddy will probably spend the rest of his life whining about silly things and will never truly appreciate all the blessings he was given in this world. I really hope he will eventually wake up and realize that he is wasting his time instead of enjoying it, but I'm not very optimistic about it, especially considering that he has been like that ever since he was a little kid. They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, and I guess there is not much room for improvement in his thirties. But I'm okay with that, I know that I have always tried my best to help him make up his mind and realize his mistake, so I can sleep peacefully at night.

We have all been there

You probably thought of someone you know in person while reading those lines, and if you did, please let me know how you deal with them in the comments below. I've known this person for more than 20 years, and I still can't deal with him. You may wonder why we are still friends since we don't see things eye to eye, but we don't have to agree on everything in order to be friends. We have been through a lot together, and I am not the type of person to abandon such a precious friendship, even if the dude is getting on my nerves on a regular basis.

So yeah, I will have to stick around and put up with his nonsense until the end of time. What can you say, it is what it is, and since this is the hand I was dealt, I am planning to go all in with it and see where it takes me. If you managed to make it this far, you rock, and I truly appreciate you taking the time to read this mini rant. If this post reminded you of someone, say hello in the comments below. We could exchange tips on how to deal with the toxic people we love and care about.

I appreciate your attention,

@lordneroo

Image Source

14
$ 4.13
$ 4.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of lordneroo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lordneroo
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Society, Thoughts, Humanity, Reality, ...

Comments

I agree with you. We come into the world with nothing and we will leave just as we arrived. Friendship is one of the few things that are worth in life. If you have a friend, then take care of him and enjoy his company.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true, thanks for taking the time to leave a thoughtful response. Have a good one :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being born with a silver spoon is sometimes a life that we all want. But we did not think how does this people who was born wealthy actually feel. They also have these problems that really gets the best of them. They also feel pressure once in a while. My point is, regardless of your life status, you cannot escape these kind of problems. They only difference is how each one of us handles it. And yes, happiness really does come from within.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree, but it's not just about money. My takeaway from this is that you will never be truly happy unless you decide to just be happy. It all starts from within as you said. Have a good one! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It depends on a person on how they handle their problems. No matter what their status is. Some rich people are not still happy with what all they have and poor people have been always contented with what they have.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed, it's all a matter of perception at the end of the day. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah right. You're welcome. Happy to read your article. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Happiness comes from within us and it depends on how we view life. Some things are too simple to make someone happy but it may be a source of genuine happiness of others. Some says material things can make you happy but for others it's not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Material possessions are nice, but won't give you happiness if you don't have your good health and a loving family environment. Now, if you do have it all, I see no reason to not be happy. And that's who my buddy is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right. Even if you have all the wealth in this world, if you are not healthy you won't be truly happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago