Endings, Beginnings

0 70
Avatar for lordneroo
1 year ago

Possibly my worst season since the implementation of the new rewards system has come to an end, but it was still a quite productive one that made it possible for me to keep building my collection and account in general at a relatively high pace. This has been talked about a lot as of late, but I think it can't be stressed enough how easy it has become to build in Splinterlands.

Well, the same goes for pretty much everything created on Hive these days, as the community keeps developing interesting stuff bull or bear market. This will inevitably translate into mass adoption sooner or later, and it feels great to be here while we are still building the future. Every tool, every dApp, every blog, even every comment posted on here contributes to the cause, and we have so many worker bees grinding tirelessly every single day.

Anyway, enough with daydreaming and back to last season's rewards. Admittedly, I didn't do well this time around. Took me five days to reach Silver III, which is why I only managed to bag 26 Silver Chests. Battle Mages are getting better and better these days. There are some real pros trapped in those lower leagues, I'm telling you.

Lower leagues are not only very competitive, but also quite rewarding to be frank. Bronze and Silver focus rewards are surprisingly generous, so I didn't really mind having to grind in the Bronze Leagues for the first few days of the season. NFT drop rates are significant and as a result, I keep leveling up on a frequent basis.

Once again, the rental market showed signs of strength during the last couple of days, which serves as evidence that skill can be turned into profit. This is why everyone wants to compete in higher Leagues, and also why I have been buying up Gold Foils given the current market conditions. I will be honest with you here - some of these cards are highly undervalued at the moment.

It looks like I will soon be able to compete in Silver II without having to resort to card rentals unless we experience a massive run in the following weeks, which I doubt. It's a win-win scenario anyway, and an achievable goal with such a high percentage of reward cards in my loot.

I've got no use for potions at the moment, so I just keep accumulating those in my inventory in hopes of maybe being given the chance to trade or burn them in the future. I'm not the type to open packs and I prefer to use them as assets I can buy and hold in order to sell at a better price later. I've reached the conclusion that I'm better off buying the cards I like directly from the market instead.

Merits are more than welcome though; I'm now one step closer to acquiring my first ever Gladius pack. The Torum Guild has been participating in one brawl after another as of late and we are making serious progress. These cards will help me achieve my goal faster at no additional cost, which is one of the perks of being a guild member. Grateful for their support and proud of my Torum Guild buddies.

It was good to receive a bunch of reward NFTs once again and I even managed to score an Epic Revealer this time around. My Collection Power is growing by the day, and I've decided to sell part of my $SPS holdings in order to buy more Gold Foils. I earned all my $SPS through the year-long airdrop and was planning to just stake and compound, but I read the following in the latest Splinterlands Town Hall Summary:

Team is still targeting the end of August to release SPS rewards for Ranked battles:

  • This change consists of rewarding SPS instead of DEC for winning battles and opening reward chests

  • There will be fixed SPS pools for each league, with the higher leagues having a much higher pool amount

  • SPS rewards will be received as staked SPS, not liquid
    Part of this release will allow you to burn SPS for DEC

No risk for me whatsoever, but taking this into consideration, I think I prefer to move some value from my $SPS holdings to my NFT collection. The fact that I will be able to earn more $SPS through ranked victories made this an even easier decision to make, so I will take my chances.


Join the fun

Haven't tried Splinterlands yet? You can sign up using my referral link - it's mandatory! xD

Want to stay tuned with the latest developments? Follow the game's official blog on the Hive blockchain.

Looking for more info? Join the game's official discord server.

Never forget!

NFA - DYOR

I'm just a random guy with opinions.

This is by no means financial advice; just my personal thoughts and experiences. You've probably heard it before, but it can't be stressed enough: always do your own research, and never invest more than you can afford to lose.

Have a good one everyone!
@lordneroo

2
$ 0.29
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of lordneroo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lordneroo
1 year ago

Comments