Beware Of The Energy Zombies

8 69
Avatar for lordneroo
3 years ago

I don't need them

It is the best approach in life to keep your circle small if you are an empath who truly cares. Most people tend to demand and expect more than you can offer and nothing in the world seems enough to satisfy them, so if you happen to be a person who can't just ignore all the drama coming your way, it pays to keep a distance and live your life without having to deal with problems that are not even your own. And yes, I do understand that at some point in life you will have to offer a hand of help to those in need, but some people live life thinking they are entitled to your time.

I used to keep many friends around back in my hay day, but growing older I am starting to appreciate my privacy a lot more, and feel like spending a lot more time isolated, working on my projects and expanding my horizons while enjoying peace of mind in silence. Of course I do realize that not all people have the mental and psychological strength to feel good in solitude, but I really believe that this is just another skill which can be acquired and mastered through practice and devotion. And if you manage to reach this destination, you will be in for some big surprises and reap the finest rewards.

Some things will never change

I was having a conversation with a good friend of mine the other day whom I have helped numerous times since the beginning of their crypto journey, as I have always been way ahead in terms of knowledge and experience due to the fact that I've been around for a longer time. And even though my level of knowledge of the game is still basic, it is undoubtedly much higher than that of a newbie who doesn't even know how to sign up on an exchange or activate the two-factor authentication mechanism. You know, all the technical details and stuff regarding the very first steps into the crypto world that are common knowledge to those involved, but can be a nightmare for newcomers.

By the way, the level of technological illiteracy of the masses is one of the reasons why we are still far from achieving mass adoption, but this is material for another blog post I plan to share with you in the near future. As you can understand, I've been an asset and a source of reliable information regarding the very basics to them, and always offered any assistance needed because after all that's exactly what I would wish for as well if I were in their shoes. They needed particular information in regard to a very specific subject, and since I had all the answers, I was in a position of power which I could use to help them overcome the obstacles they were faced with.

And I did, and it wasn't just because we are good friends. This is exactly what I would have done for anyone, be it a friend or a complete stranger, because that's just who I am. I've been in a position where I had to overcome situations I didn't even know where to begin with, and I do remember how hard it was and how badly I wished that someone would just step up and provide the answers to my questions. We have all been there in life at some point, and some of us were fortunate enough to get the precious help we had been seeking, thus we are now in a position to appreciate the people that helped us overcome the obstacles we were faced with and the importance of help itself. But some people are just not like that.

You just can't satisfy them

You just can't please the ungrateful, and you will only realize this when you decide to go out of your way to help someone only to find out how ungrateful they really are. Ironically enough, the people that tend to demonstrate this sort of behaviour are the ones we have helped the most, and to them your help is expected rather than appreciated. It's like the more you do for them, the more they feel entitled to your time and help, and if you keep being benevolent they start to believe that your efforts to provide for them are rigthfully deserved, because they are awesome, or smart, or unique, or whatever. It's laughable and infuritating at the same time.

And the best part is the mean behaviour you get to deal with if you ever happen to just refuse to go the extra mile in order to satisfy their demands. They just show their true colours the moment they realize they have nothing to gain from you, and make you regret for all the times you wasted your precious time and energy to be of help to them only to get this sort of low-level behaviour as thanks. And the worst part is that due to being fed up with this sort of behaviour demonstrated by ungrateful folks, you may end up refusing to help someone who would truly appreciate your time and intentions down the road.

Make up your mind

However, these are two sides of the same coin, and as long as you live your life trying to please and satisfy others, you will have a lot of reasons to be proud of yourself, but not as much peace of mind as you would like. Fighting for a better world and leading by example is a noble cause, but as I grow older I am starting to think that some people are just not worth it, and since they have the free will to be who they want to be, I tend to believe that their choice to adopt a selfish stance and live by it should come with consequences. That's why I no longer mind letting them handle their own.

As you grow older you start to value your time differently, and there is no room for negativity and drama. Like it or not, some people are energy zombies who just can't get enough and keep asking for more and more. No matter how much they get, they are never satisfied, and even if you have done a million things for them, they will still complain about the one thing you never did. This is evidently toxic behaviour, and since it lacks any logic, it is totally unreasonable to try to deal with it by understanding the thought process that leads to this behaviour. You just walk away.

That's right, you shut the door, hang up the phone, ignore their direct messages on social media and pretend that you just missed their calls when confronted. There is no reason to explain anything to those who do not appreciate your efforts and time, and there is no way on Earth you will ever manage to change the way they behave. They have consciously made the decision to treat the world like they are owed something, and there is absolutley nothing you can do to change that. The only thing you will accomplish is to waste more precious time and ruin your day. And they are not even worth it, nor would they ever appreciate it.

The verdict

Long story short, the person I mentioned above is now in a much better position than I am, and has the power to be of significant help without having to do much, yet they act like they forgot about the past. The funny thing is that if I were in their position I would definitely offer help even without feeling the obligation or desire to repay a favour, because it's that easy and comes without a cost. As you can imagine, you can't expect anything from someone who doesn't even feel like offering a hand of help to those who helped them when they were in real need. Why would they ever help a total stranger or someone who has never done anything for them?

Unfortunately many people are just like that nowadays, and that's the main reason why I've decided to keep my circle small and very rarely make new friends. Apart from the fact that I don't feel like I need that many friends any more, I also don't have the time. I've got many things to do, and in order to achieve my goals I have to work hard, because time is running out and it's the most valuable resource. I am blessed to have found true friends to move through life together, and unfortunately there is no room in my life for anyone else at the moment. And especially for ungrateful energy zombies.

I appreciate your attention,

@lordneroo

Image Source

9
$ 5.89
$ 5.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of lordneroo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lordneroo
3 years ago

Comments

You're right we have a lot to do so it's better to have a meaningful close than to have more useless friends.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Couldn't agree more, thanks for reading :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe because not everyone has the same vision.Thanks for replying to my comment.🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here! I chose to make my circle small. It is much better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the best approach you can take in life in my humble opinion! Have a good one :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! Thanks much :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very intrested article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago