Metacognitive Learning

0 13
Avatar for lonestranger
2 years ago

Studying without strategies is sometimes hard to achieve. A lot of factors will try to hinder you in understanding the lessons, making you lose your interest. This happened mostly to the students. Since it is not wanted by some, they are urged not to do it anymore and entertain things instead that make them happier.

How about you? What are the strategies you use in order to learn effectively?

Whenever I prepare for an upcoming quizzes or exams, I usually calm my mind through taking a shower first and fixing myself so that my body as well can cooperate. You know, the feeling of relaxation. Bunches of topics, on the other hand, are to be reviewed with those inevitable annoying ones that will test your patience specifically mathematical problems. A messy environment will surely add up to the heaviness of your situation. Thus, I also clean up my room and prepare the materials I'll be needing.

Moreover, one of my toughest temptations while studying is my mobile phone. I think you can relate too. Applications such as Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, Netflix and my farming games always distract me whenever I try to focus in studying. With this, turning off these applications' notification setting helped me to continue in peace. Or else, uninstall them without hesitations. I regret deleting them at first because the downloaded videos too were obviously gone. I was so desperate that time too without thinking such possibility. The data I've spent went to nothing as well.

Considering myself as a person who loves engaging with social media platforms helped me understand myself deeper including on how to handle it amidst difficulties as such.

Just how hard right? But music has always been a very efficient medicine for my troubled mind and stressed soul. I used to listen solemn songs that are very sweet to my ears and comfort in my heart. Playing a guitar silently but heartfelt works a lot too. That are my kinds of break. When you're already stressed to the fullest, stopping and taking a break mend.

On a different perspective, we were taught at school that taking notes is a must during a class session to avoid experiencing a difficulty in understanding the lessons as we prepare for an examination. Learn while learning. Base on experience, there are times that I don't learn even if I am learning.

Henceforth, it becomes easy anymore. An example for this is a metacognitive note-taking skills that provide us models on how to make good notes during a class. Metacognition is one's ability of thinking strategies and learn. A learning strategy indeed that enables us to understand lessons and control our own performance making it easier for us.

At the beginning of a lecture, you must plan and connect to organize your notes. Planning includes raising questions like what do you already know about the topic, how do you feel about it, how do such topic relate on your previous learnings, and what are those questions you already have about it. Answering them makes you connect deeper throughout the session. As the lecture continues, jotting down new learnings is crucial and making a table that is divided into two helps you organize them. The left part is where you input the what they called 'ah-ha' moments insights. Whenever you understand or discover something, we usually say unintentionally "ahhh". Put your questions here and answer them at the right part of the table with the help of what are being by presented or explained by the lecturer.

At the end, write a reflection about everything you have learned including the applications.

How do you feel about this topic?

Share some of your thoughts. Comment below.

ps. lead image not mine

Owe you big time!

Edited in Canva

2
$ 0.88
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of lonestranger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lonestranger
2 years ago

Comments