Testing DoDo DEX for the First Time, Worth my time?

12 82
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago

Ah... the one thing good about DEX is that you do not need to register yourself with KYC and so many other problems, however how many would easily say that this is actually affordable compared to using CEX (but losing a bit of freedom?)

And today, other than my favourite Pancakeswap.finance on the BSC chain, let's see this multi chain interface be as useful as people said it is?

Let's find out, shall we?


Why the test?

If you have seen my microblogs in noise.cash you would have realised that I have restarted Splinterlands battles ever since their $SPS governance tokens have been launched.

The encouragement was even more when I could farm more SPS along the way with my $CAKE capital.

For every 6 days I could have a chance to get around 10 SPS. It's not a lot (because I didn't stake a lot), but still it is very useful to keep rolling for a token that I can practically use it to roll more for the coming future new game phase.

However... due to the recent dueling, I needed more in-game tokens $DEC (Dark Energy Crystals) for a bigger chance of deck accumulation and more strength; however this token is currently very much over priced in its native chain HIVE.


Not to mention I have been wasting my BCH on credits just to get some quest potions... though it wasn't too expensive, still BCH could have been set aside for better use.


That is where DODO DEX steps in to play!

Although it only CAKE and USDC (I am not sure what DND is maybe it is a typo error), but I am curious how much 3% slippage works and would be interested to compare if there's a chance to directly swap from Pancake instead.

As far as I can understand, this is what DODO is offering.

So it seems that DODO gives a better offer for obtaining DEC, both from the same wallet, from the same chain. I guess this could be really interesting?

But wait!

Before I attempt to do this swap, I must make sure that DEC can actually be imported via BSC chain.

Fortunately when you click on the button itself you will see the "transfer in" button as well

and if you already have DEC on these chains, you will be able to do port in or port out!


Time to get the testing begun!


1. Swaping with DODO Dex

At https://app.dodoex.io/exchange/ , I made sure that my hardware wallet (that has SPS) is already connected to the W3 website.

Using the contract address for the swap:

$SPS: 0x1633b7157e7638c4d6593436111bf125ee74703f
$DEC: 0xe9d7023f2132d55cbd4ee1f78273cb7a3e74f10a

This should have been shown

I made sure both of them are added into the chain.

If this is for the first time, then an Approval fee must be paid.

Next would be confirming the order with a 3% slippage tolerance

The whole thing only took 12 seconds to run even with 5 Gwei, that's really impressive!

Already can be seen in my splinterlands account; I am a happy person!


2. Move the DEC into splinterlands

Since I am using my hardware wallet (SafePal), I will need to get into the Splinterlands with my dApp browser (since Splinterlands do not really support Wallet connect just yet)

IF you use a browser, you will need to have it in Metamask. If you use TrustWallet you can still use it with its dApp.

Oddly, in dApp I can only do it in rounded (integer) figurers, the decimal value was not appreciated.

And also from BSC there will still be gas fee; it still however beats that ETH gas fee!


Let's calculate how much I have spent!

Based on coingecko, this is the current price that would be spent.

This was what I spent for the mined SPS from pancakeswap.finance

These are the process fees. (the approve swap is a 1 time fee), approximately $0.598 was spent.

Total expenses was approximately: $3.895


What if I use hive-engine.com today?

If I move my SPS from pancakeswap with about 0.00005 fee (approximately 2 cents) I will get around 7.008 HIVE

And from the amount that I have, I could only change around 532, where at current price, 7.008 HIVE costs around $3.21 USD.

Looking at the intended DEC it would have cost $3.29... not even enough for 1 Quest potion charge.

While getting credits directly using crypto for a single potion charge could only cost around $1.20


Verdict?

I suppose for those who are heavily committed to $DEC wouldn't have mind the additional $SPS mined from pancakeswap to be used for $SPS airdrops; but if using the same method just to go for a Quest Potion boost is totally not worth the effort. Because purchasing from credits would have been much more affordable, even though there's always a 250 credits overflow. But hey, eventually the credits can be used for other things such as card purchases and it won't be a total waste of its remnants.

Simple version?

  • Mine SPS: STAKE IT.

  • Buy Quest Charge potions (or other potions): Just use direct Crypto purchase. Cheaper.


I hope you will find this run through real-time analysis is useful, and will aid you to think better, plan better with your resources should you be invested into the Splinterlands game using BSC chain or other crypto.

4
$ 2.38
$ 2.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago

Comments

Oh no I was lost or I never understand anything hahha, I started playing splinterlands but when I look at owned cards sadly I don't have one, the cards I have is given by system for fighting but they are so weak, some opponents I encounter is already at level 100+ and their cards are powerful that's why its hard to fight and earn DEC, is there any tactic or lineup you want to share Madam?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. if you have the spellbook, it is for you to have a feel to learn how to choose the cards right. With that, you will have chances to earn $DEC and even cards, where it will also earn you $SPS governance token, and I would suggest you to stake it, no matter how small it is if you are invested into making the game work for you.

From there you can keep earning DEC until the time you know exactly which is your winning team, and THAT time, will be your time for shopping begins.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I used DEC to buy some cards or a real money need to buy those potions and cards? Honestly, I was having trouble in this game cause my opponents are so good that ends up in loosing my game.😆😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Real money as in using your local fiat to buy crypto? Yes you can purchase cards with DEC but you got to know which is your winning team. Level 100+ means you have an opponent with a rating of 100+ ? That's considered low; but if they rent really strong cards then you are doomed too lol. What's your Splinterlands account name?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my name there is Chikakiku-07, yeah that one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oddly I couldn't send any delegation cards for you to try out are you sure it is Chikakiku-07? Because I cannot find it.

Nevermind found it. Your username is all lower caps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh so sorry, I thought It was big letter at first, thank you.❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have delegated 3 cards to you and give you some experience on the older cards. Hopefully it will help you in battles. The LIFE builder is quite good to keep repairing the first card with the shield

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe I'll search for life builders monster or heroes that I have, thank you so much madamm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Check for playable deck and you will see I delegated 3 cards for you. Give it a try first before you start searching. I give you around 1 month to play with it. All the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

can I asked what type of summoner can I used to summon those cards? by the way thank you again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I sent you the Fire Element cards. When you do quests and battles those that are not under the element category you won't see it unless it is a Neutral card

$ 0.00
2 years ago