Should I Spend for My Christmas - A Hardware Wallet?

4 17
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Cyber Monday!

I honestly have totally forgotten about its existence especially when Malaysia has a consistent crazy cyber sales every month starting from 7.7 - 12.12 annually!

But this seems to be a really intriguing proposition since as the age goes closer to eternity, anyone of us knows that we can't bring our belongings to 6 feet under and whatever we have should be passed down to the next of kin as painless as possible.

Being the only crypto craze in the family, I suppose if I leave a bunch of paper wallet for the little munchkins, they probably would actually just throw it away and gone it would be, the BTCs and its altcoins be in limbo, forever locked up, inaccessible in the blockchain-verse as long as the network and the power is up.

Besides, I got to admit, not being able to remember as well as before with too many things to handle, probably a mobile "centralised" repository for dollar average cost savings of crypto could be the best choice, since exchanges "hot wallets" can anytime be hacked.


Probably being convinced by Digital Asset News too much now...


So here I went, aiming for something I could afford.

At first I was pretty much intrigued with the ledger nano S which it looks so much like a USB drive it can just hide among my USBs with priceless memories from my D90 monster collection, that could really do the trick; however it only enable me to keep around 5 cryptos for the cheapest price I could afford using the Black Friday Sales Promotion Code.

Until... my crypto related friends offered me something much simpler, and apparently it currently sits at the no. 1 of the top safest hardware wallet list.

Cyber Monday is today!

With the final promotion of the year for them (I think - since they didn't mention boxing day) today could be my last chance grabbing this at 39.99 USD.

I think it includes free shipping, which is already a plus over the nano ledger S that doesn't offer free shipping.

What do you think about this, crypto HODLer fans, would you go for this, or the old fashion USB camouflaged Nano ledger S as an entry level and ease of use in case (touch wood!) of anything happens and the Next of Kin has something to hold onto to settle my mortgage and something left for them to survive while I am gone?

I know this post sounded as if I am very negative today, but actually this is something that we all should look into, especially for us who are accumulating something for the future (generations as well) that no longer implies to the traditional standards.

Let me know what you think! I think I have about 2 hours to go to decide to look into it or not for the Cyber Monday sale opportunity!

2
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Comments

Never heard of a hardware wallet before.. But if that's what you really want, then you should go for it.. Wait, this article was posted a week ago.. So did you buy it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah it is something that I will need as I continue to save up further in Crypto. And yes, I took the opportunity of Black Friday sale to get it 20 USD cheaper

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you explain to me the difference between this wallet and that of the typical crypto wallet we use?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is called a cold storage wallet, where you keep the 12 - 24 words "restoration" words and that is the only restoration key you have. The card is not connected to the internet; so unless you video taped your Restoration keys or type it down to keep on an email / cloud drive, NO ONE can hack your cold storage wallet.

Apparently it supports 1000 tokens / cryptos, while the Nano Ledger is a lot lesser, compared to price; and Ledger still needs to connect to PC.

So you only NEED TO GUARD ONE. Instead scattered private keys haha.

Your other wallets are CENTRALISED wallet. Not your private keys, not your crypto. Your account is vulnerable for hacking if your password / your handphone / email is compromised.

$ 0.00
3 years ago