Living in Endemic Times - It's part of life now

0 13
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago

Yeah... no matter how much you want to deny this, it is part of the day to day life if you so happen to be on volunteer shifts / public space.

And this is particularly true when I am supposed to be back on duty where there are more than 200 in the same public space.


Good thing is that I only need to do the saliva test and not the actual nose-poking-discomfort-sensation RTK (Antigen) test, and there are so many test kits out there, it is now pretty much a norm to get it from any pharmacy / convenient store.

And this time I get to test this brand that supposed to say has a 99% accuracy.

Of course, I haven't been having any symptoms at all; but since I am a frequent "visitor" to all the hospitals during hospital runs, it is always safer to have it tested as well.
(At least I get reimbursement)

I realised as the time goes by, the designs kept changing and improving. It was used to be those come with plastic cotton buds, but since it is saliva test only it might not be useful and dangerous if toddlers finds it / even animals discover it at landfills.

I however, was hoping these items are biodegradable, but from the texture of it, it doesn't feel like it is biodegradable... and for its cheap price too.

For its user friendliness, I think they are improving greatly now. They even have a "tube holder to make sure you don't spill your spit" while you are trying to open the solution to mix with the saliva.

I must comment on the thoughtfulness as it sits perfectly settled before testing.

All antigen test kids are the same, and some even have a QR Code to be scanned (for updates?)

And if you do it right with enough spits, this is going to be more than enough to make sure the results are posted correctly.

And Voila!

After 15 minutes, as clear as day, the result is out. I remembered when me and my family had Covid, my dad's result was blurry at the "T" section because he was fully vaccinated, and that is actually using the nasal poking antigen test.

I am so glad that self test kits have the saliva option; you just need to spit like Jack in Titanic! (For those who have watched this romantic - historical inspired movie)

How about you?

Are you required to do Antigen tests every now and then? Even if you are vaccinated / not vaccinated in public premises?

I have a lot of friends who have to take bi-weekly Antigen tests / whenever they are back to their headquarters that is public air-conditioned space.

(Since Delta variant, the virus is pretty much confirmed to be airborne capability)

Until Then

Stay healthy and stay safe!

2
$ 2.01
$ 2.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago

Comments