First Look at God's Unchained

0 29
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago

Usually when I heard the chain is on ETH, I literally cringe with despicable because of the ridiculous gas fees; but since it is actually allowing me to review the game for free, which I think I have a starter pack that I can't trade but able to play just like Splinterlands, I can give it a try and see what lies in this gaming realm and will it be as good / better than Splinterlands.

As the gas fees are still ridiculously high, I do not think this is going to be a very active trading account (that I have linked to) but more of a play from zero experience and see if anyone can actually start from zero without investing during this early release stage before all the gas fees hit sin.

And to make sure I start from ZERO, the game that is linked to my Metamask literally has ZERO ETH to ensure that there will be transaction fail should the game suddenly decides to charge me for some things I accidentally clicked.

This is just a precaution exercise. haha.

So as I have signed up during this campaign season, I think I might still have a chance to choose a deck before I start.

First sign of disagreement: Application game with no customised drive choice

To play the game I am required to download and install an app called immutable; but the worse part is that it looks like it is an exe file that requires more data download progress. So for anyone who doesn't have enough hardisk space on your dominant C drive, especially for windows, there could actually be some potential trouble.

Because I am testing this from my work laptop, which I have a lot of things running on, furthermore with browsers like Brave / Chrome that doesn't allow me to install on a partitioned drive, it is very annoying because the whole laptop will lag, along with all the windows updates coming in that jams up the space no matter how many times I clean them.

The good of the game: Forcing you to go through tutorials before jumping into the game

So before you receive 3 core packs for battle you got to learn how the game works, which is good because in Splinterlands, there wasn't really a proper tutorial unless I search through blog archives. The description was very simple for Splinterlands so I guess a full tutorial wasn't needed then; however with this insistent of guiding new players through, the game could be more complex than Splinterlands, which I think could be great for newbies who are totally green from online gaming.

HOWEVER...

Apparently I need to download more content! I wonder if I can actually clear the cache later if I choose not to play on this laptop but on a bigger PC space. haha.

So apparently there should be some guide in the game.

So I think this is the "god" (Splinter - for Splinterlands) that is the leader of the team and based on the element the team formed will be based on the strength the "god" has and the individual players.

So the interesting part is that, the number is actually the match's lifespan, and all I need is to figure out how to reduce that.

Choosing the Team:

So I guess this is the head of the team where I don't have much of a choice to choose. Which I think this looks a lot like a "Splinter" (head) and this gives an extra booster to the cards in the team

Since I totlaly have no idea what those numbers are, which I might guess that the top left is the mana count, the bottom left could be attack / defense; and the bottom right could just be "lifespan" I don't think I have much of a choice but to click continue and see what happens.

Which.... I guessed it right!

And then... I totally have no idea what I did but I think I "passed" the training. haha...

At least I think I got to get 3 core packs to play(?)


I must say....

They put a lot of effort on the graphics!

And also the card designs are actually quite stunning.

And I think I have 2 packs of the same element; while the 3rd pack is of a different element.

Overall?

It seems that even with the tutorial, there's still a lot of confusion as I have never played any battling card games besides Splinterlands; and this is definitely a more complexed card choice game and I need to be hands on during battle because the game is very manual, unlike Splinterlands, it is: (1) Choose team leader, (2) Choose cards, (3) Play and the rest are automated.

Would I continue to play?

With the current gas fee so high, it is almost impossible to send in anything to upgrade the decks / acquire more cards

Fortunately in my blur-ness I could still win some rewards along the way. haha.

2
$ 6.84
$ 6.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago

Comments