Christmas Came Early! My Very First Hardware Wallet is Here!

8 25
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

This is ecstatic! When I saw the notification that it could arrive within 30-50 days, I didn't expect it to arrive in 2 weeks!

Christmas has indeed came early today for me!

Just so happened someone else ordered along with me to earn free shipping too!

I was very much prepared to be a New Year Gift, but this so happened to become a Christmas gift instead.

Carefully opening up was definitely exciting, even though my phone suddenly failed me and switched back to auto focus (and blurred it... 😅)

Activating it was fairly easy, because they provided a really good video tutorial that I do not even need to search for YouTuber's tutorial; and they are kind enough to give me 3 cards in case I have written my 24 restoration characters wrongly.

The only drawback of this is that I have to navigate and synchronise my wallet through my phone; however it is a more sophisticated than the other hardware wallets that connects directly to the computer, which could still be easily hacked.

Then again, if a hacker is really good, somehow they will find a way to break it.

One of the biggest reminder:

Just like most mobile devices with a battery, it is always very dangerous to charge directly from the plug. The best way if you have is to charge it from a power bank to avoid over charging.

Another big reminder:

This hardware wallet DOES NOT keep my crypto. It is my tool to easily access to my crypto on a safe environment. The one that I need to guard with my life will be the 24 keys, that I CANNOT lose it.

Which begs the question: Exactly how many offline backups of my 24 keys should I create?? 😅

Even the safe deposit box isn't the safest.


That brings us an ultimate realisation:

Nothing on earth belongs to us forever. Once we are 6 feet under, we cannot bring it with us.

Probably I should really keep this aside for a will. Maybe laminate my 24 keys first before doing that. 😆


Another interesting big question would be:

Since this is not a stake friendly hardwallet (like the Ledger) , what other altcoin should I be storing it?

Probably those that yet to be supported by DeFi?

Should I dollar cost average it into this hardware wallet? What would be my first targeted amount as an average saver, not a big fish?

I might start with LTC though. It has always been my longest 2nd choice besides BTC and ETH, even though its value isn't as strong as others.

The funniest part is that out of the first 4 crypto it shown at the top list, BNB and TRON are at 3 and 4 🤣

That truly shows who are the biggest sponsors there.

What do you think?

Which would be your favourite?

Would love to read your thoughts and suggestions below!

4
$ 1.51
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Comments

I hate to be that guy. But, this is a really Well-compose article. The gif unboxing is what I like the most hehe

Though, this is the first time I saw and knew a hardware wallet exists seems cool but Its kind of hard to understand like this part: "This hardware wallet DOES NOT keep my crypto. It is my tool to easily access to my crypto on a safe environment"

Im still a noob in cryptocurrencies. but I assume its like a "password manager"?? Anyway, Thanks for sharing. Hopefully Im able to invest on BCH and able to get a hardware wallet for myself ;))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha. hello @gellal ! I am glad that you liked the gif unboxing. Yes that was really fun to make sure it looks smooth and nice!

Ok to answer your question. Imagine. Your crypto is ONLY a portion data of an entire ledger that keeps track on all the available BCH (for example) all over the world. So the hardware wallet doesn't have our crypto like paper money, where we can touch it; but it keeps exactly where our valuable BCH is, every amount transferred out into our wallet in an address format. It is a reference. Unlike Thumbdrive that has our data, If anything (touchwood / knock on wood) happens to our thumbdrive, if we don't have a backup, EVERYTHING in it might be lost forever; however if the hardware wallet is damaged or lost, NO ONE that doesn't have your keys can ever hack it in; but as long as YOU have the keys, you can just get another hardware wallet and you can access to your withdrawn BCH in it.

So yes, instead of a password manager, it is a crypto manager, fully mobile, secured from hackers as long as you don't loose your keys and your 6 digit pin. 😊

Hope that gives you a better idea now?

And thank you for your complements!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting wallet but I already have one and have to admit I never used it.

Ali express order?

I think with Litecoin you could have earned a lot lately. Dropping is fine, good to buy at a low price. Good luck and merry early Christmas. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh no I actually ordered from the official site. It was having Black Friday sales and I was very surprised that they sent it pretty quickly and swiftly.

LTC has always been my favourite alternate coin. I actually spent almost all of them for RealT tokens to generate USDC weekly. 😅

(That's the beneficial when I live outside America)

I am hoping target $1 USDC weekly dividend and roll them to Celcius (highest interest returns that is recommended by Crypto Gurus) and then after when there's enough I will swap them for LTC and save them back into my hardware wallet.

I think we don't use it when our digital assets are too low, however I do look forward to see other ones as I have missed XRP air drops (although not many people really care about that) and maybe dollar cost average back to my first 3 favourites: BTC, LTC and (maybe) ETH.

Merry Christmas to you too @wakeupkitty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for letting me know. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! Congrats! Looking on how you unbox the item was pretty cool. Hehehe.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

hahaha... yes! Thank you so much! I had to use a few free apps to make that effect work. 😅 But I think this could be interesting. Most importantly I never lose the 24 keys.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! I will google that one soon. I still don't understand the whole concept though. Heheh. But really, thanks for the idea.

$ 0.00
3 years ago