BBS Decentralised Social Media - First Confused Look!

2 28
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago

What an interesting encounter!

That through crypto banter's show I actually discovered this beta (?) testing fully decentralised platform that reminded me how facebook first looked like; but a lot more confusing along the way - the BBS.Market , where all your posts can be sold off like an NFT!


Mind you, I am still discovering the place while I am writing, and if you are confused reading this, means I am still quite lost in the space! haha


First Look

After being stuck unable to join the space for almost 3 weeks due to network outage, it was fairly easy to join the site provided you have either a valid email address / using Google account to log in.

But if you actually do want to synchronise with your personal (verified) twitter account or even facebook, you can do that too.


But hey, who'd want to link your decentralised (probably uncensored) social media account with a centralised one?

(Especially for the libetarians!)


I went for the old fashion way; with the email off course.


Joining a channel and start "selling" your posts

Just like channels in noise.cash, you can easily join into any available community that is there. And apparently, I think each BBS actually offers some bonus sign-ups for you to "buy" other people's NFT "tweets", not for withdrawal.

Since it was Crypto Banter team advertised this place through their YouTube, I might as well join the community and see what happens.

Like any other community, as long as you abide with the rules, you can post any of your original thoughts / content there that relates to the community so that people who likes your posts can "own" what you posted officially.

So out of sheer fun and testing, I posted my random thoughts, at all channels that I have joined, and apparently, my post was sold for $0.30 to a user called Raiden.


Since I only joined Crypto Banter channel, it appeared there.


THEN.... I realised that my profile logo was not set...

Now the confusing part

Where is my profile page??

I accidentally omitted the uploading profile image during sign up as I was without my ever ready profile image with me, and when I wanted to update the profile, it took me a good 10 minutes to figure out which button actually goes to my profile!

Hidden subtle at the right side. A lot of people would have thought that button is "creating a new post" kind of a button, since it resembles a notepad and a pen!

So over here you can choose your all time loved profile picture and you can add your description as well.

I can still choose to link to my centralised social media account should I choose to do so - maybe later.

Voila! Easy Peasy!

I think...

Anyhow, I still have loads to discover, like how to make a BBS of my own, where maybe the noise community can also join the fun as well.

I guess this will be up to another day of adventure!

How about you?

Would you purposefully post your thoughts for sale?


By the way, I think if you login daily, you can earn extra tips to buy other people's thoughts (NFT) too.


Until Then

4
$ 3.26
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Dr.Amezai123
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago

Comments

Very informative post Miss. It's helped me alot and I was really confused about free sighn ups rewards and profile etc. I am waiting for your next pots about BBS

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha. yes it was super confusing! Glad some discovery here helped cleared some things for you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago