First time in Timberland

0 223
Avatar for linoasis
5 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

After building up the courage we decided to embark on a cycling adventure, to Timberland, a known spot for bikers in San Mateo, Rizal. Normally we stick to biking within the city or nearby areas like Antipolo, Marikina or Quezon City. However it seemed like we were ready, for a challenge and wanted to explore distant and challenging destinations. At least that's what I believed at the time.

It was my first time to do biking in luzon area which is i visited my relatives in luzon since there are no work for many days ans we invited to visit him and vacation aa well. The place was so nice but since it was a first time for and anything can happen, and this is what is all about...

We gathered at a friends house, in SSS Village, Marikina around 6;30 am. Proceeded towards J.P. Rizal which takes us to San Mateo. I can't recall all the details. We simply made a turn on that road where theres a prominent Timberland advertisement. That's when we entered the part of Timberland which is known for its challenging "The Wall" section; an uphill with sharp curves stretching, over 5 kilometers.

Its named 'The Wall' for a reason. That reason really affected us. After cycling around a kilometer or so I would take a break to rest my legs and rejuvenate my spirit. At times I even had to crawl up the path because of how exhausted I was. It's quite embarrassing when compared to the bikers who are giving their all. I tried my best despite the limited progress. Clearly I need practice and training! Haha.

Upon arriving at Timberland proper, we were asked to surrender a valid ID as well as sign waver forms. I really thought that was the last uphill straw and everything would be rainbows and butterflies by then, but I was wrong. Another set of uphill climbs, be it much easier than The Wall, welcomed us with open arms, and we had no other choice but to move forward.

The challenging part was going up. The most frightening part was coming down. Imagine riding your bikes on a road that has a 50 degree slope, filled with turns and dangerous cliffs that could be fatal. Unfortunately there have been accidents and fatalities, in this area. With my disc brakes it was difficult to come to a stop. I constantly had to apply the brakes. It felt like I was still going at full speed. It was a mix of happiness, fear and excitement all, at once. Surprisingly the descent only took ten minutes.

1
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for linoasis
5 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments