I was born into The Conservative Holiness Movement

0 102
Avatar for limberlostlady
3 years ago

It's been over five years but sometimes the dissonance blurs and I momentarily forget my progress since leaving the cult. Though teetering on the edge of beliefs is not enough to obscure my view completely, the struggle is truly real.

I've been in a dry writing and spirit well of two years. Born of the grief of a dear partner, it infiltrated my body and took some time to soothe and sort. When I reached my mental health crisis last Fall I was confronted with how literally my mind felt I was ugly of spirit because of the teachings about a "root of sin," or "carnality."

There's a few videos on my Youtube channel but it was not very structured but created some conversations among both current CHM members and ex-members and even those raised in their own ways. I plan to post interviews with various people and have the conversations about what we believe or do not believe or have other worldviews.

I would like to help bridge the gap between "Christian" and non, secular and those of faith traditions.

Here is a link to learn more about The Conservative Holiness Movement, just understand there are many complex issues to discuss. More in-depth conversations are desperately needed to counter the impulse of fear at what we do not understand or have been coerced to feel hateful towards. It may be slow going to learn about each other but I feel peace is reasonable goal.

3
$ 0.25
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments