Alcohol again?

5 50
Avatar for lilsoftx
3 years ago

I am not in support of anyone drinking alcohol, reason being that I have had first hand experience of how dangerous it can be.

I am so perplex when I hear people saying all the time "drink but don't be drunk", as true as that may sound it still isn't advice able.

I mean why take something you only know would harm you, to me it's no different from taking a gun and shooting yourself in leg.

I once had a room mate who finds alcohol Charming. He said it was the only way to drown himself and forget his condition back at home. I kept on pleading with him to stop taking it, but my words of advice feel on deaf ears. I was becoming uncomfortable around him because he started having this sting of alcohol quite often.

It was not until one day I was called at 11pm to come over to a bar not too far from our hostel to come help my friend, that I decided to quite on him. I shamefully went to the bar to assist him before something worse occured.

The next morning I broke the news to him that I could no longer support him any more in his drinking habit and I would be living the room for him, renting somewhere else to live.

I noticed he was a bit perplex because he didn't expect such a drastic action. He pleaded with me that I should help him release himself off the habit. I knew about the current state of his family so I had to have compassion on him.

I educated him on how alcohol could affect the worm in his body there by reducing the capacity of his brain which would definitely affect his studies and day to day activity.

He seemed really touched by my word but was doubting if he could ever stop, I then shared with him some experiences that made me decide to never take alcohol but I still encouraged him that he could rise from the ashes and put that habit to shame instead of allowing the habit to make him shameful.

After about 2years I noticed he finally stopped taking alcohol and always appreciated me for supporting him when no one would.

I have quite a handful of experiences with people who initially started taking alcohol in moderate quantity - my dad included and I can tell you now that none of those instances ended well until they finally put a stop to alcoholism.

Utilized the following tools:

Grammarly

Mobile Phone

Timer: floating timer

Not Translated

16
$ 0.11
$ 0.10 from @Anthoney244
$ 0.01 from @jwolf
Avatar for lilsoftx
3 years ago

Comments

Very educative

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The hardest thing is to admit you have a problem. Next, you need to want to stop. It's pointless if others have to force you and exhausting to be the watchdog. I wonder how come people start with it, keep saying it solves problems, makes them feel better if this very obviously does not. Drunk people look terrible, smell and there's not much fun having them around or having a chat with them. I hope this person will not gall back and was worth your time and energy. A lack of self-esteem is a problem here too. If you don't believe you can stop drinking you won't make it.

🍀👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Initially he didn't admit it was a problem until he noticed people started avoiding him and nobody wanted to associate with him... That's when it Dawned on him that he was on the wrong path. I am just glad I was able to help him because I too was already at the helm and was ready to give up. Addictions are pretty difficult to overcome, it's takes strong will and determination.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least he noticed that people avoided him. It's something my family in law never noticed. All drunks. I guess no need to.

$ 0.00
3 years ago