The buying opportunities that Splinterlands offers: Estimated Value of Untamed Card Packs

0 71
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago

I've been playing Splinterlands for more than 17 months and every month I write and publish on Hive a monthly report in which I evaluate my Splinterlands adventure only from an economic and financial point of view.

In my last monthly report I recorded the highest profit and ROI since I started playing Splinterlands:

- profit: $689.68

- ROI: 246,69%

These two excellent financial results are mainly due to the general increase in the market prices of Splinterlands cards that took place in the last month.

In fact, on March 4, 2021 my collection of cards was worth 519.24 $ (using Market prices)

Today 3 April 2021 my card collection is worth $1052.04 (using Market prices)

That's an incredible increase in value, and it's even more remarkable when you consider that I didn't buy any cards between March 4 and April 3, and I didn't find any valuable cards in the daily and fortnightly rewards.

Not only did the cards gain value but the DEC tokens gained value as well:

- Lowest Ask on HiveEngine/LeoDex: 0.00121 HIVE.

- Highest Bid on HiveEngine/LeoDex: 0.00108 HIVE

While the HIVE value of a DEC token is lower today than in the past, the dollar value of 1 DEC is much higher and in fact today 1 DEC token is worth $0.00092.

In this context of general increase of the market value of the cards the estimated value of the packs of Untamed cards has also increased.

The Peakmonsters website provides Splinterlands players with a useful tool (https://peakmonsters.com/packs) to determine the estimated value of a pack of Untamed cards.

The estimated value of a pack of Untamed cards at the time of writing this post is:

- 1.12$ in the situation where you don't have potions

- 1.42$ in the situation where you use Alchemical potions

- 1.57$ in the situation when using Legendary potions

- 1.95$ in the situation where both Alchemical and Legendary potions are used

Less than twenty days ago the estimated value of a pack of Untamed cards was much lower as you can see from the following image.

Every so often I check and calculate if buying a pack of Untamed cards is a good opportunity to take and a good investment to make.

I built myself a table that shows me the cost of a pack of Untamed cards using the different ways to buy them.

Based on the current values of HIVE and DEC tokens and based on the above calculations, it is clear that buying a pack of cards from the Shop of Splinterlands is not worth it in the following cases:

- you don't have potions and you have to buy them

- you have only alchemical potions

- you only have legendary potions

If you have potions and don't need to buy them because you have found and accumulated a sufficient number of alchemical and legendary potions in the chests obtained from the completion of daily quests and from the rewards of the end of the season then the situation changes and in fact the cost per pack is lower than the estimated value ($1.95) in all cases:

- 1.83194$: purchase from Splinterlands shop

- 1,6654$: purchase of 100 packs (+ 10 Bonus)

- 1,59299$: purchase of 500 packs (+ 75 Bonus) while the estimated value is 1,35$.

If you have looked at the table well, there is a price that immediately jumps to the eye and that seemed immediately advantageous.

Untamed card packs can also be purchased on HiveEngine/LeoDex.

At the time of writing this post buying a pack of cards from HiveEngine/LeoDex is cheaper than buying from the Splinterlands shop and the lowest price is $1.40802.

I have accumulated from completing daily quests a good number of both legendary and alchemical potions.

Therefore, I decided to buy 24 packs of Untamed cards right away and the highest price I paid was 1,889 HIVE ($1.42997) for 20 packs of cards.

Final Considerations

Splinterlands offers several earning opportunities and theoretically when DEC tokens are worth little it can be a good choice to sell the cards because you receive a lot of DECs while when DECs are worth a lot and the cards decrease in value it can be convenient to use DECs to buy cards.

In the current context where cards have gained so much value in a short time and 1000 DEC tokens are worth $0.92 it does not seem convenient to buy cards or use DEC tokens to buy cards.

Rather I am considering whether to sell my DEC tokens to make power up on Hive or to buy CUB tokens on CubFinance (https://cubdefi.com/)

I considered profitable to buy 24 packs of Untamed cards at the maximum price of 1.42$ even if when you talk about estimated value you are never sure to make a profit.

In fact, as pointed out and clarified on the Peakmonsters site, estimates of the economic return on the purchase of a pack of cards are more accurate when buying a number of packs of cards greater than 500.

In this post I wanted to share my thoughts and investment choices on Splinterlands but I want to make it clear that I am not a financial advisor and my thoughts and purchase choices are my own and personal and should not be considered as an invitation to invest in Splinterlands.

Not a Splinterlands player?

If you are not a Splinterlands player, you are missing out on a unique opportunity to have fun while earning cards and DEC.

If you decide to register, you can do so from this link:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=libertycrypto27

Of course if you'd like to use my refferal link... :)

If you use a refferal link when registering for Splinterlands you have the following advantage:

Splinterlands is a beautiful game but it is above all a good investment (I'm not a financial advisor and this is not a financial advice but just my personal opinion) especially if you regularly participate in the weekly contests organized by the @splinterlands account (on Hive blockchain).

See you on the Splinterlands battlefields.

Unless otherwise indicated, the images in this post are screenshots taken from the sites:

https://splinterlands.com/

The images containing calculations and tables are my property

The font I used in my images and in the images I edited is Open Source

Follow me also on:

NoiseCashhttps://noise.cash/u/libertycrypto27

Hivehttps://peakd.com/@libertycrypto27/posts

Leofinance: https://leofinance.io/@libertycrypto27

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/libertycrypto27

Publish0xhttps://www.publish0x.com/libertycrypto27?a=MYervALeOB (Ref.)

Blurthttps://blurtter.com/@libertycrypto27

3
$ 3.41
$ 3.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago

Comments