LONE BOATMAN: Market, Battle Strategy and Considerations

0 21
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago

Cover Image: Logo and Card images owned by @splinterlands - Edit by @libertycrypto27- Font used is Open Source

LONE BOATMAN: Market, Battle Strategy and Considerations

The protagonist of this post is the Lone Boatman card, which is also the protagonist of this week's Splinterlands contest entitled "Share Your Battle".

The topics I'll be covering in this post are as follows:

Topics

- Card: Lone Boatman.

- Description, Stats and Abilities.

- Market, Levels and Economic Valuations

- Level Considerations

- My battle with Lone Boatman

- My battle formation.

- Battle Considerations

- Final Considerations on Lone Boatman

Card: Lone Boatman

Description, Stats and Abilities

Lone Boatman is a card that is part of the Untamed collection.

It is a Common card and is a card of the element Life.

Lone Boatman of level 1 has the following stats:

- It has a mana cost of 5 points.

- It has 2 ranged attack points

- Has 3 life points and has 1 armor point.

- has a low speed (2).

- Has an ability: Snipe.

Thanks to the Snipe ability, the Lone Boatman card attacks cards with magic, ranged and no attack that are in a different position than the first.

When Lone Boatman reaches level 5, it gains a second ability: Repair.

The Repair ability allows Lone Boatman to restore a part of its armour points (max 2) to the friend card that suffered the most damage.

This ability is particularly useful when the monster card in first position has at least 2 armour points. The card in first position is generally the most attacked card and with the repair ability it will have a higher resistance to enemy attacks.

This ability is useless if none of the cards in the battlefield have armour points.

When Lone Boatman reaches level 10 (maximum level), it gains a third and final ability: Shatter.

The Shatter ability allows Lone Boatman to destroy the armour points of the card that is being attacked.

Market, Levels and Ratings

As with all other Splinterlands cards, there are two versions of the Lone Boatman card: Regular and Gold.

The lowest cost of Lone Boatman (Level 1) - Regular version on the market is $0.035 (March 23, 2021)

In the image below you can see the complete statistics

The lowest cost of Lone Boatman (Level 3) - Gold Version on the market is $0.62 (March 23, 2021)

In the following image you can see the complete statistics

Considerations on levels

Level 5

Level 5 is the level that, in my opinion, has the best benefit/price ratio!

When Lone Boatman reaches level 5, it acquires the Repair ability and, compared to level 1, increases its speed by 1 point (2->3) and gains 1 more armour point (1->2).

To reach level 5 you need:

- 60 cards to combine for the Regular version and the best price on the market is $2.10.

- The Gold version starts at level 3 and requires:

- 5 gold cards and the best price on the market is 2.45 $ as a result of buying 1 level 4 card (0.59$) and 3 level 3 cards (1.86$).

Gold or Regular?

Lone Boatman provides a clear example of the importance of comparing the prices of the Gold and Regular versions before making a purchase.

There is always a big price difference between the Gold and Regular version of a card.

But this difference only applies to the initial levels (1 single card) and can become minimal if we consider the higher levels (combination of several cards).

In fact, Lone Boatman level 5 in the Gold version costs only $0.35 more than the Regular version.

A Gold card allows you to receive an extra 10% DEC bonus every time you use it in battle and is also easier to sell or rent.

In the case of Lone Boatman (Level 5) and based on current market prices the best choice is definitely to buy the Gold version!

Now let's see how Lone Boatman performs on the battlefield.

A battle of mine with Lone Boatman

If you want to watch the battle, you can do so from this link:

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=c35dcf4144301ffc8f7a61072b9fc36ab206734b&ref=libertycrypto27

In the battle of this post I had the following conditions to respect:

- Equal Opportunity: All cards deployed in battle gain the Opportunity ability, which directs the attack to the opponent's card with the least amount of life.

- Equalizer: All cards deployed in battle gain the life points of the card (friend or enemy) with the most life points.

- Mana Cap: 40.

- Useable Summoners: Only summoners of the following elements can be used: Water, Life, Fire, Dragon and Death.

My battle formation

The maximum number of cards that can be deployed in battle is 7 (1 summoner + 6 monsters)

I chose to deploy 6 monster cards (in order of position):

Goblin Mech - Armorsmith - Silvershield Assassin - Gold Dragon - Tortisian Chief - Lone Boatman

Daria Dragonscale (Summoner)

First position: I chose Goblin Mech (level 6) because it's a good card to play in first position:

Goblin Mech (level 6) has a good melee attack (5 points), has a good number of life and armor points, and has two very good abilities Stun and Piercing.

In addition, the Equalizer combat rule is a favourable rule for Goblin Mech because it is very likely to increase his starting life points. Without the Equalizer rule my Goblin Mech would have had 7 life points and instead it starts the battle with 11 life points (almost double that).

Thanks to the summoner's Daria Dragonscale ability it should have had 6 attack points but the Demoralize ability of the opponent's card in first position (Warrior of Peace) effectively neutralizes my summoner's ability.

Second position: In second position I deployed Armorsmith (level 3).

A very useful card that costs only 2 points of Mana and that I almost always use with the element of life.

Armorsmith is a card that I like to use in combination with Goblin Mech because Armorsmith's Repair ability can restore two of Goblin Mech's armor points each round, making Goblin Mech an even harder card for my opponent to eliminate.

Third position: In third position I fielded the card Silvershield Assassin (level 5).

This is one of my favorite cards in the element of life. It has three great abilities: Sneak, Double Strike, and Poison.

It has the ability to attack twice in a row each round, and both the Equalizer and Equal Opportunity combat rules increase Silvershield Assassin's battle utility.

It's a really good card!

Fourth position: In fourth position I put Gold Dragon (level 2).

Gold Dragon is a card I bought recently and I plan to upgrade it to at least level 3.

It has the Heal ability that allows it to restore two life points each round of battle and it has a very good magic attack (3 points).

Fifth position: In fifth position I chose to deploy Tortisian Chief (level 4) because it has a good magic attack (2) and above all it has the Tank Heal ability that allows Goblin Mech to recover two life points every round of the battle.

As a summoner I chose Daria Dragonscale (level 4) because its ability allows me to increase the attack of my melee cards by one point.

In the specific case of the battle in this post, Goblin Mech, Armorsmith and Silvershield AssassinRuler don't get any additional attack points because my opponent has a card with the Demoralize ability.

Battle Considerations

In this battle, I start with a slight statistical advantage over my opponent:

- my opponent has a life + armor points total of 66 points while I have a life + armor points total of 74 points.

- I have a slightly higher total of attack points than my opponent's battle formation (15 vs 13).

From a strategic point of view, my opponent decides to bet on cards with magic attacks (he has 3 cards out of 6 with magic attacks) and decides to put a card without an attack in first position: Warrior of Peace.

I decide to bet on melee attack cards (3 out of 6 cards).

Both my opponent and I have a card with the Tank Heal ability.

During Round 1, no cards are eliminated, even though the card in the last position of my opponent has only two life points (Silvershield Sheriff).

During Round 2 my opponent loses the Silvershield Sheriff card. My Goblin Mech is left with only one life point and six armour points.

During Round 2 I increase my statistical advantage in total attack points (15 vs 10) and total life + armour points (64 vs 45).

During Round 3 I lose Goblin Mech that despite the additional protection provided by Tortisian Chief and Armorsmith's abilities is eliminated by Black Dragon's magic attack.

At the start of Round 4 I have 5 cards in play while my opponent is left with only 3 cards.

My advantage continues to increase and by the fifth turn of Round 6 my opponent is left with only one card: Manticore.

The battle ends on the first turn of Round 7 with my victory.

Final considerations on Lone Boatman

Lone Boatman is a card I practically never use for two reasons:

- the life element is not my favorite element.

I choose element of life when I can use Dragon summoners that allow me to choose from a much wider range of cards, and Lone Boatman is hardly my choice.

- I have cards with better stats than Lone Boatman.

Despite the two reasons above Lone Boatman remains a cheap card and can be useful for new players who have a few DEC to invest and want to expand their collection to have more strategic choices.

Except for a few combat rules Lone Boatman, as with ranged attack cards, should be deployed in the last positions to prevent it from reaching the first position and losing its attack.

According to my point of view the combat rules favourable to the use of the Lone Boatman card in battle are mainly:

- Equalizer

- Armored Up

- Close Range

- Reversed Speed

- Rise of the Commons

- Lost Magic

- Keep Your Distance

With this post I am taking part in the weekly Splinterlands contest entitled "Share Your Battle" (on Hive blockchain).

If you're a Splinterlands player, I highly recommend that you participate as well.

I hope you liked my post and thank you for reading.

Not a Splinterlands player?

If you are not a Splinterlands player, you are missing out on a unique opportunity to have fun while earning cards and DEC.

If you decide to register, you can do so from this link:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=libertycrypto27

Of course if you'd like to use my refferal link... :)

If you use a refferal link when registering for Splinterlands you have the following advantage:

Splinterlands is a beautiful game but it is above all a good investment (I'm not a financial advisor and this is not a financial advice but just my personal opinion) especially if you regularly participate in the weekly contests organized by the @splinterlands account.

See you on the Splinterlands battlefields.

Unless otherwise indicated, the images in this post are screenshots taken from the sites:

https://splinterlands.com/

The images containing calculations and tables are my property

The font I used in my images and in the images I edited is Open Source

Follow me also on:

NoiseCashhttps://noise.cash/u/libertycrypto27

Hivehttps://peakd.com/@libertycrypto27/posts

Leofinance: https://leofinance.io/@libertycrypto27

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/libertycrypto27

Publish0xhttps://www.publish0x.com/libertycrypto27?a=MYervALeOB (Ref.)

Blurthttps://blurtter.com/@libertycrypto27

8
$ 4.20
$ 4.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago

Comments