Is Splinterlands a Good Investment? 21 Months Later + Advices for New Players

0 122
Avatar for libertycrypto27
2 years ago

Cover Image: Logo image owned by Splinterlands - Edit by @libertycrypto27- Font used is Open Source

I became a Splinterlands player on October 19, 2019 and since that day, 21 months and 22 days have passed.

Any blockchain-based game that allows you to have full digital ownership of tokens and NFTs (game assets) is never just a game but is also an investment.

There are games that require an investment in terms of money to start playing, others that require an investment in terms of time (the free to play games) and others that require an investment in terms of money and time.

Splinterlands is a game that can be played just for fun and without investing but in this case you cannot receive the rewards of the game.

To play the Splinterlands game and be eligible to receive rewards you need to invest money ($10 to buy the Summoner Speelbook) and time.

The time needed to complete the daily quests is little (15-20 minutes per day) but of course each player can choose to stop at the daily quests or continue playing to get more rewards (DEC tokens) and improve their rating.

Since I became a Splinterlarnds player I have always written a monthly report.

In my monthly Splinterlands reports I analyze Splinterlands solely from a financial point of view and calculate the ROI and any profit or loss.

And here I am at my 21st Splinterlands report!

Note: In the numbers in this report the comma "," and the dot "." are both decimal separators.

Below are the topics I will be covering in this my monthly report:

Report Topics

- Final Result Previous Report

- Evaluation of Splinterlands as Investment (after 21 months)

- Total Investment Cost

- Total Revenues

- Value of my card collection

- Value of accumulated DEC tokens

- Revenues from the sale of DEC tokens

- Value of the Plots

- Revenues from Farms DEC - BUSD LP (CubFinance)

- Value of Splintershards tokens (SPS)

- Value of card packs purchased but not opened.

- Profit/Loss calculation

- ROI calculation

- Report Results Considerations

- Month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands

- Suggestions for new players

- But do those who sign up today still have a chance to make a good profit?

- The earning opportunities that Splinterlands offers

- Miscellaneous considerations

Final Result Previous Report

The starting point for each of my monthly reports on Splinterlands is the result I recorded in my previous monthly report.

I published my previous report on July 11, 2021 and in the following two images you can see the trend of Profit and ROI that I have achieved in 20 months (up to July 11, 2021).

Through July 11, I had invested $524 and had earned a total profit of $2232.06 and a ROI of 425.85%%.

I have not yet done the calculations for the last 31 days and for this reason I will evaluate my investment on Splinterlands until today's date at the same time as writing this report of mine.

Evaluation of Splinterlands as Investment

(after 21 months)

To evaluate any investment it' s always necessary to calculate and compare costs and revenues.

Below I will calculate the total costs I have incurred to date and the total revenue I have earned to date.

Total Investment Cost

The total cost of my investment on Splinterlands is given by the following sum:

Registration Cost (Summoner Spell book: $10) + Total Cost of Cards and Card Packs Purchased + Total Cost of DEC tokens purchased + Total Cost of Plots purchased

Since the date of my last report (July 11, 2021) and until today August 10, 2021:

I have not injected outside cash into the Splinterlands game and because of this, my total investment cost is unchanged from my previous report and is $524.14.

Revenues

In the game of Splinterlands, the revenues consist of:

- the market value of the Cards that compose a collection of cards

- the value obtained from the sale of the cards

- the value obtained from the renting of own cards

- the value of the DEC (Dark Energy Crystal) tokens accumulated and not reinvested.

- the value obtained from the sale of DEC tokens.

- the market value of the purchased plots.

- The value obtained from the sale of the plots.

- The value obtained from the use of DEC tokens in a Farm.

- The value of Splintershards (SPS) tokens obtained from the current airdrop (New Entry).

- The value of card packs purchased but not opened.

What is my card collection worth?

To know the total value in dollars of my card collection I always use the useful tool of the Peakmonsters site (https://peakmonsters.com/@libertycrypto27/collection) that inside the Collection section provides the calculation of the value of my card collection.

The peakmonsters site calculates the value of my collection based on two different prices: Market Prices and List Prices.

To calculate the value of my card collection I always consider the lesser of:

- the total value using Market Prices.

- the total value using the List Prices.

Note: In the calculation of revenues these two values are estimated values because both consider the case in which the cards are sold all at the prices indicated.

In reality there are cards that are easier to sell and others that are less easy to sell (the cards that have a very high market price), but until now I have always managed to sell all the cards I put on the market at the lowest market price.

If I wanted to calculate the precise value of my card collection I would have to consider only the BID Price (the immediately monetizable value) for each card in my collection and the calculation would become very time consuming because my card collection is composed of 1639 cards (5453 BCX) and for this reason I am satisfied with an approximation.

On March 26, 2021 my card collection had a value of $819.63 (using Market prices)

On May 3, 2021 my card collection had a value of 1164.44 $ (using Market prices)

On May 27, 2021 my card collection had a value of 1349.09 $ (using Market prices)

On July 10, 2021 my card collection had a value of 2511.49 $ (using Market prices)

Today August 11, 2021 my card collection has a value of 11617.01 $ (using Market prices)

In my previous report I recorded an increase in value of my card collection that I thought was very high (+ 1162.4$) but I was wrong because the previous increase in value is only about 10% of the increase recorded in this report: + 9105.52$.

A really extraordinary increase in value because it happened in a time interval of only 31 days.

How much are the DEC tokens I have on my wallet worth?

The DEC (Dark Energy Crystal) are the Tokens native to the game of Splinterlands, you get them as a reward for each battle won within the game and you can also find them inside the chests that you receive every day as a reward for the completion of daily missions and as a reward for the achievement at the conclusion of the seasons of Splinterlands (every 15 days).

DEC tokens are utility tokens because they have many use cases:

- they can be sold and bought on HiveEngine/LeoDex/TribalDex

- can be used to buy cards, potions, starter sets (Spell book)

- can be used in the DeFi platforms of CubFinance and UniSwap.

- can be used to pay for card rentals

- contribute to the score for receiving Splinterlands governance tokens (SPS tokens) from the current airdrop.

In my in-game Splinterlands wallet I have a total of 63653 DEC tokens (previous month: 79272 DEC tokens).

As you can see from the calculations in the following image, today August 10, 2021, 63653 DEC tokens have the value of 90.75 $ (Highest Bid on LeoDex/HiveEngine/TribalDex)

Receipts from sale of DEC tokens on Hive Engine

Since joining Splinterlands I have used DEC tokens primarily to purchase cards from the marketplace for the purpose of upgrading and improving my card collection.

Only on one occasion have I sold an amount of DEC tokens to do a Power Up on Hive and increase my amount of HP (Hive Power).

On October 5, 2020, I sold 81000 DEC on Hive Engine and received 400.14 HIVE in return for a value at the time of sale of 64.8 $.

If I had sold them today I would have gotten a lot more.

In fact today 81000 DEC tokens are worth much more than $64.8 but in my reports I consider the value the DEC tokens had at the time I sold them.

How much are my Plots worth?

On November 21, 2020 I purchased 3 Plots at a great price: 7500 DEC per plot.

So I spent a total of 22500 DEC whose $ value at the time of purchase was 19.66 $.

In the past the plots could be purchased directly from the Splinterlands website at the price of $20 but they have been sold out for quite some time and now who wants to buy a plot can do it only from the markets outside the game Splinterlands as LeoDex/HiveEngine/TribalDex.

Today August 11, the best sale offer of a Plot on Hive Engine is 436.96 HIVE equivalent to $194.54.

This is another incredible result, a plot that was worth 6.5$ (November 21, 2020) is now worth 194.54$.

In calculating my profit I will take into account the value of the Highest BID on https://hive-engine.com/?p=market&t=PLOT which is 400.07 HIVE.

The total value of the three Plots in my possession is 400.07 HIVE * 3 plots = 1200.21 HIVE = 535.29$ (previous report value: 83.09$)

Farm DEC-USBD LP

CubFinance (https://cubdefi.com/) is the decentralized finance platform created and developed by the Leofinance community(https://leofinance.io/).

On CubFinance I use the Farm DEC-USBD LP in which I put 24000 DECs to work.

When I added liquidity in the farm DEC tokens were worth much less than now and for this reason if I wanted to withdraw them now from the farm I would take only 9888.657 DEC tokens (impermanent loss)

So far I have obtained 10,243 CUB tokens which have a value of $7,283.

The value of Splintershards (SPS) tokens obtained from the current airdrop

The airdrop of Splinterlands governance tokens is underway: the SPS tokens.

The airdrop has a duration of 365 days and in 15 days I obtained 1711 SPS tokens.

As you can see from the following image 1711 SPS tokens have an approximate value of $522.91.

Value of purchased but unopened card packs

I have 42 card packs from the Untamed collection that I purchased some time ago and have yet to open.

The value of an Untamed card pack on Hive Engine (Highest BID) is 38.2 HIVE = $17.03.

The total value of my 42 packs of Untamed cards is $715.56.

A bit of calculation...

Now I have all the data I need (Total Costs and Total Revenues) to be able to calculate the Profit or Loss and the ROI I have obtained after 21 months of playing and investing on Splinterlands.

Profit

( Revenues - Costs )

As you can see from the calculations in the following image the profit I got after 21 months and 22 days on Splinterlands is 13310.82 $ (previous report 2232.06 $)

ROI

( Return On Investment )

The profit has increased almost sixfold in just 31 days and as a result the ROI has also increased greatly.

The ROI was 425.85% thirty-one days ago and now the ROI recorded so far is 2539.55%.

Month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands

Below you can see the history of my personal investment on Splinterlands from month six through August 10, 2021.

The ROI trend from month 6 onwards was as follows:

- ROI after 6 months: 34,73 %

- ROI after 7 months: 77.02 %

- ROI after 8 months: 10.93 %

- ROI after 9 months: 34.33 %

- ROI after 10 months: 16.99 %

- ROI after 11 months: 57.68 %

- ROI after 12 months: 118.59 %

- ROI after 13 months: 113.41 %

- ROI after 14 months: 111.62 %

- ROI after 15 months: 121.26 %

- ROI after 16 months: 140.84 %

- ROI after 17 months: 246,69 %

- ROI after 18 months: 334.33 %

- ROI after 19 months: 368.60 %

- ROI after 20 months: 425.85 %

- ROI after 21 months: 2539.55 %

The trend of PROFIT from the sixth month onwards was as follows:

- PROFIT after 6 months: 27.99 $

- PROFIT after 7 months: 82,346 $

- PROFIT after 8 months: 24,214 $

- PROFIT after 9 months: 78,902 $

- PROFIT after 10 months: 44,014 $

- PROFIT after 11 months: 149,437 $

- PROFIT after 12 months: 307,279 $

- PROFIT after 13 months: 316.13 $

- PROFIT after 14 months: 311.16 $

- PROFIT after 15 months: 338.02 $

- PROFIT after 16 months: 392.60 $

- PROFIT after 17 months: 687.68 $

- PROFIT after 18 months: 1046.56 $

- PROFIT after 19 months: 1239.77 $

- PROFIT after 20 months: 2232.06 $

- PROFIT after 21 months: 13834.96 $

Considerations

The result I have recorded in this report is really an outstanding result and it is the best result I have recorded so far.

I did not expect such a high increase in profit.

The main elements that led to this beautiful result were:

- the airdrop of the SPS tokens

- the considerable increase of active players.

I'm happy and satisfied with this result and my only regret is that I didn't start playing Splinterlands earlier but when Splinterlands was born I wasn't aware of the existence of Blockchain based games.

I firmly believe that blockchain based games will be the future of videogames, even if it will take some time before they can have a similar diffusion to the currently most popular centralized games.

I expressed my thoughts in a post I wrote a short while ago in which I compared Splinterlands and Hearthstone.

Link Post: https://peakd.com/hive-131619/@libertycrypto27/blockchain-games-the-future-of-gaming-il-futuro-dei-videogames-engita

Splinterlands provides a beautiful example of everything a blockchain-based game can offer players:

- fun

- exclusive digital ownership of tokens and game cards

- many possibilities for earnings and investment

Advices for new players

But do those who sign up today still have a chance to make a good profit?

Often I receive a recurring question from those who are not players of Splinterlands and read my reports:

If I sign up today do I still have a chance to make a good profit or is it too late?

I wanted to answer this question with a concrete example instead of words.

On June 21, 2021 I dressed the role of a new player and with my curation account @libertygame27 (on Hive Blockchain) I spent 10$ with which I bought a new Spell book and I started from 0 to see how quickly I would have recovered the initial cost of registration on Splinterlands.

In just 42 days and only thanks to in-game rewards (rewards from battles won, daily rewards and seasonal rewards) I recovered the cost of registration and made a profit of +7.5$ (ROI 75.5%).

You can read all the details of my experiment in this post:

Link: https://peakd.com/hive-146620/@libertycrypto27/my-splinterlands-experiment-from-usd10

The earning opportunities that Splinterlands offers.

In my experiment with the account libertygame27 it took me 42 days to get a profit of 7.5$ just by playing and investing 10$ and I didn't use all the earning opportunities that Splinterlands offers to its players.

In addition to the activities strictly related to the game such as daily quests there are many other earning possibilities made available by Splinterlands:

- Hive blockchain contest

- trivia challenge

- giveaway

- SPT tokens

- ...

A player who registers now and in addition to playing regularly participates in Splinterlands contests and giveaways organized by Splinterlands and other players can recover the cost of registration in no time.

In the following image you can see the vote I received from Splinterlands on my last post that I published on Hive and with which I participated in the Social Media Challenge contest of Splinterlands:

I also earned a quantity of SPT tokens with the same post.

On Hive, the author of a post receives 50% of the value of the votes he receives, so with one entry into a weekly Splinterlands contest I earned:

- 2.48$ (4,969$/2) from Splinterlands vote only

- 699 SPT tokens = 7.19 HIVE = $3.20

If I do the sum I get a total value of 5.68$ which is 56.8% of the cost of registration of Splinterlands.

Do you still have doubts?

If I wasn't a Splinterlands player I would become one immediately.

I hope you liked this report and thank you for your time :)

Will ROI and Profit grow in the next month or decrease?

Follow me to find out ;)

Are you not a Splinterlands player?

Splinterlands is a beautiful game and it has proved to be a very good investment (at least until now) and if you regularly participate to the weekly contests organized by the @splinterlands account you will recover the registration cost (10$) in a short time.

If you decide to register, you can do it from this link:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=libertycrypto27

of course if you'd like to use my refferal link... :)

Any game that involves the purchase of cards and tokens is never a simple game but it is also an investment and should be considered as such.

I am not a financial consultant and if you decide to invest in the game of Splinterlands you do it for your own choice, after your personal evaluations and at your own risk.

My advice is to always invest only what you can afford to lose with a light heart.

See you on the battlefields of Splinterlands.

Unless otherwise indicated, the images in this post are screenshots taken from the sites:

https://splinterlands.com/

https://peakmonsters.com/

Images containing calculations and formulas are my property

The font used in my images or edited by me is Open Source

Splinterlands ON!

2
$ 0.24
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for libertycrypto27
2 years ago

Comments