Is Splinterlands a Good Investment? 19 Months Later ...

4 2149
Avatar for libertycrypto27
2 years ago

Cover Image: Logo image owned by Splinterlands - Edit by @libertycrypto27- Font used is Open Source

Today 27 May 2021 marks exactly 19 months and 9 days that I have been a Splinterlands player.

It was in fact 19 October 2019 when I decided to pay $10 to sign up for what immediately became and still is my favourite blockchain-based game.

When I like a project, whether it's a game or any other activity, I like to keep track of my progress.

When a game includes the possibility to buy and sell cards (NFT), to buy and sell tokens (DEC) and to buy and sell other game elements (plots...) it is never just a game but it is in fact also an investment.

For this reason, every month I write a report in which I consider Splinterlands only from a financial point of view and calculate the ROI and any profit or loss I have made.

Note: In the numbers in this report the comma "," and the dot "." are both decimal separators.

Here are the topics I will be covering in my 19th monthly report:

Report topics

- Final Result Previous Report

- Valuation of Splinterlands as an Investment (after 18 months)

- Total Investment Cost

- Total Revenues

- Value of my card collection

- Value of accumulated DEC tokens

- Revenue from selling DEC tokens

- Value of Plots

- Revenue from Farms DEC - BUSD LP (CubFinance)

- Profit/Loss calculation

- ROI Calculation

- Final Considerations

- Month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands.

- Does anyone who signs up today still have a chance to make a good profit?

- Considerations

Final Result Previous Report

***

As I have done for all my previous reports, the starting point for this my latest Splinterlands monthly report is the result I recorded in my previous monthly report: https://read.cash/@libertycrypto27/is-splinterlands-a-good-investment-18-months-later-roi-and-considerations-89a88011

As you can see from the two graphs in the following images the result I got in the previous report and then after 18 months was my best result ever

For an investment of 313$ I got a total profit of 1046.56$ and a ROI of 334.33%.

Now it's time to check whether after another month my profit has increased in value or decreased in value.

Valuation of Splinterlands as an Investment

(after 18 months)

To evaluate any investment it is always necessary to compare costs and revenues.

Below I will calculate the total costs I have incurred to date and the total revenue I have earned to date.

Total investment cost

The total cost of my investment on Splinterlands is given by the following sum:

Subscription cost (Starter Set: 10$) + Total cost of Cards purchased + Total cost of DECs purchased + Total cost of Plots purchased

Since the date of my last report (May 3, 2021) and up to today May 27, 2021:

- I have purchased 3 packs of Untamed cards from the https://hive-engine.com/ marketplace - total cost $5.19

- I have purchased 8 packs of Dice cards from https://hive-engine.com/ marketplace - total cost $16.49

- I have rented 32 cards from Peakmonsters market (https://peakmonsters.com/) - rental duration: 2 days - total cost of rental: $1.64

I have spent a total of $23.32 which adds up to the total cost of my investment in Splinterlands which is now the following sum:

total investment cost previous report + cost of buying packs of Untamed and Dice cards + cost of renting cards for the season finale.

313.03 $ + 23.32 $ = 336.35 $.

Revenues

In the game of Splinterlands the revenues consists of:

- the market value of the Cards that compose a collection of cards

- the value obtained from the sale of the cards

- the value of the DEC (Dark Energy Crystal) tokens accumulated and not reinvested.

- the value obtained from the sale of the DEC tokens.

- the market value of the purchased plots.

- The value obtained from the sale of the plots.

- The value obtained from the use of DEC tokens in a Farm.

How much are my cards worth?

To find out the total dollar value of my card collection, I always use the Peakmonsters website (https://peakmonsters.com/@libertycrypto27/collection), which in the Collection section provides a calculation of the value of my card collection.

The peakmonsters site calculates the value of my collection based on two different prices: Market prices and List prices.

To calculate the value of my card collection I always consider the lower of:

- the total value using Market Prices.

- the total value using List Prices.

Note: In the calculation of revenues these two values are estimated values because they both consider the case in which the cards are all sold at the prices indicated.

In reality, there are cards that are easier to sell and others that are less easy to sell, even though up to now I have always managed to sell all the cards I put on the market at the lowest market price.

If I wanted to calculate the exact value of my card collection I would have to consider only the BID Price (the immediately monetizable value) for each card in my collection and the calculation would become very time consuming because my card collection consists of 1403 cards (4100 BCX) and for this reason I am happy with an approximation.

On 26 March 2021 my card collection had a value of $819.63 (using Market prices)

On 3 May 2021 my card collection was worth 1164.44 $ (using Market prices)

Today 27 May 2021 my card collection had a value of 1349.09 $ (using Market prices)

In my previous report I recorded an increase in value (+ $344.81) and this month there has been an increase in the value of my card collection although this time the increase is less than the previous month: + 184.65$.

This increase is partly due to the 13 packs of cards I bought, but it is mainly due to the general increase in the value of the cards that continues to rise and this price increase is a good sign for Splinterlands but also for all its players.

How much are the DEC tokens I have in my wallet worth?

The DEC (Dark Energy Crystal) are the Tokens native to the game of Splinterlands, you get them as a reward for each battle you win within the game and you can find them inside the chests you receive as a reward for completing daily quests and for the achievement in the Splinterlands seasons (every 15 days).

DEC tokens are utility tokens because they have many use cases:

- they can be sold and bought on HiveEngine/LeoDex/TribalDex.

- they can be used to buy cards, potions, starter sets

- they can be used in the DeFi platforms of CubFinance and UniSwap.

So far I have accumulated a total of 121077 DEC tokens on my internal Splinterlands wallet (previous month: 84054 DEC tokens).

Today May 27, 2021, as you can see from the calculations in the image below, the dollar value of 121077 DEC is 107.66 $ (Highest Bid on LeoDex/HiveEngine)

Returns from the sale of DEC tokens on Hive Engine

Since I've been signed up on Splinterlands I've been using DEC tokens to buy cards to boost my card collection except on one occasion when I decided to sell DEC tokens to power up on Hive and increase my amount of HP (Hive Power).

On October 5, 2020, I sold 81000 DECs on the Hive Engine marketplace and received 400.14 HIVE in exchange for a value at the time of sale of 64.8 $.

How much are my Plots worth?

On 21 November 2020 I bought 3 Plots at a great price: 7500 DEC per plot.

So I spent a total of 22500 DEC whose $ value at the time of purchase was 19.66 $.

The plots can be purchased directly from the Splinterlands website for $20 but can also be purchased from LeoDex/HiveEngine/TribalDex site.

At the time of writing this post the best sale offer for a Plot on Hive Engine is 48.5 HIVE equivalent to 23.959$ so if you are interested in buying a Plot you should buy it directly from the Splinterlands internal shop or you can try to make a BID.

In my report I consider the value of the Highest BID on https://hive-engine.com/?p=market&t=PLOT which is 35 HIVE.

So the total value of the three plots in my possession is 35 HIVE * 3 plots = 105 HIVE = 51.87$ (previous report value: 43.55$)

Farm DEC-USBD LP

I use the Farm DEC-USBD LP from https://cubdefi.com/ where I have put just over 24000 DECs to work.

I am getting CUB tokens from this Farm and to date I have gotten 2,959 CUBs.

The value of the CUB tokens has decreased compared to the previous month but I still earned $2.7.

Now a little calculation...

Now I have all the data I need (Total Costs and Total Revenues) to be able to calculate the financial results (Profit and ROI) I have obtained from my investment on Splinterlands in 19 months.

Profit

( Revenues - Costs )

I am happy to see that my profit has increased again this month.

I spent $23.32 this month (card pack purchase and card rental cost) but had an increase in profit of $193.21 compared to the previous monthly report.

This is a smaller increase than the previous month (+$358.88) but still a very good result.

As you can see from the calculations in the following image my profit after 19 months and 8 days since my registration on Splinterlands is $1239.77 (previous report $1046.56)

ROI

( Return On Investment )

My profit has increased and consequently the ROI has also increased.

The ROI I have calculated is 368.60% (ROI previous monthly report 334.33%).

Final Considerations

I'm getting happier and happier that I decided to play and invest in Splinterlands.

My only regret is that I didn't start sooner but when Splinterlands was born I didn't even know the meaning of Blockchains.

In just over 19 months I have made a profit of 1239.77$ and achieved a ROI of 368.60%.

How many investments do you know of that give you these percentages of return on your initial investment?

I know a few!

How many investments allow you to gain value and at the same time have fun with a game of cards and strategy?

I know even fewer.

Splinterlands again this month confirms to be a really nice and fun game but also a great investment!

Month by month history of my investment in Splinterlands

Below you can see the history of my personal investment on Splinterlands regarding the ROI and Profit I have obtained month by month and from the sixth month onwards.

The trend of ROI from the sixth month onwards is as follows:

- ROI after 6 months: 34.73 %

- ROI after 7 months: 77.02 %

- ROI after 8 months: 10.93 %

- ROI after 9 months: 34.33 %

- ROI after 10 months: 16.99 %

- ROI after 11 months: 57.68 %

- ROI after 12 months: 118.59 %

- ROI after 13 months: 113.41 %

- ROI after 14 months: 111.62 %

- ROI after 15 months: 121.26 %

- ROI after 16 months: 140.84 %

- ROI after 17 months: 246.69 %

- ROI after 18 months: 334.33 %

- ROI after 19 months: 368.60 %

The trend in PROFIT from the sixth month onwards is as follows:

- PROFIT after 6 months: 27.99 $

- PROFIT after 7 months: 82.346 $

- PROFIT after 8 months: 24.214 $

- PROFIT after 9 months: 78.902 $

- PROFIT after 10 months: 44.014 $

- PROFIT after 11 months: 149.437 $

- PROFIT after 12 months: 307.279 $

- PROFIT after 13 months: 316.13 $

- PROFIT after 14 months: 311.16 $

- PROFIT after 15 months: 338.02 $

- PROFIT after 16 months: 392.60 $

- PROFIT after 17 months: 687.68 $

- PROFIT after 18 months: 1046.56 $

- PROFIT after 19 months: 1239.77 $

But whoever signs up today still has a chance to make a good profit?

Obviously, when a game based on blockchain is successful, those who signed up earlier have earned much more than those who signed up several months later.

The logical question a new player might ask is the following:

If I sign up today, do I still have a chance to make good profits?

I can't answer this question because I don't have the ability to predict the future (unfortunately :).

I recommend signing up for Splinterlands because it is first and foremost a fun game.

I have tried several blockchain based games and currently play 6 different blockchain based games but so far I have never found a better game than Splinterlands.

I highly recommend signing up for Splinterlands because the $10 entry fee is easily recouped in no time by participating in the contests that the @splinterlands account runs every week.

All participants will receive an upvote from the @steemmonsters account based on the effort they put into writing their contest post.

In the image below you can see the two votes I received from Splinterlands on my last two Splinterlands contest posts:

The two votes I received from @steemmonsters equate to approximately $7,153 [(8,332+5,974)/2].

7,153$ is 71% of the registration cost of Splinterlands.

In addition, Splinterlands offers many other earning opportunities...

Will ROI and Profit grow in the next month or will they decline?

Follow me to find out ;)

I hope you liked this post and I thank you for taking the time to read it :)

Not a Splinterlands player?

If you are not a Splinterlands player, you are missing out on a unique opportunity to have fun while earning cards and DEC.

If you decide to register, you can do so from this link:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=libertycrypto27

Of course if you'd like to use my refferal link... :)

If you use a refferal link when registering for Splinterlands you have the following advantage:

Splinterlands is a great game but it has also proven to be a good investment (at least so far) and if you regularly participate in the weekly contests organized by the @splinterlands account you will recoup the cost of registration in a few weeks.

Any game that allows you to buy cards and tokens is never just a game, it is also an investment.

I am not a financial advisor and my advice is not financial advice, it is just my personal opinion based on my experience.

If you decide to invest in the Splinterlands game you do so at your own choice and risk.

See you on the Splinterlands battlefields

Unless otherwise indicated, the images in this post are screenshots taken from the sites:

https://splinterlands.com/

https://hive-engine.com/

https://peakmonsters.com/

The font used in my images or images edited by me is Open Source

Splinterlands ON!

Follow me also on:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/libertycrypto27

Publish0x: https://www.publish0x.com/libertycrypto27?a=MYervALeOB

Hive: https://peakd.com/@libertycrypto27/posts

NoiseCash: https://noise.cash/u/libertycrypto27

Blurt: https://blurtter.com/@libertycrypto27

5
$ 10.38
$ 10.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @teriyaki
Avatar for libertycrypto27
2 years ago

Comments

It sounds a good investment. Just curious how many hours you spent in Splinterlands in 19 months to get this return?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

15 minutes per day to complete the daily mission On the last day of the 15-day season I play for about 2-3 hours to improve my ranking. I now play almost automatically and always do other things while doing battles. It only takes me a few seconds to prepare a battle and then until the other player prepares his formation I write or do other computer tasks. I like Splinterlands so I consider the time I spend on it as fun ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Risposta facile splinterlands è un buon investimento! 😎

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pienamente d'accordo

$ 0.00
2 years ago