DEFENDER OF TRUTH: Market, Battle Strategy and Considerations

0 36
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago

Character image and logo image owned by splinterlands - Edit by @libertycrypto27- Font used is Open Source

Hello friends of red.cash,

the protagonist of this post is the Defender Of Truth card that is the protagonist of the Splinterlands contest titled "Share Your Battle" this week.

I don't have this card in my card collection but since I really enjoy participating in this contest I decided to rent the Defender Of Truth (level 5) card from the marketplace of the site: https://peakmonsters.com/

I rented the card for just one day and after I ended the rental contract and spent a total of $0.012.

The topics I will cover in this post are as follows:

Arguments

***

- Card: Defender Of Truth

- Description, Stats, and Abilities.

- Cost, Levels, and Valuations

- Level Considerations

- One of my battles with Defender Of Truth

- My battle formation.

- Battle Considerations

- Final Considerations on Defender Of Truth

Card: Defender Of Truth

Description, Stats, and Abilities

Defender Of Truth is a card that is part of two collections: Alpha and Beta.

It is an Epic card and is a card of the Life element.

Defender Of Truth of level 1 has the following statistics:

- It has a low to medium mana cost (4).

- It has 1 magic attack point

- It has 3 life points and has 1 armor point.

- It has a speed of medium value (3).

- Level 1 Defender Of Truth has no ability but when it reaches level 3 it gains the Protect ability.

Cards that have the Protect ability have the ability to add 2 armor points to all friendly cards. The ability also affects the card that has this ability, so Defender Of Truth will also have two extra armor points in battle.

Cost, Levels, and Valuation

The lowest cost of Defender Of Truth (Level 1) - Alpha Edition on the market is $2.19 (February 8, 2021)

In the following image you can see the complete statistics

The lowest cost of Defender Of Truth (Level 1) - Beta Edition on the market is $1.13 (February 8, 2021)

In the following image you can see the complete statistics

Considerations about levels

Level 3

Level 3 is the level that, in my opinion, has the best benefit/price ratio!

At level 3 Defender Of Truth gains the ability: Protect and compared to level 1 increases the magic attack points of a unit (1->2) and also increases the speed points of a unit (3->4).

To reach level 3 you need:

- 4 cards to combine for the Alpha edition and the total cost is $8.76.

- 6 cards to combine for the Beta edition and the total cost is 6.96 $.

This is the cost of six level 1 cards but at the time I write this post there is a better sale offer on the market for a card already upgraded to level 3 and the price is 6.50 $ (savings -0.46$).

Level 5

Level 5 is another interesting level because Defender Of Truth increases its attack points (2->3).

To reach level 5 you need:

- 16 cards to combine for the Alpha edition and the best price on the market is $35.04.

- 23 cards to combine for the Beta edition and the best price on the market is 15,99 $.

Max level (Level 6)

To reach the maximum level (the sixth) you need:

- 32 cards to combine for the Alpha edition and the best price on the market is 45.90 $.

- 46 cards to combine for the Beta edition and the best price on the market is 22,14 $.

This is a tier I don't recommend because spending about $10 more (Alpha version) or almost 7 euros more (Beta version) to have only one additional life point compared to tier 5 doesn't seem very convenient to me.

Defender Of Truth is also available in a Gold version but, as you can see from the image below, the prices go way up.

Now let's see how Defender Of Truth behaves on the Battlefield.

***

A battle of mine with Defender Of Truth

If you want to see the battle you can do so from this link: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=d581d99385558f4b9c9f79ef4be31fa604975a41&ref=libertycrypto27

***

In the battle of this post I had the following conditions to respect:

- Healed Out: All cards with the Heal or Tank Heal abilities lose their ability.

- Keep Your Distance: Cards with a melee attack cannot be used.

- Mana Cap: 32.

- Useable Summoners: Only summoners of the elements can be used: Life, Death, Water, and Dragon.

My Battle Formation

The maximum number of cards that can be deployed in battle is 7 ( 1 summoner + 6 monsters)

I chose to deploy 6 cards (in order of position):

Furious Chicken - Prismatic Energy - Defender Of Truth - Bila The Radiant - Tortisian Chief - Halfling Alchemist

Delwyn Dragonscale (Summoner)

I chose this battle because it has two combat rules favorable to using the Enchanted Defender card.

In fact, when the battle rule is Keep Your Distance no melee attack cards can be deployed, and magic cards become even more valuable in battle because they become the only cards that can attack in first position.

When the battle rule is Healed Out the Protect ability becomes even more important.

I deployed Furious Chicken in first position to avoid the first attack on the card I deployed in second position.

In second position I deployed Prismatic Energy (level 4) because it has a lot of life (10) and good speed (4). Both of these features make Prismatic Energy a good card to deploy in first position when you can't deploy cards with melee attack.

In third position I chose the star of this week's Splinterlands contest: Defender Of Truth.

Cards that have low life points I always deploy in the middle positions to protect them.

Thanks to the Delwyn Dragonscale summoner's ability, Defender Of Truth (level 5) gains a whopping 4 magic attack points.

In fourth position I have chosen Bila The Radiant, a very good card with a good magic attack and a good ability that however has few life points (5) and following the same reasoning done for Bila The Radiant I have chosen to protect it deploying it in fourth position.

In fifth position I deployed Tortisian Chief (level 4). Unfortunately in this battle she loses her Tank Heal ability which makes Tortisian Chief a very useful card but even without her ability she remains a great card.

In last position I played Halfling Alchemist, always a useful card because it is able to halve the attack points of the enemy card that suffers an attack.

Battle Considerations

Usually for the Share Your Battle contest I choose balanced battles but in this case I chose a battle where I start with an advantage but that offers interesting considerations.

In fact I have a double initial advantage:

- I have a higher total life + armor points than my opponent (39 vs 37)

- I have a higher total attack points than my opponent (15 vs 11).

Actually I have another big advantage: my opponent is not human but a BOT.

In fact my opponent makes several mistakes

- he fields four out of six cards with attack from a distance.

The big disadvantage of cards with distance attack is that they cannot attack from the first position.

The card with the highest speed should be placed in the last position because it has the best chance to avoid attacks, but my opponent places it in the second last position.

At the beginning of Round 2 my opponent loses Lord Arianthus and also Spirit Miner and is left with only ranged cards.

I only lose Furious Chiken.

In the first position Grimm Reaper arrives and he is unable to attack from the first position and my attack point advantage becomes huge (15 vs 6).

The battle is short-lived and ends on the fourth turn of Round 3 with a win of my own.

I prefer to play with real players and I don't like BOTs and I hope that in the future Splinterlands will do something to remove them from the game but it is also true that defeating BOTs is very easy and this battle proves it.

Considerations on Defender Of Truth

Defender Of Truth is a relatively expensive card but also very useful in battle because it has a great attack and has a very useful ability (Protect).

Because of its low mana cost (4) it becomes particularly useful in battles that have the Little League combat rule (only cards with a mana cost less than or equal to 4 can be used in battle).

Defender Of Truth is a card I'm considering purchasing but I have other purchase goals to reach first.

According to my point of view the usefulness in battle of the Defender Of Truth card increases when the rules of battle are:

- Little League

- Healed Out

- Armored Up

- Equalizer

- Back to Basics

- Keep Your Distance

- Broken Arrow

With this post I participate in the weekly Splinterlands contest entitled "Share Your Battle" (on Hive blockchain).

Haven't you registered on Splinterlands yet?

You are missing out on a more unique than rare opportunity to enjoy yourself and at the same time to earn tokens and cards.

Splinterlands is a beautiful game but it is above all an excellent investment (my personal opinion) especially if you regularly participate in the weekly contests organized by the @splinterlands account.

If you are not yet registered on Splinterlands and have decided to register, you can do it from this link:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=libertycrypto27

obviously if you like to use my refferal link ...

If you use a refferal link you have the following advantage:

See you on the Splinterlands battlefields :)

Unless otherwise indicated, the images in this post are screenshots taken from the sites:

Follow me also on:

Hive: https://peakd.com/@libertycrypto27/posts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/libertycrypto27

Publish0x: https://www.publish0x.com/libertycrypto27

4
$ 3.48
$ 3.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for libertycrypto27
3 years ago

Comments