Life of an Ordinary College Student

5 22
Avatar for lian_99
2 years ago

For the general, studying is important.

Some say that no one will accept you if you haven’t finished schooling, and people will look down on you.I think society is the one makes the standard about studying higher. If studying is important, why not give scholarship to all of the students? Ah, because of the “standard”. You should maintain your grades, you should reach this grade to avail the scholarship etc. Not all the students have the same IQ, I hope people will know that. Just because the student/s are not as smart as the others you can just negelct them. In college, it’s the survival of the fittest. You should strive no matter what, just for you to be able to secure that you’ll be accepted from the job that you want to be. The mindset that has been existing from the past.

I, as a college student, and with the new normal curriculum, find it really hard to catch up. I admit I am not as smart as few of my classmates but, I don’t care if I graduate cum laude or not. I’m happy for my classmates since they are smart but at the same time, envious. With the IQ that they have, social skills and attributes as a good student, they’ll definitely be accepted when they will apply. I can feel that I am lacking, loosing interests as time goes by because of the situation. I was sure that I will be able to graduate before the pandemic started but now, I don’t know anymore, honestly. And also, I can say that it is not just me who feels like this, some of my classmates are also feeling uninterested even in answering modules. Everything will be easy but because of what’s happening right now, most of the students are just doing their moduels just to br able to pass, not to learn from it. I personally think that is my only goal anymore. As a college student, sometimes your efforts in answering modules are getting wated because honestly, there are teachers who does not read your work, they will just give your grades without even ‘seening’ your soft copy that you have sent to them on messenger; that is the truth honestly, and it sucks. Also, other students stayed up all night just to finish their works and pass it, but after days, the teacher will notify them that they haven’t received their outputs, then at the end, the student will learn that their outputs were missing even though they have already passed it themselves to their school. The student won’t have a choice but to start again from the beginning. That’s what happened to us and to my cousin and her classmates. I understand that both parties, the teachers and the students, have their own issues and problems, and are trying their j to help each other. But not he situation like these, sometimes the efforts of both parties are being wasted, it is not just the other one’s fault but the other side as well.

Surviving in this timeline is exhausting. Trying to prove yourself to receive the recognition that you deserve, but sometimes, no matter how much effort you exert, if people doesn’t look on your way, your efforts will go in vain. That’s why there are students who lose their interest in studying especially now. They chose to atop studying and just find some part time jobs to earn money. There are also people who became successful but not with the course that they studied, or despite of not finishing studying at all. Sometimes, there are things that aren’t for you and you are destined for the other things you don’t expect to be. Although, I think I am not yet enough and my efforts, I’m thinking that maybe this course is not really for me, but then, what’s the use of me, passing the college entrance exam if these are not for me? I really think that you’ll enjoy studying and working in the future if the course that you want is what you are working now. I believe that it is important for college students to get the course that they really want so that they won’t feel lost after graduating, and not regret.

College is tough, especially if the course you are studying is not the course you really want. You’ll feel like burdened and forced to study since you’ll feel obligated to do so. I really hope some parents will understand and know how their children feel when they pressure them about what they want for their children. I understand that they just want the best for their children but always remember, that it is not THEM (the parents) who will study and go through college with the course you want, it’s your children. Maybe forcing your children to study the course that YOU want makes you feel satisfied since you were not able to study that course or believing that your children will be successful and you will finally experience a better life. The problem is the parents thinking about themselves rather than their children, they rely much to their children to lift from their misery and poorness. Please don’t use your children as an asset in the future, support them for what they wanted, not for what you wanted as a parent. As I said, college is a tough battle, pressure is the least of thing your children will worry about.

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of lian_99
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lian_99
2 years ago

Comments

update, I have graduated :>

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not important if you graduated cumlaude or not as long as you finished your degree with flying colors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, that's why I kept doing my best.Although I can't help get insecure since some of my classmates are smart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just believe in yourself does not important if they are smarter than you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank youuu 😢🥺💜..

$ 0.00
2 years ago