Life of a Production worker

2 10
Avatar for leejhen
3 years ago

Have you experienced working in a long shift of hours?

8 hours standing? with 1 hour break time.? how about 12 hours standing? with one hour break time?. Imagine your ankle and feet would be like, after that.

Who is the Production Workers? They are the workers working in a Manufacturing company.

They are the helpers in manufacturing of goods in an assembly line and their role vary depending on which sector they work in. What position they handle and which area they are assigned.

Being a Production worker is not an easy job at all. Today let me show you the different jobs that I experienced during my work as a production worker in different Manufacturing Companies.

Let's Start when I was 18 years old...

I'm working in a Sewing Company. They Manufactured different kinds of clothes from panty to blouse and pants. And it was Manufactured and Exported to different countries.

My position is an Iron Steamer.It means I'm assigned in the Area where we iron and steam the fabrics. It's very hot facing and holding the iron for 8 hours standing. But We need to finish and reach the Quota before our shift finished.

Being A production worker. From the word Product and Production it needs a certain cooperation. Means a group of people cooperating with each other to fullfil and finish the work at a given time especially when shipment arrived.

If one production member is absent her given post or assigned area need to be fill in. Because the whole Production Line will not be functioning if one is missing. As the job is passed by through a given assigned work.

For example in station 1 He is assigned in sewing the collar area. That will be his work for the rest of the day. Then He will passed to station 2 who are assigned in Sewing the arm parts of the dress. And it will continue until to the last station area. The Packing Area in which the finished Products are ready for shipment.

As for me, sometimes I'm in charge in marking then will run on ironing. Our hands needs to be faster as there is A Taiwanese Manager who is keep on monitoring our work. Ang keep on shouting "Faster !"in the whole Production Area. Our only convenient shift schedule is the night shift or what we called graveyard shift.

If you are scheduled to overtime, your shift is from 6 pm to 6 am. Imagine that standing for 11 hours! The one hour is your breaktime. If you don't have an overtime your working schedule is only 8 hours.

For morning shift schedule 6 to 2. Which means 6 am to 2 pm.

For the second shift schedule which is in the afternoon is from 2 pm to 10 pm .

And for the graveyard schedule it's from 10 pm to 6 am. These are the schedules if you don't have an overtime.

And for the Whole Production area there is a Team Leader, Assistant Team Leader And the rest is all a production worker.

But it's different in Lear Corporation where I worked as a Production worker too. Assigned at J48 Rear Conveyor1 Station 1: wire stringer.

In our Production Area, there is a Team Leader, Assistant Team Leader And UO which means Utility Operator. If we have a double cross wire and missing preblock or simply we can't handle the speed of the conveyor we will ask for our UO' s help.

By the way Lear Corporation is one of the biggest Manufacturing Company here in Mepz 1 Lapu-Lapu City. And I'm lucky and very proud to be part of it once in my life.

They are Manufacturing wire parts of a Cars namely Mazda, Honda, Suzuki and I forgot the other names of the Cars.

As for us we are assigned in the rear Part. Our wire are long. We are wearing protective googles to protect our eyes.

The whole Conveyor Jigboard is rotating. Once the Jigboard came in your Station Area you need to fill it in your assigned wire. As I'am new I'm always drowning. Yes we called it drowning if we can't handle the speed of the Jigboard anymore. It needs Quick mind, bright eyes and most importantly faster hands.

If I'am drowned the whole Production Area is affected too. That's why our UO' is always to the rescue. Because one pre-block mistake can make the Car explode. But there's nothing to worry as we have an E- tester machine to determine if the finished product is rejected and cross wired. It's a tiring job doing the back job works too.

There is also a Line Inspector and Quality Controller who are always checking the Production area.

At first it was Never really easy. I can't eat properly and Can't eat too much. Because it's so heavy in the stomach and you can't move faster. So we only eat 1 cup of rice only. Until I became a Master wire stringer And familiarized all the task and the station area I was assigned with.

Since I'am not a regular employee my work came to an end.

I'am a contractual employee only. But it's an experienced that I will treasure for a lifetime. Working 10 months is an achievement already.

So I'm at the other Company again. This time it's the same with my first one. Sewing Company but this one is branded. And much more high minimum salary.

The Alta Mode but sadly to say as of this time it was already closed. This is the most tiring one as my work is all around!

In the Production line I'am a trimmer.

Trimmer means we trimmed a the excess thread on the finished Products. I said branded as it Manufactured Aber Combrie, Calvien Klein, Adidas and I forgot the other products.

When I had nothing to trim. I will be assigned at ironing the needle mark. Sometimes I'am at the marking area. Sometime at the washing area. Washing the clothes with a stain. In the middle of the night.

The Worst one is in the Packing Area especially if there is a shipment. Our shift is keep on extended. And you can't say no to overtime if there's no valid reasons at all.

It's very tiring as My work is always standing. But I managed to survived.

Monde Missing Corporation it's the yummy Manufacturing Company.

They are The Manufacturer of Nisisin wafer, Lucky Me noodles and pancit canton, eggnog, skyflakes, bingo and Cubee wafer.

This is sounds delicious but it's not an easy job too. I was assigned at the Wafer Department Area. There I witnessed how the yummy wafer was made.

In the Production Line there Is a Machine Operator. It's an easy job if the machine will not malfunction and went on smoothly. There is production workers too who are assigned in the conveyor area. All they need to watch is the flowing of the wafers. They will make sure that there will not stuck up and stumbled with each other. There is 4 Packers in one table.

And I'am one of the Packers. Sounds easy but it's not. The machine will produce non stop pack wafers. And We as a Packer needs to pack it by 20 in it's plastic. It required the fastest hands ever. Because of you are too slow mountains of wafers will keep on pouring at your assigned table. The machine will never stop for you unless it's malfunction and damaged.

I still survived with this kind of job too. Still a standing work to battle. Sometimes we are required to overtime at the Biscuits department.

It's a yummy area eggnogs are keep pouring and The bingo Biscuits are beautifully parading. If there are no Team Leaders and Supervisors we managed to sneak and eat some wafers eggnogs and biscuits haha.

But it's never allowed, you will be suspended okay? if you are get caught 😆 So be careful while eating. But kidding aside overtime is not easy too. Still standing and tiring.

Money that came from the fruit of your hardworks is much worth having for. When you received your first ever salary. You will experienced a complete fullfilment and happiness.

And of course me I always eat at Jollibee. As a reward for myself and go shopping too. And don't forget to give half of your salary to your parents.

Oh! I experienced one time in work where I'am sitting. And this company clearly put on their hiring announcement. Fat is not allowed. It's weird right so I try to apply. It's a Japanese Company. Manufacturer of Cellphone Antenna. And it's my first time to be interviewed standing. But the work required sitting. I got accepted and started to work. The shift is very convenient from 9 am to 5 pm just like an office hours. I'm excited! Then We need to arrived at the Company at 8:30 am because all the production workers need to excersise haha. It's true I enjoy dancing too and good for our health.

But I did not last long as I'am painfully crying for goodness sake my hands is aching making the antenna. It's hard And I did not reach the quota at all. If we will not reach the Quota our salary will depend on how many antennas we've made. And guess what when I resigned I only got 28 pesos salary. Haha funny but it's true.

I'm not meant to be in a sitting work. I'd rather standing than having a very low salary.

Sponsors of leejhen
empty
empty

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of leejhen
empty
empty
Avatar for leejhen
3 years ago

Comments

I really like your article , I also appreciate to you because such a wonderful history share your page , it your own history friend ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes it's my own history and experienced 😊 thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago