That was my way of learning to drive.

0 36
Avatar for lanzjoseg
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experience, Freewrite, ...

When I was eleven years old I had to learn to drive cars, because it was a young boy's experience when he doesn't think about it, when he doesn't measure the danger to which he exposes himself.

I still remember very clearly that and how I learned to drive, a small preamble of that learning, my grandfather was a driver of squares, so it was called before the gentlemen who had cars and who made long trips, my grandfather left from Ciudad Bolivar and passed through several towns until you reach the kilometer 88 so was the name of the people, he had a Ford-Zephyr-1979.

Several times I accompanied my grandfather on those trips, many times I think that's where my traveling blood comes from, while traveling with my grandfather, I was always very aware of what he was doing to learn, I learned at 11, but since I was 10 I wanted to drive, while traveling with my grandfather every so often I would ask him about the car and how it worked, well not every so often, but once I asked if I didn't understand I could ask a second time.

My questions were the following, grandfather, what is the steering wheel for, and he would answer me, son, it gives you the control of the car to direct where it goes, if I move the steering wheel to the right the car turns to the right, if I move the steering wheel to the left the car turns to the left and if I leave it straight, it goes straight.

And where do I give it to start so that the car runs, and well I explain that leg that you see there, that's what it's for, if you press it a lot the car will run very strong, but if you give it hair to hair or not so strong the car will run very slow.

Grandfather and how do I stop the car from running, well that other leg, that is the brake, if you give it too hard the car will brake suddenly and very hard and if you step on it very softly the car will stop slowly,

Those were the lessons, now how I learned to drive, it was very easy hahahaha when my grandfather came back from a trip, normally it was around one o'clock in the afternoon, I would run to greet him and I would say grandfather, do you want me to wash your car, I saw that car arrive very dirty, do you want me to wash it? Immediately, he would say to me: "Yes, son, be careful, the car key is stuck, don't put it on, but I think he was giving the opposite order.

Once he had her approval to wash the car, he would go inside the house, take a bath, and then he would tell my grandmother that he was hungry and that he wanted to have lunch, after eating the delicious food that my grandmother had ready for him to have lunch, he would go to sleep.

Just at that moment I was preparing everything to wash the car, I had my bucket with soap and a little gasoline, my grandfather made me prepare that solution of water with soap and gasoline to wash the car, me after washing the car.

After the car was well washed on the outside and polished, but also clean inside, I would go inside the house to find out what my mom was doing or where she was, after I knew where she was if the conditions were ok, I would steal the car and drive it around the whole block of the neighborhood, the first time I was a little scared, but when I controlled the accelerator pedal and knew how I had to brake and also how I had to turn the steering wheel, but also and most importantly how I had to control the accelerator pedal that was something very important that I had to control very well, once all that was under my control it was there that I learned to drive.

I can say that taking the car that way to go around the block, brought me some serious consequences hahaha, with my mom, but honestly I did not mind those scoldings, because I had achieved what I wanted which was to drive, that was repeated for a long time.

Then I found out that my grandfather knew that I stole the car, and he did not tell me anything, on the contrary, every time he came back from the trip he told me to wash the car, but to be careful, I am sure that he gave me the approval to steal the car, until once when I was older he confessed it to me, and he told me son, I know that you stole the car, I didn't say anything because the big scolding that your mother gave you was enough, so why would I scold you, besides I was always watching, but I realized that you drove very well because you respected the speed, and you always went very well, when I realized that I left you alone to steal the car.

That was my way of learning to drive.

1
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for lanzjoseg
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experience, Freewrite, ...

Comments