Five Uses for Tea Tree Oil

0 17
Avatar for ladyanneclare
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Beauty, Self-care

There’s so many products out there in the health/beauty sections of the stores. Buy one product to treat a symptom and another to prevent another. But what I’ve discovered is tea tree oil to be my one go-to for all if not most of my skin ailments.

The first and foremost use I get out of tea tree oil has been cleaning my face and battling burgeoning acne and pimple flare ups. As soon as I notice any red spots, I immediately apply just a small drop of tea tree oil. Now I know that is not safe for all, so please use sparingly, especially for those with sensitive skin. You can take a one part tea tree oil to four parts water or any carrier oil that is safe for the skin. Favorite carrier oils are almond, grape seed, vitamin E, coconut or even olive oil. My skin runs combination to normal so I can withstand the sting and cooling effect of tea tree oil.

There’s times I’ve just diluted a few drops with water and used that to cleanse my face or use a cotton ball to dab and brush over any areas needing attention.

I am an admitted beauty product junkie and my shelves are FULL of products. But during this time in the pandemic, I have slowly but surely cutdown and tossed many. If anything, tea tree oil will be the last man standing.

Another use for tea tree oil is for cleansing anything. Again diluting the oil is key because it could sting and be painful, especially for a cut or any open skin. Since I’ve been using it, I have gotten use to it but I know people range in all levels of sensitivities. I always have it on hand - especially when hiking or camping. I consider it one of my first-aid items. If I have any cuts or injuries to cleanse, I would take a few drops with water and wash out my injury. There will be a sting to it but I would feel better knowing I just protected myself from using this anti-viral, antifungal, anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory panacea. Also when hiking and camping, bug bites are inevitable and just a little drop of tea tree oil can help get rid of the itching and cleanse the area at the same time.

Just remember this key rule with tea tree oil - a little goes a long way. It’s strong and you will tell by opening a bottle of pure tea tree oil how strong it is.

In review, these are the main points of why I keep tea tree oil in my purse or on hand at all times:

Uses for Tea Tree Oil

  1. Acne/facial blemishes - for any emergency flare ups or stubborn blemishes. I try to do a few applications in a day but everyone is different so go at a slow steady pace starting with one application of a few drops diluted.

  2. Bug bites - In the thick of the woods and summer, tea tree oil is your friend and will remove the itch and cleanse at the same time to avoid risk of infection.

  3. Cuts/injuries - I have never carried hydrogen peroxide while traveling, hiking or camping. A bottle of tea tree oil has given me confidence in its properties enough to cleanse any cut or injury from any bacteria or additional nasties of infecting it.

  4. Goo remover - I didn’t talk about this one above, but anytime something sticky is on my hands or on an item, diluted tea tree oil has been a great dissolver. For objects and hard surfaces, use at your own risk. I haven’t tested it out on enough surfaces to see if any stripping occurs so this is your warning. I have been able to remove sap and other sticky residues off my hands, very handy.

  5. Aromatherapy - I personally have not used the scent for this, but when I have shared my bottle, people have told me it smells nice at soothing. I would say it has an energizing scent that wakes you up, much like eucalyptus.

*Disclaimer: This article is not written by a medical professional and should not be taken or substituted as medical advisement. Please seek the advice of a medical professional for any health issue you are having.

1
$ 0.27
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ladyanneclare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ladyanneclare
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Beauty, Self-care

Comments