A Letter From A Stranger - Part 4

2 21
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
3 years ago

You should read part 3 before proceeding :)


I am already tired yet I have no choice but to work so, I can pay my rent and bills. I didn’t acquire enough sleep last night as someone request if I can babysit their child. I grab the opportunity as they promise they will pay me enough. Who am I to refuse? The money is already approaching me.

In addition to that, my work environment today is stressful and chaotic. I can see the annoyance of customers who are waiting too long just to sip their favorite coffee or eat their breakfast. My manager and co-workers never expected the sudden surge of customers. Based on the rumor, another eatery next to the street is been shut down because of an unknown reason. My manager is now stressing out and shouting as we don’t hear ourselves due to the constant noise of customers who are murmuring and saying their complaints and frustrations.  

 By now, I am multi-tasking just to make the work faster. I am originally assigned to the kitchen but right now, I am also serving the orders of customers. My co-worker gave me a piece of paper saying that I should serve a coffee and a pancake to customer 96. Even-though we need to move quickly, I ensure that this pancake is the most delicious pancake she will taste. I will make sure that the coffee is brewed carefully; taste exact but addicting.

 I am on my way to serving the breakfast combo. It took a little while to find the customer but when I found her, I started to show my sweetest smile as I started to walk carefully, making sure that her order will be served properly. With all of my heart, I greeted her good morning. She looked at the food I put on her table before looking at me. With no emotions, she stood up and intentionally poured the hot drink on my clothes.

"You’re stupid! I’ve waited for almost an hour and you will just give the food I didn’t order! So, disappointing. That’s what you get for not treating your customer right!”, After making a scene, she immediately left the eatery. I can’t even move a muscle because of what happened. I feel embarrassed as the whole attention of this establishment is now focus on me. The silence is also deafening. My workmate saved the remaining morale left in my body and drag me out of that situation. She also explained that it is supposed to be number 69, not 96. Yeah, the customer always right, I am stupid.

After 12 hours of wearing work, I managed to go home. I immediately push my body to the couch. I bought this second-hand couch for just a quarter of its price and I realized that this junk is comfier than my bed. I guess that happens when your body is too exhausted; everything’s okay as long as you can lie down.

As I feel sleepy and my body starts to lose consciousness, the thing that happened earlier starts to kick-in. I tried to ignore it by diverting my attention to other stuff but the voice inside my head won. I don’t know what happened but my tears are already escaping my eyes. These thoughts are eating me up.

Flashback

“Kailene! Hurry up and make me some coffee!”, I just finished ironing the clothes when my mother called me downstairs. I guess she’s heading to work. I will be alone again in this house.

“Yes, mommy coming up!”, I turned off the switch and immediately go downstairs. I will be scolded if I move slowly. My mother is a little bit short-tempered but I understand because her field of work is stressful.

I greeted her good morning but she didn’t respond. I head toward the kitchen to prepare her some coffee. I gently stir as I believe this will help to make it taste better. I walk carefully to avoid it from spilling. After serving the drink, I saw how her lips touched the edge of the mug, and sip the coffee. My smile turns to fear when my mother started to cough and spit the coffee she was drinking. She eventually looks at me with an enraged eye while holding the coffee I prepare. While holding my hair, she forced me to drink it and then poured it into my clothes.

“You’re stupid! It's just a simple task but you cannot do it properly? I wish you’re not my daughter! You are just a burden in my life!”, she immediately left the house. Together with the deafening silence, I was left in the house, crying at the corner.

End of flashback

I was in the middle of a mental breakdown when suddenly, someone rang the doorbell. I almost fell off my couch. I get up and looked at the mirror to have a better view of what I look like after having a breakdown. I almost didn’t identify myself after all the eyeliner drip down on my face. How messy I am.

I take a peep on the door to see if someone was outside but I saw nothing. I open it and a letter was left on the floor. I immediately remember my suicidal neighbor and quickly rip apart the envelope to check the letter he/she wrote.

To Kailene,

Hey, I don’t know you personally but thank you for sending that letter. I feel relieved after reading this.

-Nathan

I feel relieved right now knowing he is safe and didn’t continue hurting himself. I check the surroundings hoping he’s just hiding but, no one’s around, just a dark street lit by old lamps. I closed the door and noticed something weird. My facial expression changed; from miserable to looking blissful. Although his reply is not that long, I understand it. Maybe he’s not in the mood to have a chitchat. He’s tired and needs to have a good rest.  I just wish this letter arrived earlier and prevent me from making myself looking like 4 years old playing with some black paint.

I decided to reply. I grab my bag, picked a ballpen and a piece of paper. I started to write something.

To Nathan,

Hey, I am glad you’re okay now and I am able to somehow, ease your problem. I am always here to lend an ear.  I am having a pretty bad day because of some work-related stuff but, thank you. Your letter helped to cheer me up a little bit. If it's okay for you, we can take a coffee sometime. My treat haha.

-Kailene

I fold it in half and place it in an envelope. I positioned the letter inside my mailbox.

“I have a letter for you!”, I know he’s listening. 

“Shut up!”, Someone shouted from their window. I realized that it's already 10 pm. Oops, sorry.


Hello everyone. I hope you're doing fine. I feel optimistic about the year 2021 and someone tells me it is best to start your goal as early as the start of the new year. I am happy with the result already. To be honest this is my favorite part of the story, so far. I don't know but it gives some positive energy to me.

On the other hand, I am already greeting you with Happy New Year. May God bless our souls and give us some strength to face hurdles and challenges. And I hope all of you will successfully reach your goals in life.

Anyways, kindly follow me on noise.cash. Let me know so we can be mutual :) Till the next update, bye!

6
$ 1.80
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @mooontivated
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

welcome back and happy new year to you!!1 this one was rather short but i guess it captured your tiredness too? XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one Captain! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago