A Letter From A Stranger - Part 3

5 30
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
3 years ago

You should read part 2 before proceeding :)


"Knock! Knock! Knock!",

I am exhausted by our last night's activity. I took my pillows to cover it in my head. I tried my really best to ignore the knocks on my door.

"Knock! Knock! Knock!",

What is the problem with him? Can't he see that I just arrived home and slept 2 hours ago?

"Sir someone has brought you a handwritten letter.",

Who the hell will give a handwritten letter in the 21st century?

"From whom?", I shouted.

I can feel the roughness of my voice. Nothing to worry about. maybe it's just a result of the alcohol I consumed yesterday. And I think everyone is experiencing this after waking up in the morning.

"Uhm, there's no information written here except this letter is address to yours. It’s just a white envelope and a handwritten letter inside.", then what's the motive of the sender?

“Just let it slide under my door. I will check it later.”, he did what I’ve said. After that, I heard his footsteps leaving the front of my room.

I’m starting to close my eyes when my brain starts acting stupid. My head is telling me to check the letter. I try my best to calm my mind and soul but minutes passed, my curiosity won.

Due to my inquisitiveness, I decided to get up and pick the letter

I stared at it for a while. From whom did it come? I always give my calling card to every person I met. My friends also knew my social media accounts. If they want to write a letter, why he/she did not choose to print it. Printing shops are very accessible and public libraries across the town are offering it for free. Maybe he/she didn't know how to type a document on a computer? But how come? I don't know. Receiving a handwritten letter is a little bit weird nowadays.

I decided to open the white envelope and I saw pretty decent handwriting and…

To the one who thinks suicide is the answer,

Hey. I don't know what you're going through. But I just want you to know that I am here. Taking your life away is not the answer to your problems. It's okay to rest sometimes because no one in this world can continuously fight in life. But resting doesn't mean you need to quit. Take that as a way to regain your energy, to have the power to face the hurdles of life.

Life is not easy. You need to work hard and fight back against the hurdles of life. This world is not for the weak. You're weak? I will help you to toughen up. If the world will not adjust, I will.

-Kailene

I am having a hard time reading the letter. This is so cringy, full of drama and shits, wtf. Really? Is this for me? I am sure that the mailman just mistakenly delivered it to my address.

I decided to get up. The sun rays are already passing through the curtains of my window. I take a sneak peek of the traffic situation below. It’s too early but the cars are already building up. Oh, I forgot it's Monday. I hate Mondays.

I can still feel the effects of alcohol on my body. Plus, the shortage of sleep, I feel that I will pass out anytime. I started to lay myself again on my mattress. I don’t know why mattresses are comfier when you’re worn-out. I’m starting to enter the sleep state when I remember that I have a business appointment today.

I called my personal assistant to remind my dad that I will be rescheduling the appointment. I need to take a full rest today.

I can see from his reaction that he is hesitant to call my dad. I understand him. My dad is strict and short-tempered. Everyone is scared of him.

He dials it for me and after a second or two, someone answered the line. I get the phone and I spoke to my dad.

“Dad, I am rescheduling the appointment today. I am tired. Thank you.”

My dad tried to speak but I end the line.

I know he will try to call me again so, I turned off my smartphone. Everyone is scared of him except me.

I caught my personal assistant shaking his head and raising his one eyebrow.

“I don’t know if I will be amazed at what you just did earlier because, to be honest, we can’t do that.”, I look at him still on his reaction.

“Advantage of being the son of a demon.”, he just chuckled.

Don’t get me wrong. I do not enjoy doing that to my father. That’s just my way to convince him to go back with my mom. They separated a few months ago. My dad just told us that his feelings towards my mom vanished away. He also filed for a divorce and I need to act fast to save our family.

“So, what’s up with this letter?”, he swayed it right before my eyes. He sat beside me waiting for my answer.

“I don’t know. Maybe the mailman delivered it to a wrong address.”, he looks confused about what I just said.

“But our location is the recipient of the letter.”, I was a little taken aback by what I heard. Is this a prank? Is someone is just messing with me?

I ask my assistant to get a clean paper and a ballpen for me. He asks what will I do but I just ignored him.

To Kailene,

Hey, I don’t know you personally but thank you for sending that letter. I feel relieved after rea

-Nathan

"Hmmm, are you sure you want to give this letter to her? If she's just messing with you, I don't think that giving your attention will be the best option."

"We should help the needy. If she's craving for attention, I will give her what she needs.", I handed the letter to my assistant. He knows what to do with that.


Hey yo! It's been several months since I wrote something on this platform. Sobrang busy lang talaga sa school. Pag free time naman, kadalasan itinutulog ko nalang. Lagi akong pagod at unmotivated kaya tinatamad akong gumawa ng kahit ano. N

Anyways, I hope safe kayo sa nagdaang bagyo. Safe naman kami kahit nabasa ng tubig ulan yung computer ko. Pero kaya iyan hahaha. Dyan naman magagaling ang mga Pilipino.

The lead image is a photo by Christopher Jolly on Unsplash

4
$ 6.38
$ 6.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @Sparkle

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you continued it! Missed reading stuff from you and our small chats XD but hey, you need to study so rest is good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey sorry for this super duper late reply hahaha. My schedule is pretty hectic right now. I feel that I need to stop for now and you can expect to receive something from me maybe after 1 or 2 months. Currently, we're calling out for an academic break but my university seems to disregard it. Anyways, we're continuing to fight hahaha. Musta na kayo dito? May mga ganap ba? hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's understandable since you need to finish studying and i swear, those modules will be the end od you guys with hown much activities you guys have ;;-;; good luck!!! Sana either face to face na or at least break Parang mas madali mag face to face na lang ;;-;; Hmm... wala masyado nagbago? There's this ad bonus that's like the old point system but only a few people receive that

$ 0.00
3 years ago