The Bridge of Life

5 33
Avatar for khadijahmasorong
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Note: A halo-halo is shown in the photo since I don't have actual photos of the building.

In order to see a friend, my mother and I had to climb flights of stairs one day in the year 2020 in order to reach the rooftop of a building, which was on Building A's 50th or 51st floor. The security guards of the entire residential establishment who were on duty that day let my mother and me know that the only way to get to Building B, where the friend was located at that time, was to walk across a relatively thin improvised bridge formed out of leftover construction materials. The elevators were not working correctly on that particular day, and Building B had no direct entrance at that time.

We may have only climbed a few levels, and yet we already became weary from climbing upwards from the basement to the upper floors of Building A. We soon arrived at Building A's roof, or the 50th or 51st level, and from there we were about to cross the bridge. Since there were holes in the bridge, one could already see the entirety of the sprawling city if one were to peer down from the bridge.

When my mother smiled at me, she urged me not to worry and not to look down, for she would be by my side the whole time. She then crossed the bridge while still holding my hand to lead me to Building B. Imagining myself before God in the afterlife and being questioned about my actions on earth in regards to whether or not I was sincere in my desire to reach Paradise in a well-deserved fashion gave me the strength to cross the bridge and not look down. This exact thought process still gives me strength today, whether I am facing ordinary or extraordinary situations.

Soon, my mother and I arrived at the other building and the friend's house safely. Every time we discussed this topic, we laughed heartily countless times, and I'm grateful for these experiences for bringing my mother and me closer together. And for the rest of my life, I will always hold dear these memories.

Someone could gain so many valuable lessons and knowledge from this journey. Yet the lesson I wish people to remember is that because life is so brief, one shouldn't look back on a life that was spent in regret. Instead, they should focus on a life that was inspired by laughter, joy, hope, gratitude, compassion, and so much more. While crossing the bridge, these were the key lessons I learned.

There are a lot of other similar adventures that my mother and I have experienced together, and I am thankful for every single one of them. My mother has always been the most important person in my life.

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Sasha1
Avatar for khadijahmasorong
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments

We learn more about life only through such hard experiences. So interesting to hear about this story though scary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Sasha1,

Years ago, my mother and I had to schedule and book a boat trip for business purposes, but there was no railing on the boat to prevent us from falling over the edge. When the captain steered the boat toward the neighboring island, which was hours away across the sea, we were instructed to sit on chairs next to the engine of the vehicle. By reflecting on this experience, I am able to learn good lessons and gain the strength I need to face both ordinary and extraordinary situations now and in the future. 

All the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You seem to have terrific experiences in life I believe. Most of life lessons we get through experience only.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate the tip so much, which enabled me to transfer the tip or gift in less than 5 minutes to my Gcash e-wallet. I could then withdraw the funds in my Gcash at the nearest mom-and-pop shop, which is 15 minutes away from our house. Perhaps I'll treat myself using my savings to a cheap yet refreshing drink and hand over the rest to the vendors peddling their goods in our neighborhood. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy to know even this small value helps

$ 0.00
1 year ago