Unexpected Homecoming

3 32
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
10 months ago

June 3 is my grandpa's birthday (father side). My father and his siblings were so excited to come home and make a surprise birthday party. But on May 7th, a shocking incident happened in my grandparents' house.

It was a sunny morning in May 7th. My uncle was so early going around the neighborhood, greeting them cheerfully. He spent some time chatting with a close relative in a house next to ours.

After a few chats, he went home and went around the house looking for something to work on.

In the afternoon, he decided to paint my late sister's old room where my grandparents are sleeping. He went upstairs to install the curtain rods so the oldies could stay there temporarily.

As he was busy setting some things up, he asked his two daughters and one of our cousins to buy him some coffee. They were confused as his coffee jar is still full. He asked them to buy sets of coffee packets. The only ones left in the house is my grandparents and my cousin's son.

The drill was noisy, so the two oldies stayed inside their room. The child stayed on the living room, busy playing with his tablet. Not long enough, the drill stopped. After a short while, they heard something fall from upstairs. It was a loud thud.

My grandpa hurriedly ran upstairs to check on my uncle but only saw the sliding window, widely open.

Then my grandma shouted. My nephew shouted "daddy is here!". Their world shattered. My uncle fell from the 2nd floor window. Blood coming out of his head and his eyes closed that my grandpa thought he was dead on the spot. He went inside and took a bucket of water. Threw it into my uncle's face and he opened his eyes. That's when my grandpa realized his son is still alive. Neighbors hurriedly ran inside and called the ambulance. My grandma kept crying, my 9 year old nephew suddenly went silent, speechless of what he just saw.

Their youngest sibling came with the ambulance and took him to the hospital. He struggled fighting for his life. He was moaning in the agonizing pain of his wounds and probably bone and joint fractures. The worst, he could have had brain injuries.

All of his siblings went all the way from Manila just to see him. They argued several times on the way to the hospital. Doctors gave them options and the siblings were hesitant. The patient have suffered so much and it will be 4-6 hours of travel till they reach the hospital.

Time is running and the patient waited so long enough until they have decided to get him intubated. Which was too late. He did not survive the battle no matter how hard he fought for his life.

The incident left trauma to my grandparents and my nephew. They were speechless after what happened. His daughters were both disoriented, the neighbors couldn't believe what they had just witnessed. We all have never imagined something like this to happen to our family.

My father and I were busy buying materials for the transformation of my room floor when it happened. I got confused when I read my father's message in their group chat when he got home. So I decided to ask my cousin about it and that was the most tragic news I have ever heard in this family.

All my other plans were cancelled and we flew all the way from Mindanao to Luzon. It was a sudden but sad family reunion for us. My fathers younger sister who worked in Hong Kong also came home. They were finally complete but it's just so sad to see that the other one is on the casket.

My unexpected homecoming was full of tears as it is the first time we set foot on my sisters grave since the pandemic season. I didn't stay too long near her tomb because my tears were unstoppable. I went to the back of the car and wiped my tears as I don't want my parents to see me in that state.

I spent the whole week savoring moments with my relatives. And I was overwhelmed with mixed emotions because everywhere I go, people knew me, they knew my name. Some would even say, I was the cutest little girl in town when I was little. Sad that they seemed to feel a little upset seeing how literally big I am now. Lol!

Over all, the vacation was fine. I was happy to see my grandparents and my sister's children. I even wanted to stay a bit longer but I can't because I have plenty of work to do. I just pray that my sister will spread her wings to take my uncle's hands with her and heaven would widely open its gates for both good and wonderful persons that we will forever treasure in our hearts.

3
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
10 months ago

Comments

Hala oy :( ka tragic og sudden ba sa nahitabo sa imong uncle madam 💔 may he rest in peace. Ug kadali ba sa panahon atong pagkawala sa imong igsoon madam ba? 🥺

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Tinuod mrag dili jd mo sink in bah ..huna hunaon ra nga toa ra silang duha sa abroad

$ 0.00
10 months ago

It was so sad to hear that story.

$ 0.00
10 months ago