They're Listening

3 16
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

Have you ever been asked an awkward question from your child? Something that that they heard from their grandparents? Or from someone else?

How would you feel if your son asked "Momma why is my dad irresponsible? Why is he very lazy?"

My son is 7. Way back when he was 4, I remember him telling his father "Papa, why don't you get a job so we could buy a big house of our own?"

We are an average family. We cannot afford to pay for someone to look after the kids. So my husband had to sacrifice as I was the first one in position to get a job. He had always wanted to go out and find a job but our children are too young. They need to be taken care of by a real parent.

So, going back to my son's question. I never expected that because he had always admired his father. They were best buddies. Why did he suddenly felt confused about him?

I asked the kid where was he able to hear such degrading words. He said from his grandma (my mom).

We left him in the care of my parents as we live in the city where I was working. We come to see him during holidays and weekends. I can't afford to risk my child in a city which recently reported to have fresh cases of covid 19. It's either we live together and all get infected or keep him safe far from us.

I was shocked! I never expected these words from my very own mother as well. But maybe it's how they see our situation. I, being the provider and not my husband..

It was heartbreaking. Children at a very young age should see their parents as heroes and not like lazy cats. We as parents should be the model to our children.

Children wants to become like their parents.. That's what it should be.

What really hurts the most is that they hear it from their own grandparents.

I know it has not been good between my husband and my parents.. They are casual but I know they have hidden grudges inside.

But one thing you don't teach my child is to look down his own parent!

Children are listening to adults and they must not hear things like this. It affects their growth. It influences their attitude...

My husband heard it and he was badly hurt by his question.

4
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Children learn soon enough if dad is lazy and sleeps 24/7 or someone to respect. We happy your child asked it because now it's open for a discussion. The answer is simple: one there was a time with many jobs. Women stayed home and took care of the children and the man had to work (you can cite the Bible if you like). Now times have changed. Girls go to school too, they learn and work but there are not so many jobs left. We made robots and there are too many people. Your mom found a job faster than dad and that is why I work and your dad takes care of you. We think good parents raise their children themselves and do not let strangers take care of them.

If it comes to the Coronavirus... This virus exist for decades. There will always be someone catching it. It's the same with the flu. Many die from it. Will you keep your child with your parents forever because people get ill? If you are afraid of that you shouldn't visit your child at the weekends. The virus is airborne you can infect him and your parents. But we this virus is mainly dangerous for people who are overweight, have diabetics, heart problems, a donor organ, elderly people with a lack of vitamins/minerals. Children hardly get it or if not get very ill. Can it be this is what bothers your mother? Your husband works now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is our situation. We were locked down for months and we stayed together in our home, the four of us. My older son got too frustrated of being trapped in the four corners of our home.

The lockdown was then deactivated and we sent him to a safer place, a wider one where he can freely run and play safely. We also wanted to stay. Who would want to risk a life? If not for my job I would never go back to the city.

My husband drives as I don't know how to drive. As much as I want them all to stay in that safe place, I too, is afraid of taking bus rides.. It's not safe at all. So hubby and I and our little one who needs our care, stay for a week in our home... They never go out. I am the only one tjat goes out for work and buy essentials.

I sanitizer, disinfect before entering and never touch them, not until I clean up Myself.

We were allowed to travel within the province so we take the chance to visit my older son.. We follow our personal safety measures when we arrive so Nothing to. Worry about.

Besides, to make it clear, the positive cases were only those who have been directly quarantined from travel so they were not able to go places yet. Therefore its still safe to go out. Its just that I'm too afraid.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is what governments want you to be afraid. Overhere not much changed. The shops closed earlier at 3 pm, restaurants etc only take away. No face masks only social distance is asked. Schools closed and asked if posdmsible to work at home. We only have a bit more people who deceased as during the flu of 2018-2019. You know why? Because they refused elderly people in hospital.

Now borders are open again they suddenly want a special law... I think they abuse the virus to change the world, take rights away. Many experts warned because the lockdown will make more ill and death people as the virus.

I am sorry about your son. My children can go outside we have a large garden no neighbors. It's clear your husband is busy enough. I hope this will end soon and the world will not end in a mental sick nation.

I wish you all strength. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago