One Christmas Night

1 18
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

It's Christmas eve at Leina's home. Children are laughing and playing around. They seemed really happy and excited to open their Christmas presents.

Watching over the kids and seeing their smiles, Leina's life is complete. They are her happy pill. She has the best life one could ever ask. She gets everything she wants, all the riches one could ever wish for. Not the happiness she has been longing from someone. But with the kids, any pain she felt is all gone.

Earlier that night she finished preparing her kids' favorite Christmas eve menu. Her heart is full when she sees them enjoying their favorite foods prepared by her.

She sat on the couch taking time to rest while watching them play in front of the mini fireplace near the tall Christmas tree. Staring at the fire, Leina remembered something from the past.

I am Leina...

Every Christmas season I would go to church with Dan, my childhood friend and secret sweetheart. I call him that because we were too young and my parents were really strict. They don't like me hanging out with guys except for him because they knew he was my best friend.

Dan is our gardener's son. He was handsome but humble and gentleman. He was always my childhood hero for saving me always from homework to exams. He's so simple and silent but with great things in his mind. I loved him for always being present whenever I needed a hand. Whenever I want a shoulder to cry on.

We grew up together and fell in love. We stayed the same over the years and until we started to reach our dreams together. We were indeed a perfect couple. My family is way too different from Dan's. Dan is a farmer's son who is our gardener during weekends.

I am the daughter of the biggest business tycoon in this town. But status in life never affected this relationship. We're both happy with each other. We are happy with the simple little celebrations we had.

One of our best memories together is eating street food and the best delicacies served outside the church during Christmas season. We enjoy a simple quick date after every church visit.

Then one day, one great news came to me. It was December 21st when I came crying and begging you, Dan, to make an escape plan. I was arranged to marry someone else by my parents. But it is you who I wanted to be with for the rest of my life. I want us to get married as soon as possible so we can later on run away from my parents.

Dan would never want me to be with someone else either. We agreed with the plan. Everything was set. At Christmas eve, after attending the last mass, we'll meet at the back of the church to see the priest. He was our friend and campus chaplain back then. He knew our story and is willing to help us.

The day has arrived. I was excited and partly fulfilled that we can finally spend the whole Christmas eve together. I wore a simple white dress with a pretty large bow at the back. It looks amazing that I almost looked like a doll with this white bow in my hair. My white doll shoes added emphasis to my glamour.

The mass had started. I have been standing for almost 45 minutes outside the church. Dan is late and it's the first time. You said you'll be here before the mass starts so we could attend together.

The mass ended and I sat for another hour waiting for you. Its becoming late and the night's getting darker, colder. I waited and waited and you never came. I'm starting to worry with my tears attempting to fall down my almond eyes. I was again devastated and heartbroken. How could you ever do this to me? All the things you promised me, are those just lies? My dad came to church to fetch me. Mom's worried and I couldn't help myself from crying like a child in my father's arms.

...

My Dear Leina,

You still look good and charming. Still the very sweet and cheerful Leina I knew before. I can see you're happiness in front of your little angels. You seemed okay with your life which is way too different from what we picture out during our time together.

We longed for a simple life. You could have been living in a small hut right now. Your home has everything you need. You have all the money to buy the things you wanted.

I could never imagine me and you being together and all I see is you doing the laundry, cooking our meals and cleaning the house. In this place, you look like a princess watching over your kids, sippin' a cup of freshly brewed tea.

But I know a secret. A secret you've been hiding even from your beloved parents. Your rich husband whom they entrusted you with. He strangle and force you to make love with him at night. You're good at hiding your bruises around your body.

He gave you a good life, that's what people see. He was a generous man to the poor because he is a businessman politician. At home he is your boogeyman. You hide it from your children.

I just turn away when it happens. I couldn't do anything but scream without a voice.

That Christmas eve..

I saw you glimmering with your white dress. My face lit up with a wide smile. I had a handful of rice cakes which is your favorite. When I started to walk closer but something grabbed my face! Someone pulled me in what I felt like a car? No, it's a van, I think, because I hear not just two or three voices. They wrapped my face with a thick bag.

I was still holding our food when someone grabbed it from my hands. I hear evil laughs and it seemed like they were enjoying the food. I recognized some voices, two of them were your father's guards.

Finally they took off the sack from my head. I was right, your father's guards and only few I didn't recognize. One man shot me in the head without a word.

My eyes were all open. My body felt numb. One of them made sure I wasn't breathing. I saw his face before I closed my eyes. It was the man whom you married the next morning.

I'm sorry I wasn't able to be there on our supposed Christmas wedding. But here I am. Seeing you every day, my dear Leina. I always stayed with you from the night I disappeared. I know everything that's happening to you..

It's all because.. They buried my body under this house. Exactly where the fireplace is...

.....

The church bells ring. It's Christmas eve, and that warm feeling wrapped Leina. It's a unique one that she feels every year only after the bell rings.. then it would remind her of him.

....

Dan always do this on Christmas eve. After the church bell rings, he would celebrate his love for her by hugging her tight right in front of that fireplace. Every year she sits down on that couch, remembering him. She feels his presence with such warmth wrapping all over her. She knew it isn't just an ordinary feeling, she knew it was something else...

2
$ 0.40
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

A part of the story reminds me of another story I read, perhaps filmed as well. Some parts are a bit hard to follow (if you skip from characters) but this is a good story and I enjoyed reading it. Let's hope the husband won't make next Christmas. 💕🍀👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago