Baking & Beyond

12 51
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

Baking is a method of preparing food by heat either you use oven or hot ashes or stones.

It seems so easy to look at when watching someone bake something. But do you know how hard the process of producing baked goods?

High school days was the time I remember learning basic baking procedures in cake making and its main ingredients.

There are a lot of baked goods such as pizza, bread (the most common), cakes and pastries, even pasta and other savory foods and many other types of food.

When I started working I tried going back to my old skills like arts and crafts and baking. A friend encouraged me to bake again for her to earn extra. She would buy my cakes in a low price and she will resell it to her friends. Unexpectedly the cakes was a hit in the town.

This was my first batch of cakes during the start of Christmas season. These photo is uploaded in my fb account few years back.

Christmas season came and more and more orders are piling up on the queue. I was the only one baking at night and working at day time. That's when I realised baking isn't the easiest way to cook food. 😅

Our Christmas sale was successful and after that I paused for a few months and tried gaining back my energy and strength. Lol!

Ready for delivery on New Year's day. Took a screenshot from my social media account.

Then after some years I learned some tricks on decorating and making a more presentable cake which gained me some confidence.

But you know what, baking is never really easy. Especially the decorated ones. You'll need art skills and ideas to make it as presentable to satisfy customers. It needs a lot of effort. One cake consumes a lot of time.

The decoration for this cake toom me 2 days to prepare. It might look simple but details were actually complicated

Cakes, bread and cookies are my favorite baked goods so you'll find me busy during weekends on my kitchen doing a lot of baking.

Not only you will need art in baking but also application of science. Ingredients need to be measured to avoid discoloration or distortion of your cakes. Like when you make a Swiss meringue buttercream you'll need enough butter to regain the consistency of your frosting because too little amount will make it drippy and will not work at all.

In making the batter there are different techniques like putting super hot milk or water into a chocolate cake mixture to make a moist finished cake product. Or putting too much baking soda and baking powder will create a dome on top of your cake. It will also affect the taste.

There must also be enough distribution of heat to avoid over cooking or some parts might get undercooked. Overcooked cakes make it dry and creates cracks.

There's a lot of things you have to consider in baking. Baking is beyond the word itself. It needs focus and determination. And ofcourse passion. 😉

35
$ 0.65
$ 0.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Yen
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pastry is a science, you have to work with exact measurements so that the product is excellent in flavor. And together with the decoration it is almost like a work of architecture, the end result is a work of art that is worth a lot for the time and effort dedicated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cakes are works of art its a lot of work but the effort is worth it when you get stunning results

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are absolutely right, the work is impressive but the effort is worth it, especially when it is done with love ... I have an aunt who is not a professional pastry chef but she has liked to cook all her life, especially the pastry, she does all our children's birthday cakes and their designs are highly praised, also the taste is incredible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are right.....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It really is, when you see someone doing something, it seems straightforward. If you can do it yourself, you can understand how hard it is. please view my articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. If you watched someone baking it feels like it was so easy to do it but if you experienced it, its not easy at all haha. I always watched baking on youtube. Its not baking pala. I didnt used oven, I cooked some doughnut. It takes 3 times since I cooked the doughnut well. The first one, I dont know if thats a doughnut because its so hard like a buscuit haha. Same as second one. I didint measure it kasi. Its tancha tancha 😄 The second one is the no baked choco moist. On this one, I cooked it well because I follow all the measurement.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

See you can achieve it when you measure properly. Heheh. Pero minsan tancha tancha na lang din ako eh.. A lot of times I do experiments. Combining flavors. Some are perfect but most are weird.. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too haha, minsan nasasayang lang kasi nga ano ano ginagawa ko haha. Tapos ansaya kapag talagang naperfect mo hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yung mga palpak works ko naman kung okay pa yung lasa may magagawa pa ako dun.. Pero yung mapait o sobrang alat.. Wala wasted! Haha! 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago