My way to be a farmer of magical internet money #4

2 23
Avatar for k1ll1van1ll1
3 years ago

I was absolutely happy to see that the expected time to win a block (and thus whole 2XCH - abbreviation of the CHIA Coins) was getting closer and I didn't worry about anything. However, the original thought did not let me go. I wanted to use my old raspberries again and not spend more money on hardware. Didn't it all start with that? Fuck it all.

Soon I'll be incredibly rich and won't waste any more thoughts on the rotten old raspberries.

Now the time had come when I discovered chiadecentral.com. A kind of fan page, a blog by and with Chia farmers. There are some guides for plotting in general as well as suggestions for a plotting rig. The more time I spent there, the more I felt like spending more money. After all, I want to get rich. And we already learned something. If you want to get rich, you have to spend money. Makes sense, right?!

But common sense suddenly came back. Maybe now I should finally read the CHIA Github Wiki in detail. So far I had only skimmed everything roughly and hadn't given much thought to it. I found terrible things there.

SSDs only have a very limited lifespan, in write cycles. That’s not that good.

You should never use the hard drive on which your operating system is running. That is not good at all.

I neither want to lose my data due to a defective hard drive, nor do I want to spend money again to buy new hard drives. I was caught in a dilemma. What I want? Become rich! What do I have to do for that? Spend money! Shit, again.

Leaving all this chaos out of the way, I had another problem. On Chiadecentral, 6 plots were created simultaneously with a similar setup while I already thought I was a big player with my 2 simultaneous plots.

What am I doing wrong? RAM. To. Little. RAM.
In addition, of course, my SSD problem still exists. What am I doing now? The question should keep me busy all night.

In the meantime I had plotted about 2TB and the display has shrunk to 20 days. One thing was clear, I have to get rich, fast. It was also clear that with my setup so far, I am not one of the slowest, but certainly not one of the fastest either. But if you want to get rich, you have to be quick.

So I set a goal for myself. If I get the first 2XCH, I'll think about it again.

In the meantime, however, I got the glorious idea that I still have enough RAM to run 3 plots simultaneously without any problems. There was no more space on the SSDs and the HDD, but on the new external 12TB hard drive.
So from now on 3 simultaneous plots are running, whereby the 3rd will most likely take longer because no SSD is involved. I should find out.

PS: Fuck the spare part, I don't even know what I was looking for.

3
$ 0.24
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Avatar for k1ll1van1ll1
3 years ago

Comments

Btw, avoid using F** words here.. You might get ban because of that. Read the rules

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for comming by and your info! I checked the rules and I don't see anything beeing in conflict using the F word, since I am not insulting anyone with it. Though I agree this could have been solved better by me. To be honest, I was a bit lazy so I wrote this in my native language and just used google translator. Will think about you next time I start to curse. Have a good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago