Writing Diaries: The Beginning of a New Chapter.

0 21
Avatar for justanny
1 year ago

I've recently been diving into the world of fiction writing. I've been writing my whole life and have published a few items but never quite taken writing too seriously. A few months ago I had been introduced to NovelCat and Dreame. I started writing with the site for a while and I am excited to say that after a month of publishing my first book in NovelCat I have gotten a payment of around One hundred and Nine US dollars and a following of Seven hundred people on my book.

I know that if I continue doing this then I'll most likely grow my audience fast and be on my way to becoming a good writer.

Like I said I love writing but the exposure to novelcat and self-publishing has made me think what if I can do more, I can actually focus of perfecting my writing and actually become a writer.

My main genre is always Fantasy. I have nothing against other genres but you can’t love everything. There is something about world building and being swept up in a different reality of your won that gets me.

Every Genre has its specific guidelines. For example in the Mystery Genre the core plot should focus on an unraveling a situation whether it being finding a killer or something that's missing. When it comes to Thrillers they need to be action packed, make you stand on your feet and flipping the pages to find out what's next.

Horror is supposed to inflict a sense of insecurity and most importantly Fear. Stephen King does this extremely well. My favorite book of his is Rage. Funny enough the book is banned in most countries and it's hard to find a hard copy of it. Romance has one core theme, Enemies to lovers, the nerd and the popular kid. Divorced couples falling back in love all of that. But with fantasy it feels like you have room to play with every genre and create an exciting thing. The world building that goes into the Genre.

Your main character can be a shape shifting dragon or a mermaid. The can be a man in a small police box running around the galaxy with his human companion solving mysteries and saving humanity. The fact that I can read a book and feel like I've been taken away from earth excites me to no end. Right now I've began a reading challenge. They say the best way to learn how to write is to read a lot.

I have been reading but now I plan on actually taking my time. I like reading physical books. When I read through my phone I find it hard. I also tried Audiobooks but I simply cannot get past the first eight chapters before I feel like there is something lacking. Having a book in my hand and actually reading makes it easier for me to concentrate. I also like having them in my bookshelf.

I find myself rereading a few books whenever I am bored and discover new things in the plot each and every time it is absolutely exciting. Right now I've started it all off with The Witcher : The last Wish. I understand that it's a weird book to start of a challenge with but you should know that I have been reading for a long time so when it comes to the classics I've already read them, such as Harry Potter and the rest I've already read them.

I have done reading challenges in different genres before and I found it nice and eye-opening. I read a book recently called The Girl Who Lives Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh and let me tell you it was amazing. I've also done a TickTok Challenge a few months ago and I'll document it on here starting this week.

That's why I'm starting my very own project. I'll be documenting my thoughts and ideas whenever I can and see how I can grow and find myself as a writer. My main goal is to become good enough to publish my own book with a traditional publishing house and see how it does.

1
$ 1.93
$ 1.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for justanny
1 year ago

Comments