What is that one thing which you are always proud of?

5 25
Avatar for justanny
2 years ago

A lot of people have different things that they are proud of, it can be a trophy, a series of events, loved ones, even memorabilia. Sometimes it's hard to even know what is the one thing that you are proud of more so if you're an average person, You know what I mean, the one who has never ever won the spelling bee who has okay in class but not the top student who had a friends in school but not the whole school as friends, the one who isn't athletically inclined to be the next Usain Bolt. Some people have it easy, some people don't and that's just how life is but I do believe that everyone has something that they are proud of no matter how little it can be.

When I was a child I had this little kitten a really small black and white kitten I was walking from school one day with my father at the time I was in nursery school. And then I saw this little kitten, just screaming and screaming and I kept on looking at it I felt so bad for the little thing, it was a little bit dirty and it had crumbs on it's eyes. And my dad told me go to take it and bring it home with us. And so I went over and I took it. And we walked by the shop and bought it some milk, needless to say it didn't drink the milk. So my father decided to buy it some meat which we boiled and it drank the soup and chewed on the meat, after a while it climbed up on to my lap and slept.

I loved that cat until it's dying day. Still remember it. It's actually the password of all my passwords . Then when I was growing older I realized that. I was not physically able to do what most people could do.

I didn't have the stamina for it, and I was okay with that. I always kept by myself going to the library. The librarian was my best friend, and I would read, I would sit in a corner with a book in my hand and read and read and read and read all through primary all through high school, even now I read and I loved reading. It was a way to escape the reality of my life. Don't get me wrong. My life was not awful. Quite the contrary, it was a peaceful life full of happy family memories and some dark memories, some good travel stories it was normal. as normal as an african household could get.

Everybody has their traumas, but I won't say that I was physically traumatized or too mentally traumatized that I can't function in our society. I believe that every child in some way, has a traumatic incident in their life, at least once. Even if it's wetting the bed in the middle of a sleepover it still counts still counts.

Over the years, as I grew up and as I kept reading and as I kept on exploring literature. I realized that I can go within my mind and create a whole different world. I slowly became a Daydreamer thinking about the book that I had read earlier on in the past then creating a picture of it, of how I wanted it to be or how I wanted it to have gone. That picture that I made within my little young mind became this Amazing way of seeing the world.

When I pickup a book or novel to read I don't just see characters within a book as just words. I see them as human beings. They have emotions, they have dreams they have Ambitions they have a love story, they have a childhood there human in so ways that it makes the stories come alive and burst into new world made specifically within your mind where you are the all seeing deity looking over their lives, always listening and seeing all, always omnipotent.

Because every story has some truth to it. And with that in mind, it really helped me understand people. I could read a book. And I would connect the dots and say, oh wow, so this is why these types of people do these types of things.

And after that, I could open my Mind and sit back, and actually observe the world as if I am not the main character. When I say a main character, what I mean is everybody, yes everybody is the main character of their life? Your life is essentially a book about you. Were everything and every person who talks to you and everybody who looks at you or knows you is a supporting character. It All revolves around you. I know the common saying goes that nothing revolves around you and that only narcissists feel that the world revolves around them but I totally disagree.

We are empathetic. I do agree as humans we are bit selfish. We believe that if somebody doesn't like us then there's something wrong with us. Very rarely you find somebody who has the self-esteem to not take it to heart and could shake off anything.

I on the other hand found a way out of that. I do not consider myself the main character of my story, I consider myself the god of the story most of the time, to be honest. It's all about how we view the world for me. What I am most proud of is that I have cultivated my mind into becoming a dreamer and overseer of my mind, I can turn my desires into reality so long as it is within the limitations that God has given me.

I am so proud of that I love being a dreamer, I love seeing Paris in my head because that makes the dream worth fighting for. And surprisingly, I will be going there next year. I feel like the more you dream of something, the more you wanted. The more you wanted, the more it comes to you. So there you have it. You tell me.

Comment below what is that one thing which you are always proud of?

3
$ 1.83
$ 1.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
Avatar for justanny
2 years ago

Comments

Well me, I am proud to small things I am achieving day by day.... Even small details like, I already knew how to use canva, I knew now how to edit in PS, I knew how to cook and etc ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you feel that way it's a great mindset

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i think proud of nothing or maybe its hidden things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm proud of my life though I'm not perfect, I still find way out of every challenges

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good, it's so important to be proud of every element of your life as a human it makes life worth living for

$ 0.00
2 years ago