The Rose of Fairview: Chapter One

2 35
Avatar for justanny
2 years ago

In a mad world, only the mad are sane.

Nathanial Wood.

🌹🌹

"Even in death the bastard haunts me," he whispered as he read through the letter over as if trying to convince himself it wasn't real.

He felt a small tap on the back of his neck. " come down Nathaniel," David said. " he's gone, there's nothing he can do now, maybe he just wanted to apologize the only way he knew how. "

Apologize?  He doubted that. In all the years his known his father he'd never shown any human emotions, anger, yes. But that was about it. The man was mysterious and often aloof, sometimes Nathaniel wondered how life would have been if his mother didn’t die so early would the old duke have been different?

Or perhaps he had changed over the past few years while he was away... No, he shook his head violently as if trying to bash out the hope out of his deluded head. No, his father was a monster.

"you should go, " David said, now sited on the large white sofa, with a class of red wine dangling ever so elegantly from his hand. David had always been by his side, hiding behind his shaggy long bush of a hair, always the life of the party.

"how many times will I tell you to not... "

"Oh do be Quiet! I won't spill the drink."
Exasperated and in no mood to argue with his close friend he decided to let it go.

He places his father's last will and testimony on the marble table and took the wine bottle behind the bar and fell on the couch with his friend.
Silence consuming his London apartment.

He had left Willow fields as a young lad after his father decided to slice him open like a pumpkin on Halloween. The scar on his torso was a sore reminder of that day.

So why on earth would the mad old Duke leave his whole fortune and the estate to his weak and disgraceful child?

He took a large gulp of wine almost emptying the bottle, hoping that getting drunk will help him understand all of this more, to understand him more.

" will you go? " David broke the contorting silence into a thousand peace’s.
His father made damn well that he's option to opt out of this would be nonexistent since he stated in his will that all will be revealed.

In his defense Nathaniel knew deep down that his father held secrets, he’d even swear upon his life that his childhood home was full of skeletons of the past, all huddled in a corner waiting to be set free, just there collecting dust, and that of course made him curious, curious enough to face the demons of his past.

"I have no choice, I'll have to. "
🌹🌹


willow fields was unlike anywhere else, it's not like London, or Glasgow, or France, or Barcelona, or Mumbai, actually it isn't like anywhere he's ever been to.........

Hi!

I know this is not my usual articles I wanted to do some writing and there was an idea just stuck in my head and I wanted to try it!

I feel like I should continue this here, I'm Not sure yet. The Prologue above is one that I've just written so I wanted to know what you all thought about it?

Should I stick to it or should I let it be comment down bellow I'd love to hear your views on this.

Maybe I should Continue it here? thanks for reading!!

Hi!

I'm a writer who will be sharing lots (And I mean Lots of writing tips on here so if you liked this article please subscribe, I'll be writing a lot of these types of articles.

I also enjoy reading so if you have a story or an article please share the link on the comment section and I will absolutely read it. Until next time!

 

4
$ 3.27
$ 3.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for justanny
2 years ago

Comments

So far this is interesting. So I think it is just fair to ask for a continuation to this. Please do continue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago