Reading Slumps Aren't Coming if You have Reviews.

0 30
Avatar for justanny
1 year ago
Topics: Analysis, Poem, Book, Diary, Mystery, ...

There’s one think that majority of readers gate and would drive any book enthusiast to question if they really do like books or if they are a bit over books and that is a reading slum.

I have to be real, I have gone through a reading slump a few times, and the biggest one I had ever gone through is when I read The Selection which was a Young Adult dystopian fantasy that I never finished reading. It wasn’t bad, it was just not my taste. I still have a tattered copy of it somewhere in the house.

I think having a reading slump is something really difficult. This just means that you don’t feel any joy in reading a new book or even finishing the one you have, it comes through boredom really. Some books don’t give you that feeling of coming back to earth when you finish them or when you’re reading the, they just can’t take you away and throw you into it.

This of course depends on who you are, there are some readers who can go a long time because they hardly ever get reading slumps and when they do it would be like for a minute, hour or day.

There are others who, in order to like and over a book they need to have a clear goal. Basically they like spoiling the ending for themselves and they are fine with that because they like reading the details that lead to the end and not necessarily traveling to the end of the book together.

For me a writing slump happens when I can’t understand or don’t want to understand a book. I can stop reading either because I was bored or simply numb about a book. I can go a week or even a month without holding a book.

So I came up with the worst method to stop this from ever happening about four years ago. This might come as a shock to you but I do not, I repeat do not read a books blurb to find out if it’s good instead I just follow blindly on goodreads, I read the reviews and if I get a good vibe then I am like yes, I will read this right now.

It may not make any sense the way I say that I read reviews instead of a blurb but let me explain.

Majority of the time when you buy a book there’s some detail in the back sometimes it has a paragraph from the actual book and it captures you and you’ll be like oh my god this is the most amazing book ever but when you actually start reading it you’re like this is not what I was expecting

I wrote about ticktok and how I will never take a book recommendation seriously before seeing the good reads reviews first because most of them. Now, about reviews and why I believe in them.

Susie has read over five hundred books in her life and reads over fifty per year, she also knows a lot of them and opens and likes to review them when she is done. She has read a lot and knows if a book is good, bad or simply bleh because she can compare and contrast with a lot of references.

So Susie reads a book that she doesn’t like and reviews it as says what’s wrong with it. She later realizes that there were eight people who rated the book including her and five of them who she noticed from her profile are like her also hated the book and gave out almost the same review as her.

JustAnny who liked to randomly fangirl about books and go on and on about her views sees the book and reads Susie and the rest of the others views on the book. She thinks that Susie has read a lot of the books she read and since she said that then what will she choose.

Of course I won’t make myself suffer through a 100,000 word plus book because of a cute book cover I’ll say hey thanks Susie now I know and if I review a book that I love Susie will say hey JustAnny now I know I’ll read it.

It’s called sharing your views, you can’t give everything a chance and sometimes it’s better not reading it at all then being absolutely disappointed because of it.

3
$ 2.61
$ 2.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
Avatar for justanny
1 year ago
Topics: Analysis, Poem, Book, Diary, Mystery, ...

Comments