Indie Novels and The Power of Recommendations

0 38
Avatar for justanny
1 year ago

I have realized that I have written about Tiiktok and have ranted about their recommendations and though I still stand by my previous statements I feel like explaining that not all reviews and recommendations are bad ones.

For example I love YouTube and there are a lot of you tubers who breakdown books amazingly because they love to read and have read a lot of genres. In the beginning of my reading journey I used to stick to the most common ones not because they were good or anything but it was because I never knew anything else. Also if you are a reader you’d realize that just because a book says it’s a New York best seller does not mean it’s that good. Think about it can you count how many best sellers there are, it’s not a grand award really and you should also understand that sometimes the hype around it isn’t really worth it.

Then I discovered indie authors, these are just authors who are not that well known but have amazing stories non the less that are as well not that known too. Let me tell you I realized that sometimes you find a book so enchanting and magical yet you find out that no one knows about it, it’s absolutely crazy.

I also realized that sometimes you need to take the book at face value, I have a this thing whereby I don’t read the blurb of a book that I am either excited to read or has a cool book cover and I purposely do that. Not because it’s a cool thing to do, most of the time it is in every way a dumb thing to do but I find that I enjoy the book more often compared to finding out what’s it about. I’ve read so many blurbs that when I get to read a new book I instantly hate it because I compare it to others.

Sometimes I wish I did read the blurbs but it’s a constant unknown so whichever way the ball swings it’s a fifty-fifty chance that I might make like it or hate it in any case I like taking the chance.

When it comes to books there are some important things that I focus on, majorly being the journey and two being the story of it all, what can I get from it, Do I like the characters is it memorable.

I get that sometimes it’s important to consume junk stories and what I mean by that is stories that re bad on any other level but you like them, I’ll give an example.

I absolutely love reading fanfictions that are done correctly, it makes me feel like my favorite movie or series didn’t end that way.

When it comes to The Originals, the TV series I love reading Fanfiction about Caroline and Nicklaus living happily ever after. In my head I’ve placed the ending in a tight bubble where they are happy and Nicklaus had a good family, contrary to the ending where Elijah and Him die in the end.

That’s not the only fanfic I dive into. I go from the Winchester brothers to Avengers, harry potter, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Merlin the series and even Cursed. Like I said some fanfictions are a guilty pleasure that you can indulge in provided you can stomach it. What I cannot stomach is books about Abuse and other stuff but that’s just my preference. If you’re a masochist and like to have your heart shattered into a billion pieces before finding love then go right ahead, I’m sticking to sappy epic fantasies with dragons and other crazy things.

But all in all there is an endless flor of talent out there that is hidden away in the shape of indie books that are just incredible and most importantly memorable. .

1
$ 1.94
$ 1.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for justanny
1 year ago

Comments