Little by little that suddenly, Bitcoin becomes a payment currency

0 25
Avatar for julioborgues
1 year ago

If I was in Miami, I definitely would have attended the Bitcoin conference there. I'm not a maxi bitcoin or overly blockchain savvy, but it sure looks like these guys are having a fantastic vibe as they discuss the future of finance and Bitcoin.

I believe in the right to privacy.

 

Perfectly expressed by Senator Cynthia Lummis, who is a strong supporter of decentralized blockchain technology and innovation through Bitcoin among US politicians. Little did we know, however, that Jack Mallers of Strike announced yesterday in Miami that Bitcoin will be available via the Lightning Network in over 400,000 storefronts and on all Shopify sites in the US.

 

The two, Mallers and Lummis are said to have been in talks for a while about putting Bitcoin's Lightning Network for public use and here it is... The market has yet to react to this massive news.

 

Strike has partnered with NCR, one of the world's largest payment processors and ATM operators, making it possible for Strike to integrate the Lightning Network into retail payments at all types of locations and online stores across the US.

 

Where the whole world, sir?

 

    “Any online merchant using Shopify can accept payments without the 1949 boomer network, receive it instantly, in final cash, with no middleman, no 3% fee.”

 

    “Not since 1949 has there been a superior payment network that allows us to innovate, build on financial inclusion, and offer cheaper services and faster services. My grandfather used the same technology as me. That's not American, that's bullshit."

    jack mallers

 

The announcement has been received positively by the likes of Twitter's Jack Dorsey and others, but not all cryptocurrency fans are excited about spending Bitcoins on gum, cheeseburgers, or t-shirts.

 

    "I love everything that is being built in the field of payments for Bitcoin and I applaud the announcements.

    I also think that with the current tax code and the need to hold, very few people in the US are motivated to use their Bitcoin to buy shit."

 

    “If Bitcoin becomes the global reserve currency and I can use it without triggering a taxable sales event, then I will be a Bitcoin native and spend it on a daily basis.

    Until then, I won't buy a pair of pants and some Skittles with my coins."   

The wolf of all streets is clearly not keen on spending his sats on all sorts of items, in the current conditions in which the US accepts bitcoin as a payment currency, or rather, the way Mallers has managed to integrate it. Through the lightning network. .

 

I know, probably only a few would use it as such and to be honest I don't know if I would use mine as a spending currency either, but knowing there are apps that convert some or all of your salary into bitcoin. I bet some enthusiasts would love to do just that and spend sats instead of dollars for their purchases.

 

And you, would you use BTC as a form of payment?

 

Thanks for your attention

 

1
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of julioborgues
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for julioborgues
1 year ago

Comments