When Failure Becomes Intractable

1 9
Avatar for jstjylrd_
2 years ago

If you have ever read my second article entitled 'Get to Know Him: He Who Used to be a Child, you'll probably know that from kindergarten to my present grade (11), I have always been a class achiever. I can even remember how being on top became so big deal to me. You may be wondering now why on Earth; simply because I consider it as a reward for myself and to my parents. Not just that. I will never miss every grade level without representing my alma matter in different competitions like declamation, math, science and history quiz bee, readers' theater, science fair and journalism. Sometimes I win and sometimes, I lose. Failure was no new to me back then.

After I graduated in the elementary, I enrolled myself in a popular, public school in our municipality under STEM or Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics strand. At first, there was no question about my grades because,it was really high. However, there was this entrance exam that every student who choose STEM strand, must take. With chills and less confidence, I entered the room, sat on the chair and answered the exams. Minutes passed, everyone stood up and passed their test papers, that included IQ tests. Meanwhile, with hope and prayers, I stood up and passed mine as well.

Days passed, the schedule for the list of passers was to be announced. We fell in line, and waited until our names will be called. Time passed and at last, the girl in uniform mentioned my name. I came to her, smiling while holding all my documents. I was so excited to hear for my desired result, but, when she was searching for my name in the official list of STEM students, my name was nowhere to be seen.

I had no choice, but to choose another section and back out from the said strand. The only option was, a general curriculum section. With a heavy heart and teary eye, I backed off. I can't exactly describe what I felt that time. Mixed emotions were circulating all throughout my system. When my tears were too heavy to stop it from falling, I couldn't help but to cry on a bench. It did not matter about how many people would see me cry.

I did not go home immediately. I was afraid to tell it to my parents; afraid that I would make them disappointed. When I went home around 6 PM, I saw my mother smiling at me from afar even if it was dim. And yes. She knew it already and I don't know how. Although she did not comfort me literally, but the way she smiled and talked me, was like telling that 'it was okay'. One thing that also made me so affected was that, I did not expect that the news would spread like a wildfire in our village. A lot of people were talking about me. Others belittled and made fun about it. But,what shattered my heart the most was knowing that some of my friends mocked at me as well.

There I realized that people, in spite all the things you have done, people will still mock at you if you've failed, or did a mistake. Fortunately, one teacher in that same school, messaged me on Facebook upon seeing all my records and knowing what happened. She mentioned that my intellectual capability deserves to be in the STEM strand. She then transferred me to my chosen strand, and there, I promised myself not to fail her. She became part of all my achievements like reaching a regional science and technology fair, and placing 4th among 50 schools.

Now, I'm on my path to taking an engineering course. I want that, proving myself will not just end up being a consistent top student, but, until I'll become an engineer. I learned that failure becomes hard to deal with, only when people you expected the least to make fun of you, are the ones who would actual mock you at your lowest. I may have failed, but I stood up with flying colors. How about you? What will you do , when failure becomes intractable?

Lead Image Source:

https://ied.eu/project-updates/how-to-deal-with-failure-in-business/

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @lonestranger
Avatar for jstjylrd_
2 years ago

Comments

unsaon paghilak? HAHAHAAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago