On the Conclusion of S. Y. 2021-2022: The Author’s Phenomenology

0 18
Avatar for jstjylrd_
1 year ago

________________________

The implementation of hybrid learning in the verge of pandemic was no easy. Being a student who once underwent such type of modality, I must say that it was indeed a challenging task to both teachers and learner, yet, it was victoriously concluded by us students who turned out to be a completer, or, a graduate. Others have even done it with flying colors. Now, as I look back to those days, these are the three (3) things that I have realized along the roller-coaster ride of school year 2021-2022.

1.) Studying seemed difficult at the start.

Source: https://www.123rf.com/photo_163680093_difficulty-learning-from-a-teenager-difficulties-in-study-the-tired-child-doesn-t-want-to-study-educ.html

It is given that we are all affected by the rampant cases of COVID-19 pandemic. No one held a great exception in having distress emotionally and mentally. In fact, there is major increase in the number of people who report symptoms of stress, anxiety, depression and insomnia during the pandemic, compared before without the virus ( Mayo Clinic Staff, 2022). Similarly, I felt those symptoms that made me lose my urge to study through blended learning. I became anxious and had no focus on the topics I needed to understand. Needless to say, I did study just for the sake of passing. The published article from (Stanford University, 2021) pointed out that kids are more stressed than they were before the pandemic, they have more work, they are less engaged in school, and their relationships with teachers and [other] kids are strained. Perhaps, this one could explain it.

2.) Studying amidst pandemic is better when you have peers, but, the truth is, it's only yourself who you have at the end of the day.

Source: https://www.uvpediatrics.com/topics/help-kids-make-friends/

According to (Tran, L.2020), studying with friends can reinforce your learning habits and understanding, thus, I highly suggest that you must surround yourself with positive friends. Unfortunately, not all do have friends and I'm one of them. Before, I felt tired forcing myself to study even if the truth is, I am really sick of it. Understanding the wonders of Science and the complexity of Calculus all by myself, honestly, was not my thing. I got low scores on quizzes, summative, and exams. One thing I was able to discern was that, there was no one who got my back that time. Those classmates who used to be my friends, had an another circle of friends. No one cheered me up. No one helped me to atleast explain simple details to me. No one was there when I needed help. In contrary to that, I used to cheer them up, and even helped in explaining some things to them. Weeks have passed, everything sunk in: I only have myself, thus, I must strive harder to pick myself up when I am at my lowest.

3.) Hard-work and perseverance are the key to success.

Source: https://quotefancy.com/quote/1206594/Newt-Gingrich-Perseverance-is-the-hard-work-you-do-after-you-get-tired-of-doing-the-hard

No matter how rough the situation is and would be, the only to way to make it better is to exert hard-work and perseverance especially in finding solutions. Studying amidst pandemic requires hard-work and perseverance. Without these two (2) things, I might not be able to pursue it: not even with flying colors. Fortunately, I managed to cope up with stress and remained focus to my goal. Newt Gingrich, American politician, historian, and author, had this quote which says, “Perseverance is the hard work you do after you get tired of doing the hard work you already did.”

Hybrid learning, blended learning, modular modality, online learning , traditional learning or how you call it, one thing will never change : education is a great challenge that is worth-doing. All modes of learning have certain obstacles by which all would also require hard-work and perseverance. I am forever grateful that I was able to experience such phenomenology and learn plenty of realizations. These realizations can be a pillar as I enter the next school year, and transform it into my advantage to outsmart the challenges on the next chapter of my life.

________________________

References:

1.) Mayo Clinic Staff. (2022). COVID-19 and your Mental Health. Mayo Clinic. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/coronavirus/in-depth//art-20482731

2.) Stanford University. ( 2021, March 21). Student stress during the pandemic. News and Media. https://ed.stanford.edu/news/student-stress-during-pandemic

3.) Tran, L. (2020, November 3). 8 Benefits of Studying with Friends. Australian National Institute of Management and Commerce. www.imc.edu.au

3
$ 0.35
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Sydney2
Avatar for jstjylrd_
1 year ago

Comments