My Crypto Earnings (April)

4 49
Avatar for johnwege
2 years ago

It's hard to believe, but April has already come and gone, which means that it is once again my favorite time of the month.  This is the time that I calculate my monthly crypto earnings.  This is an ongoing monthly series of mine that chronicles my journey towards hopefully reaching financial freedom.  I don't write these articles to boast or show up, but I do them as a way to help me track my own progress and keep myself motivated.  I then share them with the hope that it will help other's become motivated and hopefully begin their own journey towards financial freedom. After all, if I can do it, then anyone can.  The main areas that I focused on during the month to earn crypto income was through blogging, lending and staking. The crypto market continues to evolve and we are in a weird situation in the market.  It keeps looking like bitcoin does want to recover, but each time it tries to march towards a price recovery, it is always met with some geopolitical event or news story that brings prices down.  This has had a large effect on the earnings I've made from lending, which reminds my largest money maker.  But, an interesting note is that my blogging numbers are also down pretty far.  I'm learning quickly that people are less excited to read about crypto while prices are dropping, and therefore tips also drop.  Also the dollar value of those tips drop during that same time frame as well. 

The bitcoin lending environment also continues to always evolve.  Especially in the USA.  It seems that rates are constantly dropping, and Americans are being locked out of lending from many services unless they were already grandfathered in.  I'm beginning to think carefully about if the risk of lending is worth the lower reward, but for the time being I still am continuing to lend out a large amount of crypto.  Also, while this won't affect this month's earnings at all. I did want to mention that I was able to get a side-job in the crypto industry and starting in May I will probably begin to include those numbers on my monthly earnings.  It should really help to jumpstart my earnings. Currency I typically keep a strict blogging schedule of Monday/Wednesday/Friday, but with the new job I may not being able to keep that up.  I may bring it down to twice a week.

So without further delay, let's go through how I did during the month of April. 

Blogging

Publish0x

Publish0x is where I got my start blogging about cryptocurrency and I will always love it for that.  Also, throughout the years, it has always been my most consistent earner.  When each month comes to an end, I'm almost always in the $30-40 range, and this month is more of the same.  

I'm quickly approaching my next goal of reaching 6,000 followers, and hope to achieve that before the summer begins.  Out of all the blogging services that I use, Publish0x is the easiest to understand how to be successful and grow a following in my opinion. All you need to do is to write consistently, offer original articles that stand out from others, write with quality, and then just keep doing it for an extended period of time.

Publish0x Total = $31.81

 

Read.cash

Read.cash is my other stone pillar of consistency, and I have grown to love it because of that.  As I always mention,  I'm a big fan of being able to withdraw my rewards anytime that I wish.  

Read.cash Total = $39.24

 

Hive / LeoFinance

Unfortunately my earnings at Hive and LeoFinance have fallen off a cliff.  While still technically it was my biggest earner for the month, it is still far below the days when I was earning $300+ on the service.  Perhaps this can be attributed to the market feeling bearish, or perhaps the fact that a large amount of my articles being bitcoin focused just don't resonate on the service.  But, I'm still excited to try to turn things around, and hopefully get back to the golden days.

Hive = $40.01      LeoFinance = $2.91

Combined Total = $42.92

 

SubStack   $0.00

As always, I have no earnings from substack and don't even offer a paid tier.  Someday in the future I will decide what to do with substack, but for now it is the best place to follow me if you never want to miss one of my articles.  I am happy to have recently reached a subscriber milestone here.

 

Freelance $0.00

A new monthly category that I will be adding from here on out, is freelancing.  I recently got a part-time freelancing job in the crypto industry and will begin to include earnings here beginning next month.  I anticipate that this will become my biggest earner.

 

Blogging Total Earnings = $113.97

 

Lending and Staking

FTX

FTX is quickly becoming the last great place to earn an interest on your crypto if you are American.  They pay you an interest of 8% for your first $10k worth of crypto, and then 5% for anything after that with no limits.  Not only that, but withdrawals are quick and free if you are using non-ethereum chains.  I have begun to withdraw bitcoin from Celsius, Ledn and also Nexo, and have been depositing into FTX.

Bitcoin = 0.012514 BTC ($500.56)

Ethereum = 0.011763 ETH ($34.70)

 

Nexo

Bitcoin = 0.0001463 BTC ($5.85)

As mentioned every month, my main goal with Nexo isn't to being earning interest on my bitcoin there.  Instead, it is just extra insurance and collateral for my loan in-case the market with dip drastically.  Being able to earn any interest on it is just bonus on top of that.

 

Kraken

Ethereum = 0.010277 ETH ($30.31)

As always, I stake ETH 2.0 on Kraken and enjoy the weekly reward payments.  The staked ETH is locked into the protocol, and cannot be withdrawn until after the 2 ethereum chains merge into one. 

 

Anchor UST 

UST - $52.15

Perhaps not many of you know this about me, but I currently live in Japan.  If you keep up with macro news, you may be aware that the Japanese Yen has been crashing in value compared to the US dollar recently.  And so I have been to use stable coins, to keep my cash stable.  Along with that, I'm taking advantage of the great 19.45% interest rate that you can currently get by lending out UST on Anchor.  That rate won't always be there, but I'm certainly happy to take advantage of it while it lasts.  I will continue to add more and more to this area in the future. 

 

Lending and Staking Total Earnings = $623.57

 

APRIL TOTAL CRYPTO EARNINGS = $737.54

 

As you can see, while I am very happy with the results during the month of April.  I am still quite far below the goal I set at the beginning of the year of earning $4,000 per month.  Numbers will improve next month after include freelance earnings.  An important thing to remember is that these earnings are using dollars as its unit of account.  But when using bitcoin and ethereum as units of account, my earnings have never been higher.  Once the market recovers, my earnings will look much better as well. I'm excited to keep striving towards my goals and can't wait to see what opportunities next month will bring.

How about you? How did you earn crypto during the month of April?

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER!

FOLLOW MY SUBSTACK!

As always, thank you for reading!

Sponsors of johnwege
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 4.86
$ 4.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @fiolyn_rea
$ 0.02 from @CrazyWrites
+ 1
Sponsors of johnwege
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for johnwege
2 years ago

Comments

Johnwege this earning is so cool, all are freelance? I hope we also have FTX staking here in PH but I need to have 10K$ to do so haha, I saw you earn 500$ interest there. I saved this article that inspired us. How many months are you in those platforms already?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I have also gone down a bit this month, the staking rates on Celsius also dropped quite a bit and I am not even in the US!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're absolutely right, they dropped them for everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good earning report, @johnwege . I have no idea what to do with the substack. They offer a different way which I really don't understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago