How to Become Successful Blogging About Crypto

3 43
Avatar for johnwege
2 years ago

Many of us who are on this website daydream about ways that we can find financial freedom.  For those of us who have gone down the rabbit hole, we believe that bitcoin, ethereum and cryptocurrency is potentially our best chance to make that happen.  We have all heard the analysts predicting that crypto will be the cause of the largest transfer of wealth in recent human history.  That thought alone is enough to put both feeling of excitement and panic into my mind.  Excitement that we could actually participant in that great wealth transfer, forever changing our lives and potentially our family history as well.  But also panic.  Panic that there isn't much time to accumulate left. That our time is running out and we cannot miss this chance.

That is the thought that leads many of us down the path of searching for any way or method to accumulate as much cryptocurrency as possible.  One method that can help make that happen is by blogging about cryptocurrency.  Not only can you earn crypto by writing, but the knowledge that you pick up along the way may be even more valuable.  

The problem is that a lot of people don't know how to begin, or what they should be striving for, or trying to achieve.  And that is exactly what I will be writing about today.  While I still consider myself to be "small beans" in the crypto blogging environment; the truth is that I have begun to see pretty good growth.  But more importantly, I have begun to see what works, and what doesn't.  I often receive comments or questions from readers asking how they can get started in their blogging journey, or how they can boost their performance.  And that is exactly what I will be talking about today.  I want to stress the fact that anyone can become successful if they truly put their mind to it, but it will take a lot of patience and time.  If I can do it, anyone can do it.

Keep in mind, this article won't tell you exactly what you need to do step-by-step, but it will give you a general foundation of things that you need to be considering.  Giving you the tools to get started, or potentially fix a few things that may boost your performance.

So without further delay, let's dig into this.

1) Be Yourself - Find Your Niche and Voice

When you're just getting started, it can be an intimidating thing.  A lot of us who are just getting started, want nothing more than to be successful.  Therefore, we turn our attention to the most popular content creators on the platform.  When we do that, we will often try to copy or imitate their style or topics.  That is never a good idea in my opinion.  While it may seem like the easy path, it actually will make your path more difficult.  Often times, those creators who have become successful have already found their own style, voice or niche.  But if you always copy others, you will never be able to find your own.  Also, people may think about using topics that they think will earn them the most money.  In my opinion, the best writing style to be yourself and write only about what you are most interested in.  This will make writing each article 100x easier and also much more fun as well.  While it may make the initial follower growth slower; that follower growth will have been 100% genuine.  And that is something that I always strive to be, genuine.  You will not see me using any referral links in my articles, or shill anything to my readers.  Nobody likes being a sponge that authors are trying to squeeze money out of them by using referral links.  Just take a look at many of the articles posted here.  A large portion of them have referral link footnotes that are actually longer than then article itself.  I may be guilty of being overly bullish on bitcoin and crypto in general, but I wear that badge proudly and openly admit that fact.

As I said before, if you write about what you are interested in.  It will become much easier to find topics to write about and will take less time as well.  Because it is your interest, you will most likely already know all of the information, or know where to get the information if you're lacking it.

 

2) Consistency and Patience

Writing consistently is probably the most important factor contributing towards being successful.  Not only will your follower count grow over time, but the more you write, your skills will begin to improve as well.  Which should help benefit your follower count and also earnings as well. The most difficult time will be when you're just getting started.  If you come into it with the correct expectations, that can make all of the difference.  Accept the fact that when you're just getting started, that hardly no one may read your articles.  You may see extremely low subscriber growth and your earnings could be tiny.  Those things can become quite disheartening if you let them be.  I remember just getting started with my blogging and spending hours on my article.  I was extremely excited to post and thought it would do great numbers.  How could it not?  I had put a ton of work into it.  But, the article only had a handful of views, and made nothing in earnings.  That is the moment that many people will quit.  I look back to the writers who had the highest follower counts when I first began on Publish0x.  A lot of them has follower counts that I thought I would never reach,  Turns out many of these people stopped writing or became very inconsistent and their growth stalled.  Find a schedule that works for you and keep with it.  For me, I keep a strict schedule of posting on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. That is just works best for my schedule, and I recommend you find what works best for yours as well.

3) Avoid Over-Saturation

While it is very important to be a very consistent writer, it is just as important to not over-saturate the market.  There is a famous philosophy that writers should be writing everyday.  I agree with that if you are a book author, newsletter writer or journalist that is paid by a salary or flat-fee per article.  But if your being paid based on the performance of your article, than I think it's very important to not over-saturate the website.  Let's look at a website like Publish0x, where readers have a set amount of tips that they can give out each days.  In the beginning I was striving to write articles daily, and I was disappointing that it seemed my articles weren't performing as well as I hoped they would.  It seemed that each article wasn't getting the time to breath, or have its own time to shine before getting replaced with my next article. And the performance dropped because that. I have seen other authors who write multiple articles a day, and their performance seems to drop even further.  Remember that there are only so many tips to go around and only so many featured placements on the website.  In fact, for my articles that do perform well.  They see their best performance the next day after I post them.  If I was posting daily, or multiple times a day, they would have already been buried by my other articles.

4) Quality

I would hope that this would be a no-brainer, but it needs to be said.  Along with consistency, writing with quality is the most important skill that you need to have.  You will improve over time.  This is my approach to writing.  I only write when I have something meaningful to say.  I have many ideas of topics that pop into my head throughout the week and keep a list of them, to write about in the future.  I never want to come across to people that I'm only writing articles to earn money.  But, I strive to give the feeling that what I'm sharing is something that I needed to get off my chest and share with my readers.  Because that is the truth of it.  My articles always have substance to them with a lot of thought put into them.  You will never see me write an article that is only one or two paragraphs.  So I recommend you to do the same.  Find topics that you're interested in.  Make sure to have the knowledge or research to find the knowledge, and make a compelling structure that is interesting for the readers to read. 

I take my reputation and quality of my work very seriously. After all, your reputation is one of your most valuable assets as a writer, and something that takes a long time to build up.  Keep this in mind.  Because of my writing on these services, my content has been discovered by several crypto companies.  They have hired me to freelance in the past, and recently I have also gotten a job in the crypto industry because of this. Always remember that anyone could see or discover your work, and it's important to always put your best work out there.

5) Evergreen Topics

Next, I recommend you to write about topics that won't fade into memory within a few hours.  Instead find topics that are evergreen and never go out of style.  You won't see me talking about the new coin being added on an exchange, or anything like that.  I tend to talk about things that last much longer, or the bigger picture in general.  Things such as making a passive income, bitcoin and the macro environment.  Also things to be on the lookout for.  The future of protocols like bitcoin, ethereum and so on.  Perhaps this is why my articles see decent performance days after my article has been posted onto the website.  My hope is that what I write today, will still be relevant a week from now, perhaps a month from now and maybe even longer.  The cryptocurrency market moves at a lightning-fast pace.  If you are focusing on writing news stories on these tipping sites, your story will most likely get forgotten or over-looked.  Especially when taking into account, there are probably at least 10 other others who have already written about that topic or news story already.  Which is why I prefer to write original articles.

6) Branding

This is an easy one, but your branding should be consistent across all platforms that you use.  In the crypto blogging market, it is difficult to make great earnings by posting on only one platform.  And so, most content creators will publish their work on many services.  I have seen them make the mistake of having different usernames on each service, which makes discoverability and also building a brand much more difficult.  Instead, use the same name across all platforms and begin building your brand.

7) Put Thought Into Your Titles, Thumbnail Pictures and Keywords

You could write the greatest article the world has ever seen, but if it has a horrible title or thumbnail, potentially no-one will read it.  Put a lot of though into the titles of your articles.  They need to be attention grabbing, but also dealing with your article.  If you use clickbait that doesn't pertain to your article, they will only click on your articles that one time.  Quality is important. But if you are able to find an attention grabbing title and have it pertain to your high-quality article with a great thumbnail picture that stands out. That is when you have found the formula that will help make your articles stand out.  

And there you have it.  These are the basic things that you need to keep in mind if you want to be successful blogging about crypto.  Remember it won't happen overnight, but if you have patience you can achieve your goals.  This could be the method that helps you to accumulate more bitcoin and ethereum that could potentially change your life.  It could also change it in ways that you never could have expected as well.  As I mentioned above, I got into blogging about crypto because I didn't have anyone to share my crypto ideas with, and also I wanted to accumulate more as well.  But this journey has led me to a point where I actually have landed a job in the crypto market because of my writing on these blogs.  If I can do it, you can too.  

How about you? Are there any additional tips or advice that you would give to people wanting to be successful blogging about bitcoin, ethereum and crypto in general?

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER!

FOLLOW MY SUBSTACK

As always, thank you for reading!

Sponsors of johnwege
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 1.91
$ 1.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Trifecta
$ 0.01 from @Talecharm
Sponsors of johnwege
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for johnwege
2 years ago

Comments

Hello, my friend.

Writing is an activity you have to enjoy and not focus on the profits you will get.

Thanks for sharing your experience as a blogger.

Consistency and quality in posting interesting topics for the reader that adds value.

Regards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

fancy finding you here, must be the lure of free BCH lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You caught me lol. Guilty as charged :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago