Only child: Advantages and Disadvantages

0 33
Avatar for jhuls
Written by
3 years ago

I came from a big family, I have nine siblings and I am the sixth of siblings. Having siblings has pros and cons. I'm happy but sometimes sad because our family is just poor. I'm happy because you do not feel bored and sad in the way you have many competitors in everything. That's why I used to wish I was the only child in my family. Maybe it’s not a good thing to say, but that’s how I feel.

My husband and I have been together for four years and we have one child. I dreamed of having only two to three children because life was difficult especially since we experienced the hardships of life with so many siblings. There is still time and time for us to give our son a brother but there are still things that interfere with it like I want to have enough money so that my children do not experience what we experienced during the hardships.

Advantages and Disadvantages of Being the Only Child

Advantages

  • They get the undivided love and attention of their parents.

  •  They have no competition on their expenses, which means that your parents have only you to spend the money on, so you will not have to share it among other siblings.

  • You get more toys, more money to spend, and more inheritance than normal.

  • Your parents can teach you how to be independent so that you can strengthen your confidence and feel less pressure.

  • Parents give more money, time, and attention to the child's schooling. Parents will find it easier to save for their child's college education.

  • Become more comfortable talking to adults.

  • You felt that you are not obligated to live up to the standards of the older siblings.

  • If your parents haven't spoiled you by tending to your every necessity may grow up to be more independent and take care of yourself better.

Disadvantages

  • Parents lavish their love, attention, and resources on one child that results in the child become spoiled and behaves like a "little emperor."

  • The child is put under pressure that causes anxiety and low self-esteem.

  • Parents may turn out to be too attached to child success and try to stay thru them instead of giving them space.

  • When your parents get older, being an only child can depart you to shoulder the responsibility of taking care of your parents on your own, which would possibly be overwhelming.

  • They may lack self-confidence.

  • Lack of help from older siblings may put too much pressure on the parents and cause conflicts.

  • Feeling of loneliness because of not having a sibling to play with regularly, or with who they can share their thoughts and memories, can be difficult.

  • The child gets used to having everything done, managed, and taken care of by their parents.

Sometimes, I ask myself If my child is happy being an only child. Because there are times when my husband and I experience receiving words from other people just because we have an only child. I admit, the behavior of the only child is very different. She is always looking for someone to play with and talk to whenever she is bored. I feel sorry for her so that she is not always sad I give him time to roam and play with other children.

Next year, we have plans to have a baby so that our child can have a sibling. People just lead us but we know in ourselves that we still want to have more children, we are not in a hurry because we are still young. It's also good to have siblings because it makes you more selfless but it depends on your family atmosphere and the values ​​you are raised with. Generally, it's good to have siblings because the more siblings, the more learnings you may earn.

1
$ 0.50
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rosienne
Avatar for jhuls
Written by
3 years ago

Comments