My Father's lesson

0 18
Avatar for jhuls
Written by
2 years ago

My father taught me a valuable lesson about priesthood authority and power.

I was raised in a family with a loving mother and a kind father. My father was not a member of our Church at the time, but he still went to church with us. He was the softball coach for our ward and assisted with Scouting activities.

I used to ask my father when he was going to be baptized several times a week when I was a kid. "David, I'll join the Church when I know it's the appropriate thing to do," my father always said.

On a Sunday, I inquired as to when my father would be baptized. He simply grinned and inquired. “David, your faith teaches that divine beings took the priesthood from the earth in ancient times and restored it. Why are so many of the men in your church who perform their priesthood duties no different than the men in my church, if the restored priesthood of God truly exists in your church?

My mind went completely blank. I was unable to respond to my father.

I understand that priests are expected to act differently than other men. Priests must not only be given priesthood authority, but they must also be faithful and worthy to use God's power.

I resolved to never set a terrible example for my father. All I want to do is be a nice kid. The Lord expects all of us who hold the priesthood to be honorable, kind, and virtuous children at all times and in all places.

My father got baptized a few years later. I was able to bestow the Aaronic and Melchizedek Priesthoods on him. Seeing my father accept the priesthood's authority and power was one of the most memorable moments of my life.

This is inspiring story by my friend.

2
$ 0.00

Comments