Saw my 1st Bitcoin ATM. Then, I saw a Twitter post about that ATM @ that exact location. Mind blown.

2 35
Avatar for jglonder
2 years ago

Rolling down the street smoking endo..., thinking about Bitcoin & sipping on gin and juice.

Yep, out and about in the g-ride running errands. I need gas, that is petroleum-based gas. I'm in Oakland County, Southeast Michigan, a very relatively wealthy metropolitan area of the country. A lot of auto industry related money flows through this area.

Anyway, it's a Marathon gas station, nicer looking outside, well taken care of, lots of coolers and shelves with items inside, some hot food etc. Plenty of parking and pumps, reasonable local gas prices, and I'd been there before and found the workers friendly. 

Just before paying, I glance towards the door, and there it is, a newly installed Bitcoin ATM.

It's funny because only a day before seeing that ATM I accidentally invested $500 in Bitcoin. The price is up some from my purchase, but, as you've seen there is strong resistance around 50K. Seeing the ATM helped increase my certainty in my Bitcoin investment. I was excited to see it. 

Furthermore, what an interesting business model the ATM company seems have. They already have ATMs in 12 states. And, their business seems to be expanding at warp speed. It seems the ATM updates Bitcoin price in real time, and simply adds on a swath of fees when a person buys the Bitcoin by inserting cash.

I hate the idea of these really high fees, but at the very least these avenues increases awareness. And perhaps someone without the right personal connections and technological understanding of getting onto Coinbase etc. to Bitcoin might have the chance to buy otherwise. Convenience = fees I guess.

Interestingly the attendant had no clue about it. I did my best to help explain why I am excited about Bitcoin. A little later in the day a nurse I visited for a quick checkup knew about Bitcoin and we had a great conversation.

It's already a wild feeling to see a bitcoin ATM right in your backyard. But get this. Only one day after seeing the ATM I saw a Twitter post from the operators regarding THAT EXACT ATM at THAT EXACT LOCATION, picture and all! This was basically ta random while searching the "most recent" Bitcoin related Twitter posts.

Seeing the ATM in person at random, and then seeing a Twitter post about that exact ATM only a day later is a great reminder that things move fast. And, that things are picking up speed with respect to Bitcoin. Further, it helped solidify that my accidental investment of $500 in Bitcoin is a HODL, no exceptions.

Don't be surprised when you first see a Bitcoin ATM in your neighborhood too. It'll probably be sooner than you think. 

Thanks for your support and until next time, may all your days be green!

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
Avatar for jglonder
2 years ago

Comments

I have yet to see one. But I would imagine they are coming. Just a matter of time. I have accidentally invested too. lol

Well, accidentally quite on purpose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with your sentiment. Yep, the "accidental" investment hehe. Bitcoin is really changing my saving habits in a good way. With the ATMs, even if the guys buying the lottery tickets, red bulls, and cigarettes in gas stations and corner stores "accidentally" instead invested some of that money into Bitcoin, even paying the high fees at the ATMs, it'd be a better move and might to start change their thinking too. Thanks for the support Porwest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago