Top 3 Resources to learn a language

0 8
Avatar for jesgorbal
2 years ago

I am passionate about languages and have tried many resources to learn them. I think that learning a language can bring you a lot of advantages: you can communicate with many more people, access to more resources and get to know different points of view.

Nowadays, thanks to the Internet, there are so many options for learning a language. For me, one of the best options is to learn through comprehensible inputs.

Being an introvert myself, my favourite way to learn a language is through reading and listening. I am going to share with you three resources that I have used to learn different languages and that I have found to be effective.

It is important to remember that there is no miracle method. A language needs a continuous learning process that requires different phases. I recommend using these resources at the beginning of learning a language, knowing that in order to achieve fluency it is necessary to complement it with more activities that involve improving writing and speaking skills.

Assimil

I think it is the best known resource among all polyglots. Each lesson is a short conversation in which the most important grammatical aspects of the language are included. It is definitely my favourite resource because of how easy it makes it to understand the basics of a language. Once you complete Assimil, you will notice that you will improve much faster by listening and reading real content in your target language.

Colloquial

It has the same philosophy as Assimil, but includes more texts and grammatical explanations. It helped me a lot when I was learning Russian, because it seemed to me that in Assimil you advance much faster in level. Having more grammar explanations during the lessons helped me a lot.

Teach Yourself

These books also have audios with conversations and texts, but they remind me a lot of the books used in schools for language learning. It is not my favourite option but it has certainly helped me with certain languages as it brings more activities to do.

Conclusions

After reading and listening to so many polyglots, I have realised that everyone learns in a different way. There is no perfect method. Each person has to find out what is the best way for them to learn. These resources I have shared may be a help to many people, but certainly not to others.
Whatever your way of learning, try to enjoy it.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for jesgorbal
2 years ago

Comments