Try before you buy

0 18
Avatar for jax
Written by
2 years ago

I recently posted on reddit asking the question, "Have the Btc maxi's even tried Bch?" This was because I had just done a super fast and cheap Bch transaction.

I also posted this as I was also a Btc maxi who wouldn't be caught dead using Bch. "That scam forked coin" etc etc bla bla, and I was interested to see the comments. There were many replies. Many commented that most Btc users had not, and a few other said the same old yada yada Btc is the real Btc. Of course that wasn't my question.

One particular user was determined to let me know that through his programming prowess, he didn't need to try Bch because he already new it was rubbish. Now, I tried to say that people have different opinions, but he was absolutely sure that he was right. Of course he could be, but ....

I question this way of thinking, as the post was really about the user experience of Bch not the technicalities. Now let's say that I am a mechanical engineer, I understand how Trucks work, Cars work and motorcycles. The engineer drives a car, because to them it is faster and cheaper than a truck, while not being so dangerous as a motorcycle. But the engineer can't say what the experience of driving a motorcycle is, if he hasn't driven one, albeit that he knows how it works.

So to just say it's crap because I am programmer is meaningless to me. Now personally I drive a car and a motorcycle. I use the car to carry luggage, friends etc. A slower safer ride, though more expensive. Other times I drive my hooligan mad motorcycle, it's fast it's cheap and it's fun. I have a reasonable understanding of engines etc, but I don't need to. The difference is I have driven both and therefore speak from knowledge rather than belief.

Of course the person would never concede and that's fine, and there is no need to. Though they did say in the end that they had not tried it, because they didn't need to, because they were a programmer. I don't have this approach, I need to use something, or rather to know by using it, before I can say it's good or bad. Regardless of the mechanics behind it.

Being closed minded doesn't help anyone, especially oneself.

1
$ 0.61
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for jax
Written by
2 years ago

Comments