My iPad Pro Productivity Accessories

2 45
Avatar for janatyler
3 years ago

Recently I use my iPad as much as I use a MacBook Pro 16 inch. When I have a choice, I will choose the iPad Pro because it is a more enjoyable experience for me. That said, the only way I've gotten any productivity out of the iPad Pro is with the help of a handful of powerful accessories.

Despite being incredibly expensive, the iPad Pro as a standalone device is only half the product. I can't imagine doing anything but watching and reading content without accessories to write about.

Here are the essential accessories for productivity on my iPad Pro.

1) Apple Pencil

A while ago, I wrote about completely replacing most paper in my life with the iPad Pro and Apple Pencil.

That's still the case today, I still haven't bought or used another physical notebook. This is interesting because writing things down in a notebook is what I literally remember everything about.

Apple Pencil has virtually no lag between moving it around on the iPad screen and showing lines, making it perfect for quick note takers. There's also a feature in Notes where you can take quick notes without having to unlock the device - again a very useful feature. I'm excited to get the new Notes and Apple Pencil features in iPadOS 15.

Apple Pencil is also useful as another way to interact with the iPad Pro. Tapping the screen too much with my fingers gives me some RSI and ultimately slows down productivity.

Disadvantages? Apple Pencil is quite expensive and writing on glass still doesn't feel natural to me. Fortunately, the next accessory helped with this second point.

2) Paper-Like Screen Protector

I've been aware of this product basically ever since I bought the iPad Pro. Most of my podcasts and YouTubers have sponsorship deals with Paperlike.

Writing on the glass screen of the iPad with a smooth plastic pen tip is not the best experience. Like paper, try to solve this with a matte screen protector, give the screen a tougher feel - more like paper than glass!

See, the experience with this screensaver is not exactly like writing on paper. It's more subtle than I imagined before I got it. This may be because the Apple Pencil still has a smooth plastic tip. Compared to the Apple Pencil, the dull feeling is more pronounced when I touch the screen with my finger.

It's great as a productivity accessory. I can type noticeably faster since I installed it. You have to sacrifice some of the screen clarity though - I guess it's not possible to have the same clarity with a matte screen protector.

This is not true, in my experience the video viewing experience is slightly worse. I quickly got used to it - also, for me, its main purpose is to increase productivity, not the video viewing experience. Until Apple makes a nano-textured display for the iPad Pro, that's the best you can get for a matte screen.

Another benefit is that the iPad Pro has reduced reflectivity, which means I can do work outside. It's summer time here and it's nice to have the option to exercise in the sunshine.

3) Keyboard

I think this is the accessory that makes productivity possible on the iPad Pro more than any other. Apple Pencil and Paperlike are nice to have but I can get by without them. Without the Magic Keyboard, the iPad is nothing to me but a content consumption device.

Apple has done everything right with this accessory. It has a nice weight and the hinges and keys are all very well made and feel very high quality. Considering how much this thing costs, that's the minimum I expected. iPad Pro with Magic Keyboard has become my indispensable typing tool. For me, iPadOS' simplicity is less distracting - it's good for productivity because I'm ready for distractions while typing!

The combined weight of the two isn't that much of an issue, as I can easily remove the iPad Pro from the Magic Keyboard. I always carried the extra weight with my old Smart Keyboard Folio, even when I didn't need the keyboard.

4) A 61 Watt charger

I can't do any work with a low power device - too much to worry about. A larger charger ensures that the iPad Pro is charged at the appropriate time.

The charger included in the iPad Pros is the 20W variant - this is essentially an iPhone charger when iPhones come with chargers. This charger is painfully slow, especially considering the battery on the iPad Pro isn't that good when connected to the Magic Keyboard. The handy USB-C pass-through on the Magic Keyboard also makes the iPad Pro run slower than the main port on the iPad.

I'm using the 61W charger that came with my MacBook Pro 16 inch and that's how it is. The next best thing is faster charging speeds, as the amount of charge the batteries can hold is still not very good.

The iPad Pro is only capable of charging a maximum of 35W, even with a 61W charger – but faster than the included adapter can do. There's also no danger in using the 61W charger – the iPad Pro is designed to only accept a maximum of 35W.

Results

iPad Pro can be a capable productivity tool with the right accessories. Magic Keyboard for iPad, Apple Pencil, 61W charger and Paperlike screen protector are my go-to accessories to get things done.

The Magic Keyboard is by far the most essential accessory for my productivity on the iPad Pro. Without it, iPad is nothing more than a content consumption device. I can write for long periods of time and easily leave it behind when I need to read away from my desk.

Paired with the Notes app, Apple Pencil is almost indispensable for taking notes. Thanks to this accessory, I no longer have a physical notebook. The matte Paperlike screen protector makes the Apple Pencil experience even better - I can type a little faster with it. It also makes it possible to use the screen in direct sunlight.

Finally, a charger that can fast-charge the iPad Pro has also been a useful productivity accessory. This may seem like a small convenience, but it helps ensure that battery life isn't something I have to worry about when I'm out and about.

3
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for janatyler
3 years ago

Comments

Good one ☝️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago