Kalamay: A Letter to My Better Half

0 31
Avatar for jam.clifford
2 years ago

Kalamay is a sweet and sticky rice cake delicacy in the Philippines. Commonly serve in different occasions/gatherings because it represents strong bond between family members and other relationships.

And if you ask me, who among my loved ones would I want to serve this "Kalamay" to? One of them is My Better Half.

Jane & I

Her name is Jane, and we first met last June 4, 2018. It was also the first day of our class as first-year college students, and I was late, so our teacher kept a sharp eye on me.
I spotted Jane, she has a ferocious face like a tiger. I sat near her and talked to her despite of showing lack of interest. I know our parents taught us not to talk to strangers, but "Hello, I'll be your classmate for the next four years".

"This woman's soul is tall as our school building, yet she's as little as the chair she's sitting on"

...I said to myself without realizing that we'd just been together for about an hour and didn't know each other's names.

Until hours later, she started talking to me. I was surprised because she was even more talkative and has a louder voice than mine. Again, she has a ferocious face like a tiger, and didn't expect that her voice is loud like a tiger too.

"In an instant I had a friend"

Sorry I really don't have eyebrows

Jane is Lazier than I

I can still remember all the college group projects and group presentations we had; I was always the short tempered (even my height), strict and perfectionist Leader (despite the fact that not all of my works are excellent), while Jane was my group member who mysteriously vanished in the middle of our work.

To be honest, I can do projects on my own; I've been doing it since Grade 7 because I've always been the leader in every group project in each subject, and yeah, 80 percent of the work is mine. Don't judge me because, before submitting our project, I make a list of my members' contributions (I don't tolerate laziness). But now that I'm in college, no matter what else one contributes, when it comes to group projects, everyone's grades are equal, which I'm fine with because I know there are no lazy education students in college, not until I met Jane (She's getting into my nerves).

My Study Buddy

Jane is Better than I

I previously met Jane as a lazy person, but I can tell that she was eager to learn. I constantly look high at myself as if I've never made a mistake, while Jane always accept her faults and do her best to make a good change, and that is what she taught me. She also taught me how to forgive, how to love myself, how to be strong and how thank God even for short comings.

"Clearly, Jane was better than I"

Role played as Mary in Theology class

Jane is My Better Half

Jane is the lady who can control my emotion outburst, who can correct my mistakes, who doesn’t hesitate to help me, and to listen in all my rants and dramas. That is why I have this comfort and ecstatic feeling when she’s around. I can show her my most vulnerable and darkest side, without any discouraging judgement coming from her. We don't run out of pointless stories to tell in each other; assuring that even crying moments will be followed by laughter.

Reminisce

Three years ago, Jane cried inside our classroom because "J" broke up with her. The next day, she had her hair restyled and promised that she would never be "marupok" again (marupok - fragile, a phrase used to describe someone who has a tender heart for their loved one). However, Jane and "J" got back together; as if she never gave me and our friends a hard time in comforting her for the whole week (truly, she is the "Marupok" queen among us).

(Oh Jane, please don’t reveal my “marupok” story when you read this)

Jane is the better half of me; she may be the crying baby between us, but her heart is kinder and softer than mine. She may be marupok, but her fragile heart embraces and accepts someone who is horrible and difficult to love, like me. We're like Yin and Yang, I am Yin and Jane is my Yang. We are meant to meet, and we are meet to balance each other.

Sponsors of jam.clifford
empty
empty
empty

To my Better Half,

I wanted you to know that you are one of the purest things I have and I never thought that we will be as stick as "Kalamay". My eyes maybe teary while writing this 'cause honestly you watered my heart with your overflowing love.
They said "Better half" was only for couples but for me my better half is my best friend, you are My Better half. Because of you I felt what true friendship is, you gave me joy each day, you gave me hope, you taught me how to forgive, and you taught me how to love myself.
Sorry, if I've ever said or done something hurtful to you before, I admit that I am insensitive sometimes (maybe always), but thank you because you understood that all. Advance happy 4 years of friendship My "Kalamay", I love you so much.

Love,
Latik

(Latik is a Tagalog word that refers to the scum of cooked coconut milk. It is a perfect toppings for Kalamay)

Closing Thoughts:

It is rare to have someone who can embrace your flaws in times that you can’t do that to yourself. Have you thought of expressing your gratitude to them? If not, then this is your sign to message and thank them for being such a wonderful friend.

This article was written solely for entertainment purposes only.

Disclaimer: Lead image is provided by WallHere.com. Content and the rest of the pictures that was used in this article are originally mine.

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of jam.clifford
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jam.clifford
2 years ago

Comments